We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel not on the beach, beach not swimmable but still quite nice”
Review of Evason Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Evason Hua Hin
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Pranburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

this evason property is huge and is very lush. it is sadly not on the beach, a somewhat busy road separate it from the beach. having said that the beach itself is ugly and swimming is not recommended anyway. so most people lie around the pools.
even with those disadvantages, the hotel itself is still very nice. i love the lush garden and the feeling of being in a place far away from it all. the room is very rustic and very aged. renovation is much needed and yet it is still charming. bed is comfortable and i quite like the buffet breakfast. the happy hour is also very nice and guaranteed to get u drunk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear banjapat

Thank you for your review.
Delighted that overall you enjoyed the stay and look forward to seeing you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is lovely hotel with gorgeous rooms in a beautiful setting, but there's no beach. While the hotel is on the water, there is a somewhat busy road separating the hotel grounds from the water, and then all there is is an awful concrete breakwater and no beach to speak of. There is a public beach up the road, but it's exposed, windswept, and not very conducive to sunbathing or lounging.

We felt a bit deceived as we wanted a weekend at the beach, and didn't get any beach time in at all.

But the food is great, the location lovely, and so it was hardly a loss.

Breakfasts were amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChaudhryFancypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear ChaudryFancypants

Thank you for your review and sorry that you did not find a beach, although it has been fairly well documented on this forum.
But hey! - who needs a beach now that our pool has re-opened with the fabulous NZ pine decking where you can just lie back and watch local life go by along the coastal road between the two fishing villages while gazing out over the Gulf of Thailand.
Despite the beach and the road - delighted that you enjoyed the resort and your kind comments are much appreciated.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

There is not lot to say than amazing. I loved it and even thought I do not like to go to same place twice I know I will go back.
My sister and I book to stay in hotel in September. They were doing refurbishment work on their main swimming pool and we were upgraded to pool villa.
The villa was absolutely superb. Someone could say that the pool may need lick of paint and that it is rustic but I didn't mind any of that. The service was great from housekeeping to reception staff. There are lots of choices of food for breakfast so you won't go hungry.
We had a spa treatment and it was again great. I just cannot find any mistakes. Even thought the main pool was closed there was shuttle bike to other hotel which was well organised.
We had only B&B so we went out for dinners. Our absolute favourite was second restaurant on your right hand side when you get out of hotel on sea side. It was owned by lovely gentleman who couldn't do enough to pleased his customers. His food was stunning.
I wasn't too keen on Thai food but Thai food here and Thai food in Thailand is incomparable and I love it now.

Room Tip: villa 213 had amazing location, right next to spa, near reception. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Jana V

Thank you for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your pool villa and the general resort surrounds. There is a charm and simplicity about the area which is quite engaging.
The pool has now re-opened and we'll be waiting for your return.
Don't leave it too long before you are back!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my second visit at Evason Hua Hin and we had again very good time. If I could, I would give this place 6*. This hotel is very good value for money and the staff are very helpful and always smiling.

We stayed in pool villa 213 and it was everything we could wish for. Yes, the villas have rustic feel but it fits perfectly with the location and all the palm trees and ponds around.

Breakfast is tasty with large selection of Asian foods, ham, cheese and pastries.

Do not forget to have at least one spa treatment. We had their signature massage which was very relaxing.

We used the hotel shuttle to Hua Hin as for two persons it was the same cost as taxi and as we wanted to stay there all day, we knew that it will pick us up on time on the return journey. It is nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of Hua Hin back to relaxing environment.

We were very lucky with the weather as September is suppose to be rainy season but in 6 days we had rain only twice in the evenings.

This definitely was not my last stay at Evason.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Zabka
Many thanks for your very kind and lovely review.
Careful with the 6* rating though - but I and others who have stayed with us will get your point as there are so many intangibles about the resort, the setting and surrounds that contribute to the all round experience. But good value for money, helpful and smiling staff, the sumptuous breakfast buffet, the quality of the spa and treatments, along with the accessibility of Hua Hin without being in Hua Hin and being able to return to the peace and tranquility of Evason (as you have all kindly listed) contribute to the enjoyment of the experience.
Thank you again and we will look forward to your return.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a chance to booked their service recently and we were so lucky that they've upgrade us to room with its own swimming pool (cant recalled what type of this room is called). At first we were planed to join one of Hua Hin music festival but when we first enter to their zone we've then change our our mind to just be staying at the room only.

The service is perfect, the atmosphere is very natural, the room is very beautiful, clean and tidy, with designed of modern-mixed with raw style. I love the way they put the bath room externally out of the room where you can shower on the sun light. The beach is perfectly private and away from the people.

Recommended this resort with worth value to the price you'd paid for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jira_Prinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Phunnachit_Yoos...

Wow!
Thank you for kind comments and we really appreciate your review.
The room type that you stayed in was an Evason Pool Villa.
We have made a note so don't leave it too long before you return.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our recent 4 days at Evason Pranburi gave us so much pleasure in some ways but was disappointing in others...first the good things: 1. Staff were all great. 2. Breakfasts are outstanding - great service, great international variety and fresh products. 3. Happy hour 2 for 1 drinks in the evening are a real draw card and staff were lovely.
Now the not so good: We stayed in a pool villa which on the website looked stunning. In theory the villa has all you'd ever want especially as a couple...complete privacy and your own outdoor pool(s). However the villa just looked 'tired' and was a disappointment. 1. The grounds of the villa were poorly kept with weeds and untrimmed plants. The end of the outdoor seat was so rotten that if you leaned on it, you would have fallen into the jacuzzi!. Parts of the surrounding fence were missing or falling down and the pool surrounds needed painting. Some might say this is a rustic look but actually, there is an important difference between rustic and poor maintenance as was evident inside the villa.
2. Inside the villa, refrigerator door did not shut properly. 3. Air con was very noisy, 3. Door to villa had dropped on its hinges. 4.In the toilet area it was obvious that cleaning of walls/floor hadn't been done for a long time.
Bed was comfortable and, yes, it's great to come in from a hot walk and relax in your own pool but we could see how really lovely these villas could be and should be for the price. You can do better for the cost and have a decent beach nearby too.
Prices at the property's restaurants were the usual over the top and so we, like so many, dined at the local eateries for great, reasonably priced authentic food e.g. 'Sing's' and the 'Very Good'. - good company, good fun and tasty eats....so why would you eat at The Evason?
The property runs a shuttle into Hua Hin but it costs individually and for the same price or less, you can get a taxi for 2. We filled in a detailed response form but have not heard back since we stayed in July. Hopefully some serious maintenance has been done on the villas so that they resemble their photos on the website!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear McKanne

Thank you for your review and firstly let me apologise for not responding to your detailed questionnaire. We do try to make a point of responding to all questionnaires as we do to our guests who post reviews on this site.
Also I am sorry about the condition of the room that you were allocated for your stay - no excuses for this, but we should have changed your villa for you. As it happens the villa in which you stayed is the one that we are re-modelling as the "mock up" room in preparation for the programme of improvements that are taking place at the resort.
We were happy to see that our "famed" breakfast buffet once again managed to impress and would suggest that you have answered your own question as to "why would one eat the Evason"? As you have stated, "Breakfasts are outstanding - great service, great international variety and fresh products" - this experience can be continued throughout the day as well. To suggest that our prices are over the top when comparing us to Singh's and Very Good eateries is slightly misleading and not really a fair comparison. While we are happy that our guests support the local community, which additionally lends to the authenticity of the experience - the business models are completely different. These restaurants will not be licenced or registered, hence will not be bound by the standards of hygiene, business taxes or minimum wages that are applied to our business while at the same time as small family businesses will not have the overheads associated with running 185 rooms on a 20 acre site. I think if you compare the prices in the resort, where you can enjoy dishes at the Noodle Bar for as little as Thai Baht 100 or the Beach Restaurant, all day dining at the Bar or Kieng Sah, our Thai Restaurant - the variety and pricing should have something to suit most palates and pockets while comparing more than favourably with other similar establishments.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had dinner here one evening, and afternoon tea and coffee another day, the food was very good, but a little pricey, as you would expect in a resort. Great value for money is the cocktail happy hour, between 5 an 6pm or 6.30pm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank petrovski008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear petrovski008

Thank you for your review and your appreciation of the food and the bar at the resort.
We have tried to ensure that we offer good quality and value in each of dining experiences - so hopefully from the Noodle Bar to the Beach Restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine. Kieng Sah out Thai Restaurant or all day dining at the Bar, there will be something to suit everyone.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pranburi
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Pranburi Villas
0.2 mi away
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
#4 of 7 in Pak Nam Pran
133 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#127 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,351 reviews
13.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#4 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,327 reviews
9 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evason Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evason Hua Hin

Address: 9, Moo 5 | Parknampran Beach, Pranburi 77220, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Pranburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pranburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Pranburi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pranburi
Price Range: $88 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Evason Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evason Hua Hin is approximately 230 kilometres or 140 miles south of Bangkok. An excellent highway provides for a three-hour drive. King Rama VII built a palace there in 1926 and it remains the Thai Royal family Summer Palace to this day. Evason Hua Hin is located in the quiet area of Pranburi, south of Hua Hin Township. Set amongst 8 hectares or 20 acres of gardens, facing the Gulf of Siam, it offers 196 guest accommodations in a garden setting, including 40 private pool villas each measuring 110 square metres. Evason Studios feature an oversized terrace complete with a daybed. Guestrooms offer eco-friendly designs adhering to a renowned responsibility to the environment and the Evason philosophy of Redefining Experiences. Dining options include The Restaurant serving a daily International breakfast buffet, while Kieng Sah restaurant features authentic Thai cuisine. Coast is opened for dinner and serves Mediterranean cuisine with a strong Italian influence. The Bar is located adjacent to the main pool and offers an all day drinks and dining option serving a comprehensive range of wines and cocktails along with traditional international and Asian favourites. Six Senses Spa offers a truly relaxing and revitalizing experience with therapeutic and pampering treatments to balance the senses. Just Kids! Has its own swimming pool and keeps children entertained all day, and at night offers evening sleepovers with professional supervision.Free wifi is available in all guests rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Evason Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evason Hua Hin Hotel Pran Buri
Evason Hua Hin Thailand/Pranburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing