We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in third world setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Mactan Island
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here in June and found the hotel to be clean, but the room was very cold. There was no blanket supplied and when we asked for one, it did not turn up. There are two pools and there were plenty of sun lounges. The restaurant was nice and we had a couple of reasonable meals there. There are no real facilities outside the hotel, and we were robbed in a local Jeepnee (people carrier) - fortunately we caught the robbber and we forced him to give us back our wallet.

Each hotel has their own beach area, which is small so don't expect to be able to have long beach walks. The road outside the hotel does not have formed footpaths so you have to take your chances dodging traffic or walking on dirt tracks (covered with litter etc).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 601 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were travelling in a large group with friends and family and had booked 3 courtyard rooms. One out of the three rooms that we had booked the airconditioning was fairly noisy. We contacted the staff members at the front desk and advised them of the problem and they attended the issue straight away and ensured they do their best to resolve it. As a result the friends that were staying in that room had a room upgrade.

The courtyard rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were kingsized and fairly comfortable. The bathrooms were fairly big and very spic and span.

The hotel had a fantastic pool and jacuzzi area, however I was fairly disappointed with the small strip of beach they had - It was dirty and there was rubbish all over the beach.

The restaurant was fantastic. They had a great food selection for breakfast. The spa at the hotel was very relaxing and the staff members were friendly. A few of our friends had requsted body massages very late one evening which was close to closing time and the staff members there were happy to work the overtime to accommodate their request.

Overall, the staff were helpful and attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mau_Mau84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

That is if you dont go out the front gates
Large family pool is great except when a class of Japanese scuba divers used it for two days.
They could have used the smaller pool
Food selection is great with a complete range of worldwide fares.
Yes the beach is disappointing but you don't really need it
The renovation work being carrried out was also a bit of a nusance

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked a 3 night stay through Agoda. On arrival at Deluxe room discovered ants in the bathroom, malfunctioning electric kettle and TV remote control plus swarms of bees on the veranda. Housekeeping sorted everything except the stubborn bees. The room was OK but a bit gloomy and the bees prevented us from taking advantage of the sea view from the veranda. Soon though another problem emerged in the form of constant hammering. Checking outside we discovered that construction work was going on near to our block of rooms. A notice read "Apologies for any inconvenience." Obviously it would have been much better if the management had informed the guests in advance of such disruption.
Feeling utterly fed up we decided to upgrade to a Junior Suite in the Courtyard complex. This is an upmarket development next to the spa and has exotic fish ponds to entertain the tourist.
We had no complaint about the new room which was very spacious and well appointed with extra large bed (good for 3 !!) and Jacuzzi.
The free breakfast was buffet style and very appetizing but to my wife's frustration the Spaghetti was never available during our stay.
. Beach lovers need not waste any time considering this resort. There are dozens of jetskis, banana boats and small pleasure craft moored close to the beach, spoiling the view and making swimming a hazardous past time. The beach itself is very narrow and as soon as you set foot on it you become the target of guys trying to sell you a boat trip.
So what were the plus points? The Spa was excellent with a range of treatments in a lovely relaxing environment. The gardens provided beautiful surroundings for a morning or evening stroll and the two swimming pools were well maintained and supervised. The larger free form pool attracted families whilst we had the adults only pool to ourselves.
The food was good although quite expensive and the lobby pianist performing during dinner gave a classy feel to proceedings.
Above all it was the friendly and helpful staff who impressed most. I can only think of the Marco Polo as having more attentive front desk staff, waiters, gardeners, lifeguards, housekeeping etc.

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are much better than the older Deluxe versions although they don't have a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevroyan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Last time in Cebu we visited it .
It was surprising good . And not so expensive as Alona beach Bohol.
And the taxi from MacTan was only 200 Peso [ Euro 4 ]
There is allso a pool , and the pizza was excellent [ 350 P] .
Good for 2 Western or 3/4 Philippine,s .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaboes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

we stayed for 3 days, 2 nights and we loved it. the beach, the pool, the wind and also the buffet breakfast. the room is big and clean and they are not too strict with bringing in foods. the whole place os clean and the whole experience is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Since i have a card for this hotel, i frequently visit the site. I love the beach specially early in the morning to see the sun rise. The beach is not big but enough for me to enjoy it. The pool has a part safe for kids and since the adult part of the pool is not that far, i can swim while having a closer look on them. Food is not bad at all, they are yummy and is worth the price. You can choose a variety from pizza to grilled sea foods. I usually go for daytime use only so i can't say much for the rooms but i know that this is a cozy place for parties. Try to go to where there koi pond is, you will be amazed how big the fishes have become. Kids would love them!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie_sabando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 44 in Mactan Island
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa

Address: | Maribago Beach, 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
#11 Spa Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: $101 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cebu White Sands is a private family-owned resort hotel located on the east coast of Mactan Island. It is only 20 minutes by car from the Mactan - Cebu International Airport and 40 minutes away from the historic island of Cebu. The resort’s 86 guest rooms are situated on a 2-hectare property carefully developed to create that perfect blend of turn-of-the- century Philippine architecture and modern facilities for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu White Sands At Maribago Beach Hotel Mactan Island
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing