We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but it really doesn't worth the price!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mactan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but it really doesn't worth the price!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is nice and there are some activities like jet ski or wait board..But you need to pay for all of them!The staff always tried to make us pay more!They made us pay an exorbitant extra fee for extra bed but they didn't gave us one it was just because there was an extra person!If you go there make sure that you only use the 300 ml hotel water bottle and not the exactly same one that is 500 ml because they will charge it!Overall i would recommend this hotel if it cost 80 $ less!But it's not the case so I don't!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libeccio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Libeccio16,

Thank for enjoying the services of the Hotel. Watersports like jet-skis and wave runners are under the Hotel’s concessionaire. There is a charge which is used to cover rental and safety maintenance of the water equipments to better serve guests.

Our hotel has varied bed configurations flexible enough to accommodate our guests. Such as rooms with 3 single beds, 2 single beds, 2 double beds or 1 double bed and 1 single bed most of which have no need for a set-up of an extra bed.

However in the case of a triple occupancy (3 Adults), the hotel charges an extra person rate patterned from an international standard practice in the hospitality industry.

For the convenience of our guests we provide one (1) complimentary bottle of mineral water for each occupant on a daily basis. This is the 350ml bottle that you consumed in the room. To avoid confusion this is marked as “complimentary” and is visibly smaller compared to the larger 500ml bottle which is part of the mini-bar and like all items in the minbar, is consumed at a fee as per international standard.

We hope we were able to clear any confusion you may have had with regards to our room amenities and watersport facilities pertaining to fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    301
    120
    28
    33
See reviews for
197
209
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is adequate with the exception of its falsely advertised free wi-fi access. We could not even connect in the public areas let alone the room. Although a free LAN cable was provided this did not help with IPads and Phones. The staff admitted it was very weak so until this is improved the hotel should remove in my view the free wifi sign it has on Agoda. Check in was swift and they accommodated my request for a king size bed without fuss. The room is nicely furnished with a big bathroom and a nice balcony. The bed is huge but the bedding could be improved it is not really practicable cosy or that comfortable the pillows were pretty hard as well. The room amenities are a bit sparse small towels, no face towels and just flip flops (no slippers) with no bath robes. Aircon was effective and was not troubled by noise. Think some of the other reports that mention noise may involve adjacent hotels and their entertainment. Overall room was fine but with a little bit of extra effort could have been made really nice. They also lacked an in room safe. Pool area is reasonable and seemed to be sufficient pool chairs. Nice quiet area of beach and staff were happy to move loungers there so that we could enjoy the sand and sea.
We ate there twice and food was reasonable and for a resort not over priced, its a lot cheaper to eat outside of course but the resort is quite remote so there are limited options to do so within walking distance. The seaside restaurant has a nice ambience but could do with a broader selection of choices, or perhaps offer people the chance to order from the main restaurant menu. Breakfast buffet was of an acceptable standard, but the male staff seemed a bit grumpy whilst the female staff were much more accommodating and pleasant. We had a good massage which was nice but the attendants were eager for tips despite a service charge being added (I hope the staff get their share of this) If you added the tip to the bill you would have received a service charge on the tip as well!!! I am not tight but I had no cash with me and do not want to be charged service charge on top of a tip.
Check out was rather slow even though the front desk did not seem very busy. Overall however I found the staff with the exception of breakfast male waiters and over zealous pool guards to be pretty good and friendly if not always super efficient.
So would I stay again? Probably not since I think there is better value to be had in Cebu and Mactan. However I guess the hotel knows it's market. Guess my slight disappointment was that with a little extra effort the hotel could be a good quality 4 Star in a great location. The savings made in some areas take the edge off what could be quite a nice little resort.

Room Tip: Get a king size bed if you are a couple it is huge. If you are after internet probably best to try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alster2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Alster2409,

Thank you for your feedback.

We take pride in knowing our team members do what they can to deliver genuine and caring service to our guests. And as such we shall look into your concern with regards to these isolated behaviors and we shall make sure that these are corrected.

Lema Filipino Spa, one of our in-house concessionaires, does not impose a service charge. However, this is still no reason for its staff to behave in the manner that they did. We were reassured by its owner that such behavior is never tolerated and corrective measures shall be undertaken.

WiFi access is indeed provided in WiFi zone areas for free. Our guests continuously enjoy these services and are happy with the connection that they are getting. We regret to hear though that you did not enjoy this special provision of the Hotel. We shall discuss this with our technical team and see how we can further develop our connecting services.

Our safety deposit box is located by the lobby and is very well monitored to guarantee security of our guests’ belongings. We make it a point to encourage our guests to avail of it to ensure a more relaxing vacation.

Our guests generally find our bed very comfortable and amenities in the room quite sufficient. It is sad to hear that we did not pass with your standards.

We value your opinion and we shall look into means of further improvement on all your concerns.

We do hope you visit us again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have booked a premium poolside room and is able to enjoy the sea view right from my balcony. The room is very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff are very customer oriented which makes the hotel stay even better. The food at the restaurant is also good.

This is a family oriented hotel and I can see a lot of kids enjoying themselves at the pool. The private beach at the hotel is a plus point too.

My room is on the 7th level and I can still hear the band playing their music at 11pm. As such, those who got themselves a lower level floor must be prepared to bear with the loud music at night. Wifi is only available at my balcony and not in my room.

Overall, it has been a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Daghang salamat! Thank you for the great review.

We are glad you enjoyed stay at the hotel. We are very proud of our staff who do take every opportunity to provide all our guest genuine and caring service.

We are happy to know you liked the food at the restaurant and were satisfied with our room.
Yes we are very family oriented and our Guest Service Team most especially does take an effort to engage children in different activities at the resort.

We are aware of the sound levels of the local music group and do limit their hours to 10 pm, as not to bother the guests at night. We are sorry if it caused any inconvenience.

We take this concern seriously and we will investigate further.

The issue on WiFi reach is being addressed and we hope to improve it by your next stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

As a frequent traveler I've been in a number of Mactan beach hotels (Tambuli for cheaper stays and Shangri-la Mactan for splurging), and I must say Costabella impressed.

We stayed from the 1st to the 4th of Feb, and nearly everything was excellent. Lovely well-furnished room, large pools, friendly staff, and most importantly, a clean and spacious beach area, with lots of beach chairs (and beanbags!), no sea urchins or jellyfish during our stay, and delightfully little seaweed. As mentioned before, the staff are the highlight of the hotel with all of them never failing to greet us good morning/afternoon/evening. Peewee at the front desk was particularly helpful, along with Don in the Marina restaurant. Breakfast is buffet-stye even if the meal stub says "plated breakfast" and hot dishes rotate every day, with pancakes and french toast, and a soup, cereal, salad, and bread stations as constant. This hotel also serves the crispiest bacon I have ever had. Delicious.

They also have an in-house spa, Léma, where I tried their Ngindalas sa Kalalawas (or all-natural papaya wrap) and it was pretty good, if a bit expensive. For PHP 1,800 you can usually get a combination wrap and massage elsewhere. My over-salted and over-sunned skin appreciated the respite from the heat.

The only disadvantage I can think of to staying here is that you don't get internet access if you're in a standard room and that the hotel itself is quite far from civilization (such as groceries or restaurants). You're basically reliant on hotel food for the entire time unless you think ahead and bring in snacks. We didn't think ahead, but I must say the two restaurants have a wide array of choices and large serving sizes. Pricier than eating at, say, Jollibee, but well worth your cash.

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (far from the restaurant and pool area) are really quiet and are nearer the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank encreverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Daghang salamat! Thank you for the great review.

We are very pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed our food, facilities and Spa.

We listen to our guests and we will seriously look into your concerns about our WiFi connection.

Pewee, Danny, and the rest of the team will be happy to know that you have appreciated their quality of service.

We are extremely proud of all our team members as they genuinely care and look forward to every opportunity to serve our guests.

Please do visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The positive things first: the staff is very nice and helpful, the restaurant is reasonable and really good. BUT ...

... the hotel itself is built on a small area: 3 small pools, 3 kinds of rooms (we booked the superior suite room), 2 restaurants and the beach are packed on a small area. The private beach itself is very small with only a few beach chairs.

The windows and the walls of the hotel are very thin. I heard the band playing in the 24-hour-restaurant until 3 am (!). The incredible thing was that noboy of the staff stopped the band from playing until 3 am. About 10 russians were drinking in the restaurant. As this is a "resort hotel" and not a "youth hostel" I expected that there is a manager who takes care about noisy drunk guests - but there wasn`t. Next, at 4 am the neighbooring rooster started to crow really loud. Thanks to the thin walls I heard it very loud. Again, I was unable to sleep until i crawled half-dead to the breakfast. The strange thing is, that the most expensivest rooms are located close to the pool and restaurant (=noisy from 7 am to 8 pm). The cheapest rooms are located in the quiet area of the hotel. What`s the meaning of this?

The next day we changed our rooms further away from the restaurant, towards the beach. In the new room, it stank incredibly from the drain. But at least we couldn`t hear the 24-hour-restaurant`s noise anymore.

Summary: the "resort" (I wouldn`t call it a resort) is endeavour to become a resort-type hotel. But it`s far away from that level.

If you are a diver and you only eat and sleep in the hotel - it may be OK. If you are a couple/family who also wants to enjoy the "resort" itself (like a real resort is supposed to be) then I wouldn`t recommend it. As young couple it`s hard to relax anyway, as the pool is filled with kids all the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for commending our staff and the food at our restaurants. Indeed, we have received many positive feedbacks on our hospitable staff and delicious food.

We sincerely regret the disturbance that you experienced.

We are quite perplexed however with the disturbance at our restaurant, La Marina, as the Rondalla, a 4-man guitar ensemble, performs until 10:00 in the evening in consideration of our guests. As for the noise from other guests, we regret that sometimes our guests get carried away, however, we do call their attention when we receive a concern from any of our guests. During your stay, the Hotel was fully booked and had the pleasure of serving over 16 different nationalities.

We take your feedback seriously and will look into how we can improve further our efforts to provide our guests a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

i've planned our family vacation more than one month before the scheduled date so i looked for best hotels/resorts comparing each and every cost-location-reviews items. finally i decided on this hotel-resort because of the reviews it received on trip advisor. when we checked-in the welcome reception was not as welcoming i expect it to be compared to other hotel-resorts i've visited before on their level.i have three young kids/daugthers so i have requested for extra be. After waiting until time for sleeping they did not even bother to inform me they cannot find one or find another way to make our stay comfortable. maybe they are too busy looking after other guests and they have no time to return my request. anyway, i learned my lesson from this resort "if you are not VIP" then do not stay here. On restaurant staff is great, he'll advise you if you already ordered too much that maybe your group cannot consume all, thanks to that guy. swimming time: great pools, we loved it, nice view of the sea, although i though we can swim at their beach but better judge it by yourselves if you can swim or not . finally on checking-out, it took me more than 30 minutes waiting for my turn because of so many guests. over-all its ok to stay here but i hope you learn from my experience. PS. no danggit at breakfast?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Resty2010,

Thank you for making time to send us your feedback.

Our Team strives to take every opportunity to make all our guests feel special. It is unfortunate and we apologize that some areas of the Hotel were unable to meet your immediate needs and satisfaction.

Your feedback will certainly help us improve even further in our continuing efforts to promote genuine and caring service to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were looking for a few days in Cebu at somewhere other than our previous favorite hotel. Our four days have been fantastic. The hotel service is excellent; staff are friendly and courteous.
Open air restaurant and cafe are relaxing with a reasonably priced menu. Facilities are very well maintained and always clean (not always true in Philippine hotels).
We will be coming back with the rest of the family.

Room Tip: Choose the new rooms "premier deluxe" or the refurbished "seaview suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTBH, Marketing Officer at Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Daghang Salamat! Thank your for the kind feedback.

We are very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our restaurant and facilities.

Our team looks forward to providing you with the same excellent service in your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#14 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Property: Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing