We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more artifacts than Manila museum and art gallery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise after the hectic horrors of Manila. I took lthe ocal minivan to Blue Waters and walked through a village and a bit of pasture to get to the resort. Lots of great photo opportunities so close to a major airport. The resort welcomes you with a nice cooling drink, towel and smiles. The place was decorated in that antique heavy Spanish look and with the landscaped gardens, it presented as an old world blend of Philipino and Spanish heritage. Run by descendants of the founding family, an air or refinement persists and of old wealth though the wooden statues and old building rooms look well past their prime. I spent the first day photographing the wonderful ornaments and artifacts representative of Phlippine culture and history of the region of Cebu. The views from the top floor of the new block were marvellous and sea breezes cools the place year round. Regadless of the neighbouring people touting from morning till night for your business to island hop or jet ski, the place has a serenity one longs for after a week in Manila and not soothed by a sorry visit to Tagatay. The breakfast buffet was splendid (make sure you access the local cocoa - and the meals whatever you want - I asked for the vegetarian Pinakbet and the fabulous banana and jackfruit fritters and both were wonderful, serenaded as I was by the nighly array of local talent singing me songs about the Pinoy. I loved the place and will return but be warned- check for renovations and check you are not going into the old wing. Nothing worse than dank smelly rooms and horrendous building noise when you went thousands of miles to get away from renovating your own home in Australia. PS the housekeepr was an angel and altered my new shorts for nothing - no-one looks for a tip here either and you get a free shuttle to the city 26km away to sightsee and shop at leisure - the Ayala Mall is great if it's shopping you want and try coming back by local ferry and stop at the Virgin mary shrine where real pilgrims make offerings of black candles to a black madonna - quite wonderful and very very spiritual. I just love this place and must see more of Cebu next trip...PS there is a magnificent souvenir shop on the main island in the city - ask how to find it - you can set up a whole business back home selling these things - they are really not tacky tourist stuff - check out the beautiful wood carvings but make sure customs allows it in. PPS you can get cheap spa services back in the township near the airport BUT the facilities are horrid and not clean - try the resort spa - it is amazing architecturally and the ambiance inside it is something you have to experience to believe. No spa beats this one for atmosphere. Or stay in the units near the spa if you are a group - more homely than the hotel rooms.

Room Tip: ask for the new wing and not the standard rooms or the pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 744 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Costabella is located at Mactan and is a long trip from the Mactan Airport. You can take a cab from the airport or, you can ride a jeepney to the Mactan Shrine (which we did, and it is not difficult at all) and took a cab from there to Costabella (you will save on transportation costs).

We checked-in at Costabella after a very tiring city tour of Cebu. When we arrived, the receptionists were very accommodating and immediately sent for cold towels and welcome drinks, which we really appreciated. We had no problems checking in, considering that we confirmed our booking only through email correspondences.

We stayed in one of their pool-side rooms and, although it was not that new, it was spacious, clean and well-kept. It was a few seconds' walk to the pool and a minute's walk, maybe, to the beach. The beach, though the sands of which are not comparable to the sands of Boracay, was decent and clean. The sandbar, however, is short and the length of the beach is limited by the boundaries of the resort.

The pools are well-kept and the lifeguards on duty weren't rude and did not gawk at the guests (as some lifeguards do). When it was time for them to clean up the pool (at about 10 in the evening), they did not ask us to leave the pool but instead waited patiently for us to finish swimming.

The restaurant's food was expensive (example: fresh buko juice at P110). BUT, totally worth it. The waiters were professional. The food was superb. Their breakfast buffet was heaven.

The check-out took some time due to some final checks made by the resort staff. The guards called a cab for us.

Over-all, the stay at Costabella was worth the money. =)

Room Tip: If you are into swimming a lot, choose the poolside rooms. They are near the beach and the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 03212010_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I actually love visiting all the beaches here in the Philippines and Costabella is one of the nice beaches that I have seen..They're beach is clean and aside from its safe (cuz their life guards is always around to watch all the swimmer) Their water has a lot of fish under the water and its fun if you guys do snorkeling cuz they have lots of deferent kinds of fish. And if you are tired of swimming you can take a seat and order some drink as their restaurant take your order no matter how far you have had seat.. (their food is not that good though) They have a clean pool and their sand on the beach was nice and clean to..(everything is clean) Their room is perfect for honey moonier, specially those in front of the beach on the 6th (or maybe 7th? i forgot out room number) And anyway this place is like 20 minutes away from he airport?.and be careful of all the taxi driver cuz they will fool you around as what they did to us.. And when you got their at the front desk though you paid your rent already they will gonna ask you for P3000.00 for securance deposit..Its kinda hassle to get a ride cuz its far from the hi-way but when you guys are out of dutch or you guys are trying to save money you can just walk out site ..its like 100 or 200 steps and you can see a lots of motorcycle passing by .. Its a matter of instinct anyway..Always remember guys theres always a reason specially if you are "KURIPOT"

P.S their restaurant is 24 hours open. And when their rest is busy? they have buffet breakfast :)
Holaaa enjoy your vacation guys :)

Room Tip: front beach on the 6th floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irah_luiese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed 3D2N at the resort. As we paid in advance, we unfortunately couldn't change hotel when we got there. The hotel is really nothing special, the beach is not well mantained, but most of all, the staff was not nice and not helpful at all. One day we have been told that the resort was booked for an event. However, they did not offer us anything to compensate this inconvenience and they just suggested us to stay away from the resort for 1 day. The alternative was to be in the middle of an event full of people from outside andvery loud music the whole day without any possibility to relax. They suggested us an excursion to an island that looked a paradise on the pictures. When we got there, we found a crowded place, with no beach and no place to relax.
We had dinner in other resorts that were much better than this.
We honestly wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Enjoyed staying here, the room was lovely , with a huge bed! We had a sea view and it was very comfortable, check carefully, some of the rooms are on a shared walkway balcony. Staff good, nothing a problem to bring. TV was rather old and small. The food was much better than we expected, and not too expensive, wine list really ok. restaurant is open 24 hrs too. . It is far from the city and near very little but a village, though local guitar shops are interesting, Cebu town is about 40 min by car. Its quiet but seems to have quite a lot of local social functions.held. pool is nice, beach is small and all enclosed by barriers. One minus is they cannot organise trips to Bohol, so be ready to go to the port and get your tickets, before 5.30pm when the offices close. Great place for a few days.

Room Tip: Choose the Premier deluxe rooms! Balcony, view, big bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscowLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Me and three of my girlfriends stayed at this resort for three nights during Holy Week. For the price that we paid, it was definitely worth it. We were greeted with refreshments and the staff were all very friendly. At first, we were intimidated because it appeared to be such a peaceful resort with such strict rules because we saw that there were plenty of securities around the resort. Surprisingly, their main concern is guest comfort. Me and my friend's main purpose for our trip is to have fun. We definitely did just that without getting warnings for loud music, etc. The staff were so accommodating and they provided us everything we needed. They took us to the city with their free shuttle, and found us trustworthy taxi drivers when needed. The resort itself is very nice and private. It would be perfect for couples and families looking for some quiet, peaceful time. They also gave us free airport transports and the ride was always on time. We booked from Agoda, and everything went smoothly with our stay at this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed for three days with my girlfriend .... Looking for some peace after a week in Manila.The hotel was very busy due to Easter holidays and whilst the deluxe rooms have great views of the sea ,they also come with all the noise of the pool.

Room was very clean and spacious with the biggest bed I have ever slept in!!

Breakfast whilst offering a great variety was very average.Staff where either very helpful or totally uninterested.

It's a good hotel for families but to me lacks a little sophistication that you would expect from a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid pool view rooms .... It's noisy !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AltyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#13 of 43 in Mactan Island
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing