We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we found paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Art Jungle Eco Lodge
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thanx to a very friendly dutch couple which we met on your boat trip from manaus to santarem, we received the tip of this little piece of paradise above the ocean in the jungle near itacare with magnificent views of the river and the ocean.

If you are looking for a place to relax, to enjoy nature and exellent food, then this is the place to be.

We stayed in the treetop house called tarzan, a very cute little house built of different kind of woods and palmleaves in a giant tree with a breathtaking view of the river and the ocean. It was spotless clean, with tasteful furnishings, 24h electricity and even a full facility bathroom with wc and warm water shower.

The couple which manages this lodge is more than friendly and provides a very open and welcome atmosphere so you will instantly feel at home. We especially enjoyed the gigant fish wrapped in bananaleaves which rai grilled for us.

But one thing we like the most was the best tapioca we had in brazil!! Prepared freshly every day for breakfast.

We just loved the place!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sonnenblume2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay at Art jungle for a couple of days and we really loved it. After 4 days in Itacare, which was not what we had hoped for, this was finally the place to come down and chill out. The beaches in and around Itacare are beautiful, but I found it so refreshing to stay in the jungle, with the sounds of the birds and the most amazing flora & fauna around. Kate and her husband were absolutely great hosts, with a superb knowledge of the area and lots of ideas which trips to go for. The ultimate experience for us was a night in the "SPA" room, which sometimes can be booked and which is a truly unique and wonderful experience. From here you can overlook the jungle, the sea and the beach and see the stars at night - we have travelled a lot all around the world, but this was really outstanding. Thank you Kate !! So, if you want to go to Itacare, stay in the art jungle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelminimalist2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It was a wonderful experience to stay in the middle of the jungle in those lovely wooden houses. the staff was very helpful with everything and i loved the variety of the breakfast.

i would absolutely recommend this location for all nature lovers, surf dudes, families who love to stay in a quite place, surrounded by nature

Room Tip: pick either the tarzan tree house or the por do sol (great view). the non plus ultra is the SPA!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I discovered this place by accident online and were really glad we did. It was a true highlight of our trip to Brazil. This a a very small pousada perched on a hill overlooking the Rio de Contas which leads in to Itacare. It consists of about 6 or 7 small private huts each suitable for a couple or 3 people. The huts are very simple with only some low voltage lighting, solar heated hot water, no plugs, no wifi and a simple bed with mosquito net. This is a place for people who want to unplug and enjoy nature and peace and quiet. The views are fantastic and animals and birds wake you up instead of the humming of air conditioning. There is a nice pool, a wood burning sauna, a meditation hut where you can also get a massage and quite a lot of land around for exploring. There is a main house with full electricity where you can use the fridge and plug your phone in to charge. The grounds are also filled with clay sculpture, and I mean filled. These are courtesy or the the very eccentric resident artist Naco who you will meet if you stay for more than a day or two.

What truly sets the place apart are the husband and wife management team of Kate and Rai. It is owned by a Swiss guy who we never saw but he couldn't have left it in better hands. Kate is a Canadian ex-pat who spent a good chunk of her life as a tour guide all over South America and speaks fluent Spanish, Portuguese, English and some French. She is also a yoga instructor and massage therapist. Rai is native of Itacare, a nature guide and is an expert in all the flora and fauna of the Atlantic forest surrounding the area. They couldn't have been more helpful and arranged everything for us that we wanted to do. Airport transfers to Ilheus, canoe rides up the river, surf lessons, taxis, trips to distant beaches....Anything you were interested in, a quick word with Kate and it materialized. When we lay on the bed for the first time I didn't like the pillows as I have some neck problems and am a bit picky. I asked Kate about it and she gave us the cervical pillows right off her own bed! They really made you feel at home. Sometimes it was nice to just go up to the main house and share a beer with them or other guests and chat. They do their best to make you feel like part of the family, and their super cute baby daughter only adds to the homey feel. The day we arrived they greeted us with an aqua de coco, a pre heated sauna, and then gave us a ride through town to show us how to get around The breakfasts were wonderful and fresh and featured many fruits and juices grown right on the property (Acai, Pineapple, Cupuacu) We had dinner a couple of times with them and Rai cooked us a beautiful Moqueca and a full Brazilian BBQ.

It is important to realize, if you choose to stay here, that this is not a party place, nor is it a luxury resort. The huts are very simple with outdoor showers, no marble sinks here. Also they don't take credit so make sure you have enough cash to pay your bill. It is very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Itacare. You are a 10 minute taxi ride from town and the road is pretty rough in spots. You could walk it in 30 but that is not an option at night. Many other guests chose to rent a car which you can get in town. We opted for taxis which were easy to arrange and cost between 20-30 reais each way depending on what you could negotiate. Although the road is pretty bad we soon realized as we explored the area that all the dirt roads in the area were of similar quality. It's just a fact of life in Itacare.

For us this was the perfect place for a romantic getaway and would definitely recommend it for people looking for that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having traveled a lot of Brazil, I can say Itacare is easily one of my favorite places. I spent about 10 days at Art Jungle and would highly recommend it! It's located just outside the town and offers amazing views of the Rio Contas as it runs into the river. While secluded and quiet, it's easy to get into Itacare and I was enjoying the town every night.

What really sets this place aside is the management. Kate has a ton of experience in South America and is incredibly personable, and genuinely wants to help make sure you get the most out of your stay. She helped me set up surfing, jiu jitsu (highly recommended) and Portuguese lessons. There's a lot more to offer including capoeira, yoga, massage, whale watching etc. Her husband, Raimundo is a local guide who can show you hidden beaches and wateralls. His English is good and he has a great ability to find and explain local flora and fauna.

Definitely recommend Art Jungle regardless even you are looking to relax by the pool or the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Art Jungle for three nights last month, and we absolutely loved it. You couldn't ask for a more relaxing, more unplugged, more get-away-from-it-all spot. The bungalow we stayed in, Spa, was totally gorgeous with an amazing view of the valley and the Rio Contas and the ocean beyond. We didn't stay in one, but the treehouses also looked extremely cool.

Everyone there was friendly and wonderful, especially the manager, Kate, and her husband, Raimundo. Raimundo is a local guide and took us on an incredible hike to a hidden beach, complete with waterfall along the way. Breakfasts were delicious, full of fresh papaya and açai and fresh-baked pastries, and the grounds are fun to just wander and listen to. It's slightly out of town, down a long dirt road, but it's totally easy to get to (30 minute walk, 10 minutes by moto-taxi) and, in my opinion, preferable to staying in town, even a town as lovely as Itacaré. I really hope to go back someday.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank j e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just spent 3 amazing and relaxing weeks at Art Jungle Eco Lodge last september. We enjoyed every single day there. First of all, the place is amazing, in the jungle with an incredible view on the river and the sea. Kate (the manager), her husband and their little girl Keanna are very nice and make you feel home there. They prepare very nice and healthy breakfast and dinners. They inform you or organise any activity you are interested in (surf lessons, stand up paddle, whales watching, yoga & capoeira classes, massages and more)... Our 2 young kids have been more than welcome there, baby-sitting is also possible... We will definitely go back there, it was one of our best holiday ever. We highly recommend you to visit the place and stay as long as you can in this outstanding place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godzilla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Itacare hotels
1.6 mi away
Ecoporan Hotel Charme Spa & Eventos
1.6 mi away
Terra Boa Hotel Boutique
1.7 mi away
Aldeia do Mar Hotel
Aldeia do Mar Hotel
#5 of 99 in Itacare
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vila Barracuda Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Pousada Tanara
Pousada Tanara
#13 of 99 in Itacare
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terra Nossa Resort
Terra Nossa Resort
#57 of 99 in Itacare
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Jungle Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Jungle Eco Lodge

Address: Rod Iheus-Itacare Km 63 | Alto da Boa Vista, Itacare, State of Bahia 45530-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Itacare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Itacare
Price Range: $87 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Jungle is a hidden oasis on top of a hill, just 5 minutes from the center of Itacare. It is the perfect place to relax body and soul and enjoy true nature, priviledged sunsets and starry nights. Amidst tropical plants and flowers and a sculpture garden, with breathtaking views of the ocean, beaches and river « Rio de Contas ». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Art Jungle Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Jungle Eco Lodge Itacare, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing