We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed there last November 5-6, 2011. I would say that I enjoyed the place. It was a little bit expensive compared to other resorts but I must say that you will get your money's worth. The staff were very accommodating. They would always greet you and ask you how they can help.

It has two very nice swimming pools. The pools were average in size. Perhaps 10-15 people can swim in these pools without feeling to crowded. One of the pools has a small slide. I would recommend that you swim in the pool instead of the beach. I think the beach is not as pleasant as those in syquijor, boracay, bohol, CDO and even puerto galera.

The good thing about this resort is that you can borrow volleyballs and use the billiard pool for free. We end up playing for hours. This is a welcomed perk considering that everything else is really expensive.

The food, which is for single serving only, costs around 300-400/order. Really expensive. But, the free breakfast is buffet so if you were not able to eat dinner just eat a lot during breakfast.

The rooms were spacious. We stayed at a standard room which we paid 5,000/day. The bathroom was not so good because the water pressure is not that strong. In our room, the toilet had no exhaust fan. I would expect that it would have one considering that the accommodation is really pricey.

So my last say is... I would'nt discourage you to stay in costabella but I would'nt recommend it as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxsarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 706 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

Nice place to spend time on a lazy day or on weekends. Not expensive at all. Food is average to okay.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jairrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have been quite surprised with quality of service and place of Costabella. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful from bellboy up to their manager. When something special is needed usually concierge can find solution, if concierge cannot help then for sure somebody on the front desk will. This hotel has private and relaxing atmosphere and very good restaurant with perfect cook, their spa has limited but very good performances of massages and other procedures. They also have free WiFi which is slow, but who's coming to Cebu for work - right? :) Taxi is accessible directly at the hotel and you always can ask bellboy to negotiate good price for you if you unsure. Upon my arrival they upgraded my room from Deluxe Pool Room to Sea View Suite for reasonable price. I wish to the management and to the guys only the best and will definitely stay there once again and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Seaview Suite is highly recommended which are decorated in old Spanish-Colonial style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomanDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This place is PARADISE!...

Friendly and hospitable staff .....CHECK!
Panoramic and beautiful white sand beach .....CHECK!
A wide variety of delightful and delicious dishes..... CHECK!
A comfortable room with a magnificent view that has everything I need..... CHECK!
A pool area that looks so inviting....CHECK!
Had the best SPA experience with a reasonable price..... CHECK!


The list goes on and on :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were there in the morning and while waiting for our rooms, we had let our kids swim in the pool. The Mr. Yoyoy( sounds like yoyo,not sure) ask my father if we were guess of the hotel and my father said yes. After a couple of minutes, we see him again looking at us talking to his fellow workers and going straight to our table asking what room we where etc.. (investigating it seems).

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Arvin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My sister's wedding reception was held in this resort. The food was really great and so as the place.

The general staff was very approachable and really provide us with good service. Rooms was also nice but kinda expensive.

The resort is a good place for occasions like wedding, birthdays and parties in general.

You should have your own transportation if you're local since the location is really far from the main road.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsOracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

There's nothing bad I can comment about in Costabella except for the room we got, only had a manual type aircon, but that's just it. Apart from that, we had a very good stay. The resort seemed to have been newly renovated and most rooms have been updated. Food is a plus, portions are huge and prices are very reasonable. You may want to try out the restaurant or room service, whichever you prefer. Staff are always attentive, I liked each and every single one I came across. Beach is extremely clean, just don't mind the vendors on the next door beach, ones trying to sell "special" rates for water sports and other activities - this is NOT in connection to Costabella, do NOT entertain them! If you wish for these activities, Costabella itself can arrange these for you so you won't be disappointed in what you get. I like that this resort isn't too noisy, its a wonderful place to relax and work on your tan. Do try out thier SPA services as well, the attendants are professionally trained, you really get what you pay for. I also like that security is quite high. I would definitely go back to this resort one of these days.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 43 in Mactan Island
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel

Address: Buyong, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: $78 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming island of Mactan in Cebu is the tropical hideaway of Costabella, a luxury beach resort awarded by the Philippine Department of Tourism with the highest resort classification.An iconic property embraced by white fine sand and shaded by palm trees, Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel is an architectural showcase steeped in history and tradition. Its tastefully-appointed rooms, all 156 of them, beautifully integrate Spanish colonial influences with natural, homegrown materials. Carved stonework, arched doors and charming courtyards are the hallmarks of this timeless place. All accommodations from the modest to luxurious with private balconies offer breathtaking view that is both peaceful and romantic.As the name suggests, Costabella provides travelers and guests with the perfect setting to admire Mactan’s enchanting coastline. This tropical retreat is truly a dream destination for honeymoons and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costabella Tropical Beach
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing