We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I can recommend Costabella as a nice little resort. I have no complaints. It is not a 5 star but I felt very comfortable.
I found the staff to be incredible; wonderful attitude, really friendly and helpful. Costabella excels at customer service.
The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The breakfast buffet was very nice, the food service was also very good at any time of the day. The bar is actually 24 hours. I really loved the frozen mojitos.
From the minute your arrive to the minute you leave I'm sure they will treat you like a special guest.
The massage spa was absolutely excellent.
I wish the pool was 24 hour swimming. It closes at 10 PM.
I also wish there were safes in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandBTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear SandBTokyo,
 
Thank you for your warm and wonderful feedback. 
 
We pride ourselves with a Team committed to providing our guest genuine care.  Your compliments will certainly inspire them to continue the good that they are doing. 

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our frozen mojitos. We will be sure to inform Lema Filipino Spa of your compliments. We are sure that they will be happy to hear from you.

Our swimming pools are treated with chlorine every night after 10 pm, to keep it fresh and clean for our guests the following day.  A newly chlorinated pool is not advisable for swimming that is why we close it at 10 pm.
 
We provide Safety Deposit Boxes at the front desk free for use by our guest to ensure all items are secured.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you and your friends again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 757 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

My elderly father in law has just suffered an accident in Bohol. As a family we intended to travel through Cebu with prearranged bookings at the Costabella. Due to the accident it would be preferential to continue our family stay in Bohol whilst my father in law recuperates. With expectation we called to cancel our booking at the hotel. We were informed that Booking.com would charge the hotel in full and so the charge would still be made. Further to calling booking.com we were politely informed that this was not the case (little surprise there) so I called the Costabella.com and asked to speak to the manager. The person receiving the call informed me he most senior and again told me a similar but slightly different account, I expressed my view he was not the manager and then was handed to "Pasqual" the manager, I explained the predicament he sympathised and told me as they had lost the opportunity of earning profit from us they would still charge. I enquired therefore that as the profit would not be 100% I asked for a reasonable 15% charge. A different story again was sounded but without avail I was to be charged the full rate. I have posted this review prior to deciding wether to return to the Costabella or, ....... Pasqual if I do return I look forward to your gratitude and quality customer care..., thank you

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Richard W.,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize that it was not made clear to you by our Team that you may send us a valid Doctor Medical certificate for the Hotel to consider your request to waive cancellation charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here, it was a very chilled out time sitting on the bean bags by the beach having a couple of drinks, swimming in the sea and swimming pools. The staff were exceptional, attentive but not over bearing and very helpful and accommodating. Food was good, different dishes every morning for breakfast and tasty dishes in both restaurants. Very good selection of drinks, loved the mango daiquiris!

Beach is a small stretch of white sand, clear water and sea life, good for snorkelling. The hotel can arrange day trips and snorkelling to islands nearby. There isn't much directly outside of the resort although I would have liked to have taken advantage of the free bicycles the hotel had for a bike ride around the area except they didn;t have two available when we wanted to go out. The hotel can arrange a taxi to take you to nearby restaurants and sights.

Our room was one of the deluxe pool side, lovely room, very clean and a HUGE bed, had a balcony with table and chairs wso we could sit outside in the evening before dinner and enjoy a few drinks.

The location is good, not too far from the airport, 15 minutes by car. It is a contained resort with two restaurants and lovely pools. The surroundings are very well kept, coconut trees everywhere and pretty plants, lots of sun beds and shower facilites if you are catching a late flight out.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for the best views over the resort and beach. We stayed for 3 nights which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinetravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Ms. Sunshinetravels78,

Our Team will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience at Costabella. We take pride in rendering genuine and caring service to our guests and are thankful for your wonderful review.

Please do let us know when you plan to return so that a bicycle will be available for you to use.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

At the end of our Rotary project work we took a three day break at a non all inclusive all in clusive resort. All inclusive in the Phillipines is not totally "all inclusive". The basic packages are like a bed and breakfast. This resort was simple and had a small beach. I recommend getting a boat from one of the locals trying to get your attention from the peir. Do not pay more than 30 ps and be prepared for the guys to have their buddies meet you out at the reserved area. ARemember that when you bartered you boat trip includes everything for your day. We had a great day on the boat and simply reminded ouor captain of the deal and all was good. You can go down the way to Shangrala but expect to pay $800/night. This resort was around $150.00/night. Clean and simple a nice break from busy Cebu and Mactan island.

Room Tip: Enjoy and rember it is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STMHuycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Mr. STM Huycke,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for enjoying your stay with us.

Like many resorts both here and abroad, Costabella offers a package of room accommodation with breakfast inclusive. “All inclusive” can be a very broad term so what we practice is we specify the inclusions of our offers. Guest who desires to have more inclusions in his package like a full board meal or round trip transfers may advise his travel agent or directly inform the Hotel upon reservation. Your options are unlimited with applicable fees and the Hotel will be more than glad to accommodate your preferred arrangement if you let us know.

The vendors outside the walls of Costabella are not in any way connected with us. We always recommend our concessionaires whose reputation and quality of service we can vouch for. However, we are glad that your boat trip has turned out to be fun and enjoyable.

Please visit us again soon and keep us posted of your preferred inclusions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just stayed for a day so that my sons and their cousin can enjoy the beach and the pool. It's a great place to just unwind, and let the kids run around, build sand castle by the beach, do slide in one of the pools, and just plane sun bathing by the pool.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank joelbizdevco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Joelbizdevco,

Thank you for spending the day at Costabella with your family.

Costabella being a family owned and managed resort has embarked on goals of creating a place ideal for recreation and relaxation of the entire family. When we hear great feedbacks from a family man like you, we are reassured that we are doing the right thing. And we thank you for that.
We look forward to having you and your family again with us one of these days.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Plus points-pleasant enough hotel (excellent breakfast !) , nice/friendly staff , excellent breakfast and good if you are looking for isolation (families ,romantic getaway etc). Also enjoyed the nightly (live) music

Negatives -if you want to explore this is not a good base . ..
Agree (Kasparainens) that the vendors trying to sell boat rides/island hopping etc are annoying -but they are only trying to make a living ..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 102chrisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear 102chrisr,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked our breakfast, nightly entertainment and our services. We take pride in our Team who genuinely cares for our guests. I am sure they will be most happy to know that they are well appreciated.

Costabella is located in an area in Mactan that is far from noise pollution making it ideal for a relaxed vacation. Should you like to explore the historical spots of Cebu, discover nearby islands including having a day tour in Bohol with an accredited travel agent, all you need to do is approach our Guest Service Team and they will be more than glad to assist you. A free one-way shopping trip to SM City and Ayala Center is also available daily. Seats are limited so a day ahead reservation is required.

Costabella is only 45 mins. away from the main city. Should you want to do trips on your own, transportation is readily available with applicable fees.

We apologize for the vendors outside the walls of Costabella. They are not in any way connected with us and the Law allows that they practice self-entrepreneurship. We have security personnel on sight whom you may approach if they become bothersome.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Small beach what disappears during low tide. Very loud and annoying offers from banana boat ride to pilipino prostitutes from the beach boys, sitting next to wall separating the hotel beach area to outside. General staff who doesn't bring beach towels as requested... Very average and hard to imagine what is going on in this place during season when the huge building is full with guests.

Looks like package tourism is the main source of their business and the 4 star rating from many other reviewers is very strange for that place...

Hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere.

The only positive was the younger restaurant staff: pleasant and interested to serve at its best

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Kasparaines,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Costabella is known for Team Members who are genuinely caring to our guests and who deliver quality service. This is the reason why we have a good volume of guests who give us a four-star rating in reviews and the very reason why we have been in the industry for 32 years now. We have a wide range of clientele who come here not only for leisure but for business purposes as well.

We are glad that you have experienced the kind of service we are known for with our Restaurant Team Member.

We apologize for a different experience you had with our other team member. We assure you that this is an isolated case and we shall discuss this with the Team.

The touts outside the walls and premises of Costabella are not in any way connected with us. By law they are allowed to practice self-entrepreneurship, however engaging in sexual trade is strongly prohibited so we shall inform the rightful authorities on this. We have security personnel on sight whom our guests may approach for assistance if these vendors become bothersome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#13 of 44 in Mactan Island
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: $86 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing