We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little off the beaten track but worth the trip”

Lantaw Native Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 171 Restaurants in Mactan Island
Cuisines: Filipino, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten track but worth the trip”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A little off the beaten track but worth the trip.
Price is reasonable. Nice ambiance.
Be sure to go early or make reservations because the place is packed during lunch time and especially dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bidok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    198
    86
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner on a perfect sunset view”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The food was nothing special. To be fair, the food was actually good, as most of the restaurants in Cebu are. But to be a place for dinner where you actually have to endure a long drive from Cebu City, fighting your way through pedicab drivers, crazy parking space, may not be worth going if for the food alone.

I guess food was not their main selling point. It was in fact, the view before sunset as long as you go there earlier, was worth it. Sunset over serene water and soft city lights gave me nostalgia and reminded on how beautiful Cebu can be.

Just make sure you either reserve a table or go there earlier than your normal dinner time to avoid the hassle in getting on the frustrating queue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shinobi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ambiance”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Ambiance ambiance....had it not for the long journey to reach the place it would have been almost perfect..... If you view it well the SRP seems to near yet really its so far....
Make sure you have reservations before thinking of going.
Food is native....good delicious but needs some wow push for it to get a superlative description.
Nighttime or better sunset to nighttime is the best time to go but again make allowance for traveltime and distance

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weisslingen, Zuerich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mass Production”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

the terrace and the view to Cebu City is very nice, but the food and service is horrible, real mass production.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfredHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taytay, Rizal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lantaw Floating Native Restaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

On our 2nd night in Cebu, we decided to eat dinner at Lantaw Floating Native Restaurant. We just read somewhere to try this restaurant and so we did! It's a few minutes drive from Imperial Palace. We asked the help of the front desk from Imperial to reserve a seat for us. However, the phone of Lantaw is very busy. Thus, we went early as we heard that it gets full towards dinner time. We also want to be there before sunset.

Taxi cost us around Php 140.00. We did not ask the cab to wait for us because the driver's rate is Php 300.00 per hour.

We ordered inihaw na tuna panga, pork sisig, baked scallops, lumpiang shanghai, and gatang seafood (i forgot the name), rice, and pitcher of cordova drink. all these cost us a little over Php 1,000.00 :).... the gatang seafood is good... it is served on a buco shell. the cordova drink is also good.... same with the other orders.

we would have stayed longer but we are not sure how to get back to the hotel so we decided not to stay too late. from the restaurant, we walked a few meters to get a padjak (a bike w/ a side car). we were charged Php 60.00 per padjak and can only accommodate 2 passengers. we were brought to the main road and got a cab from there. However, i suggest that you just wait for cab from the restaurant. We noticed that most customers go there by cab. You just have to wait a little to get one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank specialmom728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lantaw Native Restaurant also viewed

 
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Been to Lantaw Native Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing