We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torre del Mar
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. The bedrooms are very airy and a good size, beds are extremely comfy, bedding changed regulary, towels too, the rooms have a fridge(unstocked) a hairdryer and a safe. The balcony is a good size with plastic furniture. The bathroom has a good sized bath with shower above, toilet and bidet. There is a TV but nothing in English except the BBC world news. It would be a good idea for the hotel to place a brew kit and kettle in the rooms. We had a room on the poolside which gets the early morning sun, the rooms on the campsite side get the glorious afternoon sun.
The reception is again clean, if not a little dated. with a mixture of comfy seats and tables and chairs with a small bar, the bar serves hot drinks, beers, spirits and soft drinks at a reasonable price, there is no pressure to purchase drinks, cards and dominos are available at the reception. There was entertainment on site, but I cannot comment on it as we never saw any of the shows.
There is an amazing roof top terrace with sun beds and double beds(see pics)
The dining room was light, airy and very clean.
The breakfasts were great, such choice, starting with Cava every morning, there was the normal cereals, yoghurts, fresh and dried fruits, continental breakfast, many different types of bread and pastries, cold meat, cheese and pate. The full english breakfast, pancakes and syrup. churros and hot chocolate. fruit juices and many different teas and coffees.
I've saved the worst till last as it did not really affect the holiday and there are many fantastic bars and restaurants in the area, the evening meals were different, and I do go to Spain to eat the wonderful Spanish food, they were a a real mish-mash, and a total disappointment after the fantastic breakfasts. They were supposed to be themed nights, mexican, italian etc, all the evening meals were luke warm and very unappetizing, That being the only negative I would go again but bed and breakfast only,

Room Tip: choose a room on the campsite side for afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ivvyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 431 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

Situated at the Western end of Torre Del Mar on the promenade adjacent to Camping Torre Del Mar campsite the BQ is perfectly placed for a relaxing stay without the hustle and bustle of the busy town centre which is 10 minute walk.
Excellent bus links to Malaga, Nerja and all around Velez-Malaga, 4 km stretch shingle beach with modern facilities, showers w.c.
Several supermarkets, many types of cuisine, safe, clean, great for cyclists, lots of dog walkers and very busy little harbour, 45 mins from Malaga Airport.
Incredible mountain scenery and even skiing if you want.
BQ Andalucia beach has everything you could want, excellent variety of food, clean rooms lovely helpful staff. We preffered top floor (5) on campsite side to get all day sun and the fifth floor solarium for sunbathing.
Could only find one negative which is the smelly drain near to front entrance and slight smell of drains in the basement areas.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sksean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A great place, good food, nice location, reasonable price. The staff are really kind and helpful, seem to enjoy doing their job, we were really impressed. Rooms could be a little larger, but it didn't really matter as we spent all days sightseeing. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katarzyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Yes, just back from our third visit - our previous visit was in October, so I shall not review the hotel as fully this time, as you may want to look back on that review. I shall just say we were every bit as pleased with the hotel, it's facilities and staff this time round too.

This time we were allocated a room overlooking the campsite next door and it was lovely to get the afternoon sun on the balcony. Fortunately we were blessed with wonderful weather throughout our stay (apart from one afternoon of torrential rain!) and enjoyed blue sky and sun and temps of an average daytime temp of 18 degrees.

Our days were spent strolling the long promenade as far as the port at Caleta de Valez, and even further to Algarroba Costa another. For a change we also walked the other way past the campsites to nature's own creation - the wildlife pond further along the beach. We also caught the bus to Nerja for a change of scene one day and during the afternoon of rain we took the tram to the El Ingenio shopping centre. And as a bonus the sales were on!

Once again we are looking forward to our next visit, as we feel this hotel can't be bettered if you want to enjoy a Spanish holiday in the company of mainly Spaniards and just a handful of German/British/French tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the campsite to get afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chrissymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We visited late October and the price was very reasonable. The hotel is next to the camp site and there is a parking area at the front of the hotel (free at the time). We arrived late evening at 10.00pm and was allowed in the dining room to eat a meal that had been saved for us (requested when we booked). We also requested a sea view, which we got, although the first room we were given either had someone still in it or it hadn't been cleaned. They apologized and gave us another room. All the staff were very pleasant and the food was very nice. Evening meals were themed throughout the week Spanish, Italian, Indian, Mexican etc. The pool is quite small but ok. If you like sunbathing, it is difficult to follow the sun throughout the day as the hotel is in the way (probably better in the summer months). We would go to the pool until lunch time then sunbathe on our balcony in the afternoon. There is free Wi Fi in the foyer, which allowed me to watch the football on my phone. The walk along the promenade is very nice and near to the light house there is an exercise area. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Having a room non pool side (overlooking the camp site) gave us the sun all afternoon (winter months...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deeleys37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

If you want Britain in Spain look elsewhere, if you want a holiday with Spaniards this is the place.
All the staff speak English and are helpful. Arrived at 10.30am for a 2.00pm check in and a room ready within 10 minutes.
The room was a typical modern hotel room with balcony (side sea view and bath and shower etc.
Food was obviously aimed at the Spaniards but with enough choice for all Nationalities. The usual package holiday "Carry on" with the wine list was missing, a bottle of excellent House Red cost 10Euro . We went Full Board due to an excellent deal through Hays Travel, had a packed lunch one day and had enough to feed The Five thousand.
The Public Areas Reception/Lounge were adequate with a bar without drink being forced on you, resulting in a relaxed atmosphere.
The pool area was on the small size as was the pool, but if going in the water was what you wanted the sea was across a very quiet road. The promenade stretched about a mile with ample seating , free. The usual restaurants pushing food and drink were few and far between as is the norm in "Costa Blackpool's"
All in all if you fancy a holiday in Spain that the Spanish take then BQ Andalucia Beach in Torre Del Mar is ideal

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wiganwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We first stayed here 5 years ago when it was the Proamar. We enjoyed it then and when we recently saw it at an excellent promo price now it is part of the BQ group we snapped it up. We have just spent 11 nights there and found nothing at all to complain about. Reception staff, dining room staff and cleaning staff all very pleasant and friendly. High standard of cleaning throughout and for a hotel catering for many nationalities, on the whole, we found the food really good. Of course there were some dishes not to our taste but there was always something else we did enjoy. So full marks to the chefs!

There was entertainment nightly in the basement but we preferred to have a stroll on the promenade after dinner, then find a nice little bar for a drink or two. Being so late in the season quite a few bars had closed but there were still a few open.

We didn't hire a car as we had found out on our previous visit that the local bus & tram service took us wherever we needed to go - eg the tram up to Velez Malaga or the bus along the coast to Nerja (or even further along the coast) or in the other direction to Malaga and even a limited service to the hillside villages. The fares are really cheap too and the lady in the little bus office can supply timetables.

We shall definitely return and won't leave it 5 years this time!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms look over the campsite next door and have views further down the coast, and also...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrissymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre del Mar
0.5 mi away
Torremar Hotel
Torremar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Torre del Mar
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mainake
Hotel Mainake
#2 of 5 in Torre del Mar
141 reviews
7.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miraya Hotel
Miraya Hotel
#4 of 5 in Torre del Mar
102 reviews
5.6 mi away
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
#2 of 2 in El Morche
23 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Avenida JC
Hotel Avenida JC
#4 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Poniente S/N, 29740 Torre del Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torre del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Torre del Mar
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bq Andalucia Beach Hotel Torre Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing