We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were in Buyong May 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewed April 15, 2013

At the end of our Rotary project work we took a three day break at a non all inclusive all in clusive resort. All inclusive in the Phillipines is not totally "all inclusive". The basic packages are like a bed and breakfast. This resort was simple and had a small beach. I recommend getting a boat from one of the locals trying to get your attention from the peir. Do not pay more than 30 ps and be prepared for the guys to have their buddies meet you out at the reserved area. ARemember that when you bartered you boat trip includes everything for your day. We had a great day on the boat and simply reminded ouor captain of the deal and all was good. You can go down the way to Shangrala but expect to pay $800/night. This resort was around $150.00/night. Clean and simple a nice break from busy Cebu and Mactan island.

Room Tip: Enjoy and rember it is small.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STMHuycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Mr. STM Huycke,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for enjoying your stay with us.

Like many resorts both here and abroad, Costabella offers a package of room accommodation with breakfast inclusive. “All inclusive” can be a very broad term so what we practice is we specify the inclusions of our offers. Guest who desires to have more inclusions in his package like a full board meal or round trip transfers may advise his travel agent or directly inform the Hotel upon reservation. Your options are unlimited with applicable fees and the Hotel will be more than glad to accommodate your preferred arrangement if you let us know.

The vendors outside the walls of Costabella are not in any way connected with us. We always recommend our concessionaires whose reputation and quality of service we can vouch for. However, we are glad that your boat trip has turned out to be fun and enjoyable.

Please visit us again soon and keep us posted of your preferred inclusions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 704 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just stayed for a day so that my sons and their cousin can enjoy the beach and the pool. It's a great place to just unwind, and let the kids run around, build sand castle by the beach, do slide in one of the pools, and just plane sun bathing by the pool.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank joelbizdevco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Joelbizdevco,

Thank you for spending the day at Costabella with your family.

Costabella being a family owned and managed resort has embarked on goals of creating a place ideal for recreation and relaxation of the entire family. When we hear great feedbacks from a family man like you, we are reassured that we are doing the right thing. And we thank you for that.
We look forward to having you and your family again with us one of these days.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Plus points-pleasant enough hotel (excellent breakfast !) , nice/friendly staff , excellent breakfast and good if you are looking for isolation (families ,romantic getaway etc). Also enjoyed the nightly (live) music

Negatives -if you want to explore this is not a good base . ..
Agree (Kasparainens) that the vendors trying to sell boat rides/island hopping etc are annoying -but they are only trying to make a living ..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 102chrisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear 102chrisr,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked our breakfast, nightly entertainment and our services. We take pride in our Team who genuinely cares for our guests. I am sure they will be most happy to know that they are well appreciated.

Costabella is located in an area in Mactan that is far from noise pollution making it ideal for a relaxed vacation. Should you like to explore the historical spots of Cebu, discover nearby islands including having a day tour in Bohol with an accredited travel agent, all you need to do is approach our Guest Service Team and they will be more than glad to assist you. A free one-way shopping trip to SM City and Ayala Center is also available daily. Seats are limited so a day ahead reservation is required.

Costabella is only 45 mins. away from the main city. Should you want to do trips on your own, transportation is readily available with applicable fees.

We apologize for the vendors outside the walls of Costabella. They are not in any way connected with us and the Law allows that they practice self-entrepreneurship. We have security personnel on sight whom you may approach if they become bothersome.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Small beach what disappears during low tide. Very loud and annoying offers from banana boat ride to pilipino prostitutes from the beach boys, sitting next to wall separating the hotel beach area to outside. General staff who doesn't bring beach towels as requested... Very average and hard to imagine what is going on in this place during season when the huge building is full with guests.

Looks like package tourism is the main source of their business and the 4 star rating from many other reviewers is very strange for that place...

Hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere.

The only positive was the younger restaurant staff: pleasant and interested to serve at its best

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Kasparaines,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Costabella is known for Team Members who are genuinely caring to our guests and who deliver quality service. This is the reason why we have a good volume of guests who give us a four-star rating in reviews and the very reason why we have been in the industry for 32 years now. We have a wide range of clientele who come here not only for leisure but for business purposes as well.

We are glad that you have experienced the kind of service we are known for with our Restaurant Team Member.

We apologize for a different experience you had with our other team member. We assure you that this is an isolated case and we shall discuss this with the Team.

The touts outside the walls and premises of Costabella are not in any way connected with us. By law they are allowed to practice self-entrepreneurship, however engaging in sexual trade is strongly prohibited so we shall inform the rightful authorities on this. We have security personnel on sight whom our guests may approach for assistance if these vendors become bothersome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have been traveling all over the Phillippines since March 4th. This place is by far the worst expirience I have encountered. First when you book the room on Agoda it says to put in your flight number so the hotel can pick you up and you will have to pay. The hotel had no transportation and the clerk did not even know this requirement exists. Then when you check in they give you a list of rules and curfews that boggle the mind I thought I was checking into prison. Then I had to just get another room, because they wanted to charge 2100 a person per night for an extra bed. I asked for a bucket of ice and they charge 35 pesos for that. The website shows free internet, but it is not available in the rooms. I asked for a refund and they upgraded me to a room with wired internet, Naturally it did not work. The place is off the beaten path and secluded from everything. Then when you get to your guest room and open the activitiy book the first thing is 10 pages or more of things you can't do. Want family or friend to visit you in the hotel. No they can only visit you for dinner and if they want to use the pool they have to pay. I have not even left my room and just got turned off by all the false promises you see on the website. FREE WIFI is a must now I am not going to pay for it when 90 percent of hotels offer it for free. they say they have WIFI in public areas, but in the rule book it says charges apply. I spent my first night learning the rules, now i realize you can't enjoy this place. I did ask for my money back, but they say no refund. The rules are tainted soley for the hotel. How this place has such great rating is beyond me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roblivingthedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Mr. roblivingthedream,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your stay in Costabella. Transportation can be provided to our guests at applicable fees under a reservation made directly by the agency or directly made by the guest. Agoda is clear on line that you have to coordinate directly with the hotel after putting in your flight details on the internet. Unfortunately this note may have not been noticed by you because the Hotel did not receive any communication from your end and was unaware of your desire for pick-up at the airport. Your voucher only indicated one (1) room accommodation good for two persons with no other inclusions.

We understand from our Front Desk that you came in the Hotel with two more friends making it a total of
4 persons. For the comfort of our guests, the Hotel only allows a maximum of 3 adults in a room with extra person charge that is standard for all hotels. You were offered an option of a second room so you will not crowd in one room and be inconvenienced. Besides, two extra person rate combined can already be applied on a second room with a little add on and a guarantee of a more comfortable stay.

Visitors of our guests are welcome in public areas. Should they wish to stay for the day, we encourage them to avail of our Day Trip arrangement that is inclusive of a set meal during Mondays to Saturdays and Buffet Lunch on Sundays with use of swimming facilities at applicable fees, for them to fully enjoy Costabella.

Hotels are required by law to clearly indicate their house rules to properly guide the guest upon arrival. We had a lot of guests who have been thankful of these guidelines that we include in our compendium because it gives them the idea of the things that they can do and the things to avoid as guided by the city regulations. We regret that you felt restricted by it when all we wanted was to keep you informed.

WiFi is provided for free in WiFi Zones. Rooms that are not included in the WiFi Zones are provided with LAN cable for the needed connection. We apologize if the WiFi and internet connection in your rooms were weak at the time of your usage. Sometimes the volume of users can slow it down though no further complaints were received from other in-house guests. Use of the internet station is charged accordingly as stated in our compendium.

The Hotel spends to buy ice that is provided for free at our restaurant outlets. We only apply a minimal charge when request is made from the room and we have to do delivery.

Refund arrangements for Agoda bookings are handled directly by the agency and not by the Hotel. We apologize if this has not been clearly explained to you by our Front Desk. Rest assured that this shall be discussed with the Front Office Team.

Have a pleasant day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The staff here are always ready to help whatever you need. There's lots to do including water sports. The beach is also very private. You can enjoy smoothies and cocktails on the beach. A lot of families enjoy their time here but a lot of group trips from all nations also enjoy coming. Don't miss Lema, the Filipino inspired spa where you'll be treated like a Sultan (or princess!)

Room Tip: Book in advance if you want a beach front
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firesenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Daghang salamat! Thank you for your wonderful review.

We take pride in our Team who are dedicated in providing genuine and caring service to all our guest and we consider them one of our greatest assets. It gives them great pleasure to be of service and we are thankful when our guests take notice.

Likewise, our LEMA Filipino Spa is well known for their excellent services. They will be happy to know that they are appreciated. Thank you for enjoying our services, our water sports, our smoothies and cocktails at the Beach Bar.

Rest assured that we will always strive to give our best. We look forward to your next visit! 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have stayed here before and I was amazed that they have maintained their spot in the resort industry despite the new and bigger chain of resorts in the area. What I like here is they have maintained to be personalized service which is good for family vacations.

We came here for a day trip. At Php 795/person, this already includes entrance fee, use of pool and beach amenities, and lunch buffet. Drinks not included though. This is already cheap if compared with other resorts in the area.

This resort is not as big as others in the area, but good enough to be enjoyed by kids and adults as well. They have 2 pools - 1 kiddie starting at 1.6ft, and an adult pool with a short slide. In the midst of the pool area is their Brisa restaurant, where you can sit back and relax while eating and watching your kid enjoy the swim in the pool. Their lunch buffet is served in their main restaurant near the entrance - La Marina. The food is ok. Nothing extraordinary though.

Their beach is perfect white sand and constantly rid of seaweeds by an attendant. When we went there, the water was crystal clear. It was very inviting that people flocked to the beach rather than at the pool, including the kids.

The resort offered many other recreational beach activities like their Banana boat ride which is at Php 500.00 per person for 15 minutes ride. However, hawkers at the other side of the fence were offering it at Php 1,300.00 for 6 persons already.

Pros : The place is charming, very relaxing. Pool and beach are both clean and enticing.
Cons : Food is expensive. But you can bring in snacks and extra drinks. Main meal is ordered at their restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Chickmom,
Daghang salamat! Thank you for the great feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your day with us, most specially our beach and pools. We strive to continually improve our facilities to better service our guests and our loyal patrons who have been with us for the last 32 years. This is our way of showing our guests that we care and listen to their needs.

Thank you for showing your appreciation of our Team who do take every opportunity to provide all our guest with genuine and caring service.

The hawkers outside the walls of Costabella are not in any way connected with us. We encourage our guests to patronize legitimate concessionaires of the Hotel whose quality of service we can vouch for and who are proven to be reliable.

We can't wait to see you again on your next day trip with us. Please visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 42 in Mactan Island
584 reviews
2.3 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: $78 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing