We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning! Too many parties, daytrippers, unable to relax !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mactan Island
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warning! Too many parties, daytrippers, unable to relax !”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked two rooms for family of 5 on May 22-25. Upon check-in, the front desk asked a hardcopy of my reservation (I showed them the screenshot from my tablet) however they insisted on forwarding them the email of my reservation before letting me go to our rooms. I used the computer at the lobby to do this, no big deal but very inconvenient when you are super tired. I booked a "deluxe pool side" room and requested for connecting room or at least side by side.

We got room 230 and 232- the farthest room from the swimming pool. Not a glimpse of the swimming pool at all! We also did not get the connecting room. 230 is connected to 231 by a door but it is occupied. The occupant was on the phone between 10-12 midnight and I can hear the conversation throughout the phone call. The following morning before leaving for the day tour- I spoke to the front desk and asked if 231 checks out to give us that room. The front desk replied, " that room is occupied by the night manager." Really!? They could have given me that room in the first place and let the night manager find another room. She then further told me that they will try to talk about it and see what they can do.

Upon returning later that afternoon, and asking for the room. The front desk told me that it is already occupied by another guest. Again really?!! I told the front desk that I specifically asked for that room prior to leaving that morning and I know that the manger stayed there the previous night. She spoke to a lady standing nearby ( I guess the manager) and immediately told me that there is another connecting room that is available only it is on the first floor . Room 130 and 131 (just directly below where we were staying). So we moved.

Beach is enclosed and too shallow for a swim during low tide. Looks like it is the only property that has enclosed beach. I feel so trapped and could not see the real beauty of the beach. It also traps the weed and makes the water dirty.

Daytrippers--ahhh this is another story!! There was a corporate event on all the three days that we were there. About 40 people on the first day, not bad!. 300 on the seconds day, and 140 on the third day. With all the loud music, party, games etc. literally infront of our room-HOW can you relax? Mind you they are not confined in the ballroom or hall- they are literally having the party in the middle of the property utilizing the beach, swimming pool and other facilities.

Restaurant - food were awesome! except for the price. Because this place is away from the tourist spot or city. You really have no choice but bite the bullet. The taxi fare if you choose to eat out will probably offset the super high prices of the food.

Rooms -" deluxe rooms pool side " super small and dark. (our room has no view of the swimming pool but closer to the beach , and still can't see the beach because another building is blocking the rooms.)

Location- too far from the city but closer to the airport.

Overall, average stay for an above average price! Just hate that you pay so much and share the "privacy" with 300 other people for corporate events.

Please do not lecture me (if responding) about Filipinos love to "fiesta", family oriented, likes to party and celebrate. I know all about it! I would love to party but my choice of hotels when I'm on my vacation includes relaxation and use of amenities that I paid for.

I forgot to mention that the hotel next to it was also having the same corporate event and also was loud. Instead of staying and enjoying the place we opted to hire a boat and did some snorkeling just to get away.

On the positive side- the grounds are well kept and clean! I would come back only if there are no corporate events.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Ayrinv Murrieta,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your reviews and in letting us know your concerns. Please accept our apology for your inconveniences due to our oversight. Rest assured that these concerns shall be discussed with the department involved for procedures to be handled better the next time.

A foreshore lease is granted on our breakwater wall up to the portion where water recedes. It is designed to protect our sandy beach and a buffer against strong waves. On a lot of occasions it has saved us from typhoon.

Because of our topography we are affected by low tides and contrary to what some may perceive, seaweed is a sign of life manifesting that our sea water is clean. It is good for our marine life that is why we have not thought of getting rid of it. We regret that you were caught on a low tide because swimming is really good in our area when the tide is high. In fact, just about 50 meters away from our shoreline, is a perfect spot for wall diving.

We value equally our local market and one opportunity for them to experience Costabella is to allow them for the day. As consideration to our in-house guests events are allowed only from 10 am to 5 pm or from 5 pm to 9 pm. An exclusive area for lounging by the beach is provided for our in-house guests ensuring them of privacy and also of a swimming space.

Regrettably, we no control over activities of our next door neighbor. At best, we request them not to start too early.

Thank you for appreciating our food, a lot has actually claimed value for money paid on our dishes. Nevertheless there are other options available for our guests who would like to try something else as there are several restaurants just about 1-1.5 kilometers from our resort. Local transportations are readily available just outside the first gate of the resort if one wishes to explore.

For those who want to take an hour ride to the main city of Cebu, a daily free shopping trip is scheduled for our guests departing at 10 am. Seats are limited so we advise for reservations to be done a day ahead for you to be included. Taxis and rent-a-car services are also made available as you mentioned given 15 minutes to 1 hour reservation.

We are glad that you took notice of our grounds, thank you for appreciating it.

We look forward to you giving Costabella another try.

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    311
    127
    29
    35
See reviews for
205
219
49
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Arrived at the hotel before 10 AM with my daughters. We requested for an early check in and they gave us our room before 11 AM. Our de luxe poolside room was spacious enough to accommodate all of us, although the fixtures in the comfort room were a bit old.The swimming pools are okey, not that big but ok.It was very well maintained because you can see very clear water. The ambiance, the look, the well kept garden are definitely Costabella's good points. What dissapointed us is the small beach area. There is enough selection of food items in the buffet breakfast set up. Thumbs up for their staff because most of them are accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Ghigie,

Thank you for your review and your thumbs up for our staff.

We apologise for your disappointment on the size of our beach which is 80 meters in length. Although, the beach is average in size, we are one of few resorts in Mactan with a natural white sand beach.

As you noticed, we do take the effort to ensure that the resort is well maintained. We will be renovating and redesigning our Deluxe Poolside rooms soon and we hope you get to see the improvement when you come visit us again.

Again, thank you for taking the time to make a review. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First of all, i would like to thank the management for giving me a free room upgrade from a superior room to a deluxe room.
As usually, i will be featuring the bad points and good points of the hotel/ resort but the bad points should be taken as constructive criticism for the hotel to improve.
Second, i would like to emphasize the warm welcome and good service of the hotel. TWO THUMBS UP FOR THAT.

GOOD POINTS OF THE RESORT:
1. Good service
2. Free beach towels which you can change everyday.
3. Great facade which gives a Spanish ambiance.
4, Many activities to do because the hotel offers a lot of activities like island hopping, kayaking, trip to oslob and trip to bohol. A little bit pricey but you will surely enjoy because everything is taken care of.
5. Good/ delicious buffet. A lot to choose from.

BAD POINTS:
1. Location- it is far from the tourist spots
2. The food at the restaurant is a little bit pricey BUT very delicious.

SUGGESTIONS:
1. The private beach is full of weeds during low tide PROBABLY because the hotel enclosed the whole beach front. So, i hope the management will try to solve the weed problem in the beach because it looks like a farm during low tide where in mangroves are growing. The beach will look so much better if they remove the cement around the resort.
2. There is a free shuttle at 10 AM going to SM or AYALA. but there is no shuttle going back to the hotel.Going back to the resort from Ayala/ SM will cost you 350-500 pesos.
Like resorts in boracay, if the resort is not located at station 1,2 or 3, the resort is out of civilization, it is a common trend in Boracay to offer free shuttles every hour. So, i suggest the management to invest in buying a simple car which they can use for the customers. I suggest a 10 AM and 12nn shuttle going to the city and a pick up time of 4pm and 6pm. So even though the location is far, people will be booking because of the free shuttle.

Lastly, try not to book when there are conventions or functions because the place tends to be overcrowded.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Ellaine Grace D,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay in Costabella.  Thank you for giving as two thumbs up in service.  Our Team will be most inspired to know about your great review.

We do appreciate your pointers and suggestions.

The presence of sea weeds indicate healthy surroundings conducive to sea life, it is for this reason that there is abundance in our area.

Our breakwater was granted a foreshore lease to prevent any kind of pollutant from entering our swimming area and to maintain its cleanliness and not wash off our sand. On several occasions it has saved us from direct hit of a typhoon and oil spills.  The beach will look more spacious without it but certainly it will affect the condition of the swimming area which we do not want to compromise for the convenience of our guests.

We used to have a free shuttle to the Mall before that comes back at the end of the day but the service went virtually unused because there were rarely any takers as guests would normally prefer to go about on their own schedule. Moreover, once in the mall guest loses track of the time and more often misses the shuttle on the way back.  It is for this reason that we have decided to provide only what was needed.

Rest assured that we will keep your valuable suggestions in mind and review our options to better service our guests.

It will be great to have you again with us and we look forward to be of service to you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Arrived to the the rhythm of a jack hammer being used in the renovation of the hotel next door. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite in a traditional Filipino style decor. The hotel was in an idyllic location and the view from the room was breathtaking, however the hotel next door had conventions on for the whole week, as we found out so did the Costabella it was wall to wall music and noise until the early hours of the morning. Then at 6 am they began to test the speakers for the convention that day. Breakfast was mediocre you had a plate handed to you and no western food apart from hit &miss eggs. We cut our stay short by 4 days due to the noise. Although a lot of the noise was from the hotels either side which they had no control over.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsc2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear mrandmrsc2006,

Thank you for staying at Costabella and for appreciating the breathtaking view coming from our beautiful suite. 

We regret that you shortened stay. As you mentioned, unfortunately we do not have any control over the activities of our next door neighbour. At best, we have tried to request them not to start early or end late.

We are surprised to hear your comment about our buffet breakfast as this is contrary to the excellent comments we have received on our food. We have requested our Chef to look into this unusual concern. 

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We hope you give us the opportunity to showcase the warm service and amenities that we offer. 

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

we arrived late at night and to our surprise we were welcomed with a tropical feel n warm welcome by the staff. Its a tropical hideaway complete with intricate architectural woodwork reminiscent of magellan sutra of kota kinabalu, nestled in established and properly nurtured tropical plants.. literally taken cared off by the staff constantly sensitive to guests needs even during wee hours of the morning.. food is tasty, savory , all worth it indeed! we were privileged to a late checkout, our sincerest accolades n gratitude to the entire costabella family!! i will definitely recommend this highly to my doctor colleagues who like to explore the adventural life in cebu...

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wakilindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear wakilindo,

Thank you for your beautiful review and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. At Costabella, we want our guests to experience our rich, beautiful and diverse Filipino-Spanish culture and tradition.

Our Costabella family is touched by your kind words. It was our pleasure being of service and we look forward to welcoming you back warmly on your next visit.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Costabella is located far from the city life. But if you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet then this is the place to be. (As long as there are no corporate affairs scheduled on your stay).

So far, they have the best tasting omelette as far as I am concerned and their buffet breakfast has a good selection including native Filipino delicacy. The staff is very accomodating and very attentive to all the needs of the guests.

It was also very relaxing at night with all those palm trees and starry sky.

During our stay we had the most wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Honeylegs,

Thank for sharing your kind review with Trip Advisor. We always aspire to make our guests happy and it pleases us to know that you had a relaxing stay with us.
                     
Our homegrown local Chefs will be happy to hear your delightful comment on our breakfast, particularly the omelette that you enjoyed.  We want to give our guests a taste of our native delicacies as part of their Filipino Experience.

Costabella takes pride in our warm and genuinely caring TEAM. Your acknowledgement will serve as another inspiration to them.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My experience with Costabella wasn't great, but I'll get to that in a minute. Firstly, if you're thinking of staying there, be sure to ask them the following questions first.

1. Are you hosting any external/corporate events during my stay?
2. Are any of the neighboring hotels hosting parties etc?
3. Which part of the hotel is my room in, does it have a view?

My issues with the resort were related (but not limited) to the above. When we arrived we were told there was a corporate event on (basically the resort is over run with people - stay in your room if you want to relax). OK, not a big deal - we can rest up in the room for a few hours. The room, unfortunately, was at the back of the resort and basically looked onto a brick wall - not nice - we kept the blinds closed all the time.

The next day an event kicks off next door with extremely loud music, a DJ talking and shouting Into the microphone - at 8:30am. This continued until the evening with some pretty terrible bands playing. It was so noisy on the beach - and throughout the resort. Not relaxing at all. We did however just suck it up, we had one more day and were determined to relax and make the most of it.

Day 3 arrives - along with 430 "guests" in 2 corporate events. The pools, beach, restaurant etc completely over run. Just terrible! The result of greed - taking money off paying customers to use the resort, then selling the facilities to a 2nd party without any regard for your guests. I spoke with the manager about it - he confirmed that's what had happened, but could not give me a discount.

Overall, I think the staff are really nice - but management doesn't have a clue. My complaints were justified, but met with a "that's too bad" attitude. If it wasn't for the really nice staff though, I'd be giving it one star.

I'd avoid it if you can, ask those questions if you can't.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HB10111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear HB10111,

Thank you for your review and for showing your appreciation of our TEAM.

Costabella, like other Hotels and Resorts, accepts bookings for corporate events, weddings and special occasions. The month of May is Fiesta month in the Philippines and it is a tradition among corporate businesses to treat their employees to beach outings and the privilege for locals to spend the day at a Resort. We see to it that in-house guests continue to enjoy the facilities and services of the resort, and also allocate an exclusive lounging area on the beach. In consideration of our guests, we do not allow DJs and loud music to be played during these events.

We regret that these events affected your stay with us. We hope that we may have the opportunity to give you a better impression of the Resort.

Thank you and good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 41 in Mactan Island
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Property: Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing