We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice trip but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nalusuan Island Resort
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Mactan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We just recently spent our vacation there; it was our last stop in our itinerary of 11 day vacation in Cebu/Bohol.

Booking:
It was through their website. But there was an issue when they informed me that there was no room available for the dates I selected though I got an email that stated i successfully reserved the room. They sorted it out and the person I talked to was very helpful.

Getting there:
Their rate does not include the boat transfer and you have to pay for it (whooping PHP2000 for a small boat)!!! The boat ride took around 40-45 mins because it couldn't sped off due to the waves. for a big boat, I think the travel time will be just 20 mins max. And there was no life jacket provided!!!

The Resort:
we were excited when we were approaching the island. the water was very clear, very inviting!!! There were staffs waiting for us and gave us seashell necklaces upon arrival... It was a warm welcome. The room/cottage was OK and the bed was comfortable. The cottages are located at the side of the island, they have little verrandas facing the neighbor island and where you can see and feed fishes too! It has a foot bridge to their snorkeling site in marine sanctuary where you can enjoy lots of fishes! They also have a dive shop there. Lots of Island hoppers stop by and include this island in their itinerary. Regarding their staffs, most are accommodating and helpful.

The Dive:
The DMs and boatman were very nice and helpful throughout the dive. The dive site is a steep slope located in the marine sanctuary. The main feature of the dive site was groupers and stingrays. Of course there were also lots of other fishes there but they're nothing compared to my diving experience in Balicasag, Bohol a week earlier (can't help not to mention it!). But still, it was a nice dive. My wife and son enjoyed swimming and snorkeling while waiting for me to surface.

Food:
Their food is just ok. They have small servings of food per order. For me, the food there is expensive. Because it is an island you might say... But it's not that far from the mainland! A PHP20 fruit juice in can that you can buy in the grocery/supermarket costs 4 times more for the guests and 5 times more for the-non guest on that island!

The BAD and Some Observations:

- We reserved an air-conditioned room but the air-conditioner was not working. It was OK on our first night because it was windy but i reported it on our second night because it was humid. I requested for an additional electric fan. They adjusted the room rate on our second night to non-aircon. The first night was not adjusted because they said we did not report it right away :( Well, it shows that they dont check their facilities!

- UNFORTUNATELY the family (and friends) of the resort owner/s were there during our stay. I wanted to dive in the afternoon on our first day to have ample avoiding DCS before flying back home. But, unfortunately the DM said their bosses have a schedule on that afternoon so it's not possible and i can only dive on the next day because the owners will rest. I just shrugged my shoulders and said OK, 24 hours after diving before boarding the plane will do. But it leaves me somewhat negative customer service.

- We had a warm welcome when we arrived the island but we felt the opposite during our checkout. When we arrived, the staffs carried our bags to our room but noone when we were about to leave. And there was a thing that I really didn't like. We paid for our boat and i thought we were the only ones whose going to use it but behold, the owner's friends also rode our boat! So basically, I paid for their boat transfer! One more thing, the gesture of the owner was just not right, she let her friends to board first and after that she said to us, "OK, you can go now!", as if we didn't pay for that ride! it was a very bad gesture.

Final thoughts:
The place is nice for a day tour, one night max. We stayed two nights so it felt too long. You can already enjoy the island on a day tour, nothing extraordinary. Also, one reason not to stay more than 1 night is that your bill will be huge! Like I said, the food there is expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank su-root
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Nalusuan Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

The snorkeling here is just fantastic! The rooms are basic but comfortable enough. The staffs are nice as well and helpful. The whole area is clean and not tired. If there's something to improve right away, i think it should be the food. It is not bad but it's not that good as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcm_1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This has got to be the best snorkeling I ever did in Philippines - and I didn't even have to move around much for it! Often (especially in the morning and evening when the water was still and totally transparent), you could see starfish, corals, and beauriful colourful coral fish right from the verandah.

On - first the resort - it has about 14 cottages, on stilts, so you are right there - on top of the water. The view is simply awesome (see the photos) - I actually woke up at 5 to see the sunrise , and did not regret it. Every cottage has a private view of the sea and corals.

Food is fine - the island is really small (it takes 5 minutes to walk from one end to the other) and has nothing other than the resort and dive shop.

From 11 am to 4 pm, the resort gets run over by tourists on island hopping sprees and gets noisy, but after that, it is totally peaceful. When the water runs low (every evening), there is an entire stretch of sand that gets exposed (it is bigger than the island) teeming with live starfish crawling around! Never seen so many (and so pretty starfish - orange, white, checked, brow, dotted, blue...

There is a marine sanctuary all around, and you need to go over a 500 mtr long wooden bridge to snorkel - and wow - does it have fish! Barely 2 steps into the water (sometimes you don't need to go IN the water at all!), and you are surrounded by fish of every hue and colour - blue, yellow, striped, and of course, clown fish in the midst of sea anemones. The corals are sjhallow - about 1 to 2 metres and I could spend hours just snorkellign and watching the water.

This place does not feel as secluded as Balicasag (Bohol) and yet is extremely peaceful. Not much of a beach here (actually it is a wet beach!) - but enough to do for 1-2 days.

The only flip side is that electricity is switched on only between 6 pm and 8 am. There is no TV either. If you don't eat seafood and do not care much for delicacies like knuckles and tongues, choice of food is limited. (Sadly there is no buco or buco juice! No fresh juices either)

Otherwise a great place to stay.

You HAVE to take a bangka from their jetty (on the way to Plantation bay resort Mactan) - The resort will give directions to the taxi driver over the phone. The boat ride is about 45 minutes (the last 15 minutes is slow as we sailed over corals - wow!). It passes Hilutungan island en route.

There is a well equipped dive shop - All dive shops in Philippines have lots of lifejackets as standard issue, so you really do not need to know to swim to snorkel in Philippines.

There is also a pond where water comes in as the tide rises, and is daily filled with fish from the sea outside (and the fish are put back into the sea too)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Me and my best friend stayed here for 2 days. You have to call the resort ahead of time because you have to take a boat from manland t othe island. They have their own transportation, sio that is why you must call ahead. It is about a 20 minute boat ride to the island. Once at the island, we had it to ourselves. The staff was friendly and the room as great. Breakfst was complimentary. Lunch and dinner was very good. If the resort doesn't have supplies then you will be limited on the menu.

The rooms were awesome. We walked in the door and you are right over the water. On high tide we were feeding the fish from the balcony. Electricity is on at night and it cuts off at around 7 or 8 am. If you stay, you might be the only visitors on the island besides the staff. During the day groups will come and enjoy the island for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lexus873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

me and my gf had a great stay there! quiet, cute small island with a truly blue transparent water.
the rooms are clean and good.
food is also good, but have to wait at least 45minutes before it arrives on table.
the trip was great and cheap!
the rooms are on the water, you can jump from your balcony into the water.
we paid for two, two nights, boat transfer, sea kayak renting, snorkeling kit renting, food-drinks... about 200USD in total.
oh yeay, you got thousands of fish in the water, amazing!
I recommend this place for people that need to escape civilization.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank joncruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Glad to say the resort says they've released the turtle into the sea. Their responsiveness to my complaints deserves acknowledgement.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DitchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mactan Island hotels
6.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
704 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
8.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
8.7 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
492 reviews
8.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nalusuan Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalusuan Island Resort

Address: Olango Reef, Cordova,, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mactan Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mactan Island
Price Range: $60 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Nalusuan Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalusuan Island Hotel Mactan Island
Nalusuan Island Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing