We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic gone overboard”
Review of Evason Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evason Hua Hin
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Pranburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I arrived a day early, but they managed to find me a spot in spite of the place being quite full due to a local holiday. It must have been some kind of emergency room, as I hope they don't rent rooms like this out regularly. The smell of mold was overwhelming, and there were actual fungi on the woodworks. Really, who constructs a shower with apparent untreated wood panels? The dense foliage close to my balcony invited a lot of bugs. I appreciate the "rustic" angle, but this reminded me of the $5 bungalows at Koh Pangan in the mid '90s.
The next day my pool villa was ready, and everything was bliss. Almost.

I visited Evason Hua Hin last year, and it would've been nice to have been recognized. A couple of staffers did, but nothing "official".
Internet/wifi is a short complimentary connection from your room, after that it's 50 tbh/hr. Bar has free internet. Also, there is no longer wifi in the breakfast restaurant, as opposed to 2012.
Last summer activities such as tai chi were free. This year they are not.

While I still enjoyed visiting Evason Hua Hin, in 2013 I expect free resort-wide wifi, and since the resort is in such a remote location, small activities such as yoga or tai chi should've been complimentary. I'm not cheap, I just don't like being charged for everything when there is nothing to do in reasonable vicinity.
I really appreciate a small but important change from last year; one can now indicate which time frame one prefers housekeeping to visit. Breakfast and staff was outstanding again. :)

Room Tip: I can't recommend anything but a pool villa.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Espen806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Castrella
Many thanks for your review and for returning to us once again.
My apologies for the condition of the room on your first night and glad that we were able to sort out the pool villa thereafter. As previously detailed, rooms will be refurbished and upgraded over the coming months and the intention is to maintain the rustic feel "without going overboard"!
Also noted your comments in regards to charges for Wi-Fi - only recently installed. There are a range of packages available other than hourly rates. Charging for this is always a contentious point, but one generally finds that in some form or other there is generally a charge for this whether it is "wrapped up" in a higher room rate or restricted bandwidth with a charge for higher speed.
Thank you for the candid feedback and look forward to welcoming you back so that you can check on future developments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,771)
There are newer reviews for Evason Hua Hin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Evason Hua Hin and stayed in a Pool Villa. We live and work in Bangkok and have recently got married so wanted a couple of nights away before restarting at work. Friends had recommended the place as a great place to get away as a couple and I can see why.

The room was lovely. It was extremely private and we were not overlooked by anyone. There was a small pool, a couple of sun loungers and a little sala if you need a bit of shade. The shower and bath were outside as well which was fun. The shower area was nice and big and the bath was magnificent - double sized stone tub sunk into this little lily pond - not sure I could imagine a more romantic place for a bath! The cleanliness was excellent and the room was well-kept. We were a little disappointed as our friends had mentioned a steam room in their room as well but maybe they had stayed in a different type of room. It was definitely not anything to worry about and I really could not find a complaint with the room.

The breakfast buffet is very good with a wide range of food and drinks. On the saturday the hotel was a bit busier as it was the start of a long weekend but the staff had catered for this by adding in extra stations for the breakfast.

We ate at a couple of the restaurants. The one by the pool was pretty good; we had a nice dinner there and grabbed a burger for lunch on one of the days. We ate at the Thai restaurant which we were a bit disappointed with. The setting is beautiful and the food was excellent. We've lived in Thailand for 3 years and have quite high standards for Thai food. We were not disappointed. The service was very poor here though. We were made to feel extremely unwelcome. We didn't arrive that late (it was probably 9pm but they advertise that they are open until 10:30 and it was a friday night so you'd expect people to be out a bit later than in the week) but were made to feel that we had ruined the staffs' nights by turning up. We were seated and then left without menus, drinks or any attention for about 15 minutes. I had to find some from the waiter's station so that we could make a decision about food. Unfortunately the service did not improve, which is pretty bad when your bill comes with a service charge included.

It is such a shame as all the other staff we dealt with were so pleasant, accommodating and thoughtful. Overall it was a great stay and a lovely place but our experience was marred a little bit by our meal on the second night.

I will still recommend this to people but will tell them to steer clear of Thai cuisine for their stay.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, don't go for anything less than a pool villa. It really is worth spending...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Adam B

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and staying with us.
Delighted to learn that in the main you enjoyed your visit although I do apologise for the poor experience in Kieng Sah, our Thai Restaurant. As you have pointed out it is indeed a shame that the team let the side down and I will most certainly take this up with them.
Do let me know when you are returning as we need to make up for that poor experience:
alan@evasonresorts.com

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is day 4 of our long stay at Evason. We can't speak highly enough of the resort & STAFF. We are in an Evason pool villa 221,which is our own little paradise. The breakfasts are amazing, a dieters nightmare ha ha. We will do a longer and informative post again at the end of our stay.Now back to the exercising in the pool :-)

Room Tip: Pool Villa 221
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Marie P

Thank you for posting your review.
Delighted that you are enjoying your stay and do let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

stayed at the Evason HuaHin in may and really enjoyed it! the hotel is located about 30 min from HuaHin but we found that where it was located was great as nice and quiet and it was great for relaxing. The hotel reception could organise transfers to and from huahin if this was required. We hired a driver to take us in to HuaHin so we could go to Hutsadin elephant foundation and the driver was lovely, very knowledgeable telling us all about the local area. The room type we had was an evason pool villa which was fantastic as great to go for a swim to cool off at times that suit us and enjoy the quietness!! The staff at the hotel were fantastic always very friendly and service was great especially from the young girl and the boy "pool"(not sure how it is spelt!) that worked in the bar beside the swimming pool. As previous comments have suggested there is no actual beach in front of the hotel but this didnt cause any issue for us as we prefer to be around the pool. There is however a lovely sandy beach 5 min in a car up the road where you can take part in watersports or just take a dip in the sea (we hired a motorbike to go there but again if you dont feel confident to drive the hotel can arrange a private transfer- we hired car and driver for 3 hours and think it was about £6!!!) Myself and my partner both work for a long haul tour operator and are lucky enough to travel and experience high end hotels all over the world and we both highly recommend the evason to collegues and customers :) will definately return!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren_glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Lauren_glasgow

Many thanks for posting your review and delighted that, coming from within the industry, the resort, the location and our lovely staff were able to create such a favourable impression.

We're already looking forward to your return!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Having spent 3 days in Bangkok it was time to head to the Evason for our second leg of our honeymoon. On arriving we were greeted with friendly smiles and immediately we felt that everything will be taken care of and all we had to do is relax. We were upgraded to a sea view pool villa with chocolates and sparkling wine.

The villa itself was perfect, clean, and right next to the pool overlooking the sea.

The villa was cleaned everyday, with fresh towels and bed linen if you wanted them refreshed.

The breakfast is amazing with an abundance of food to cater for everyone.

We used room service a lot, the food was great and the staff are very attentive when delivering your food.

We most certainly did enjoy our time here and have 2 more days remaining before we move on to Koh Samui.

Having been to Thailand 9 times I was slightly disappointed to the fact that this is the first hotel who has charged its guests to use the Internet. £31.25 each for a week costing us £62.50 for the pair of us . Now that is expensive and in today's society people rely on the Internet so paying these prices is not an option if you require it :-(

The area itself is quiet with a couple of good local restaurants supplying good local Thai cuisine.

Overall a good experience, relaxing, peaceful and worth a visit :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyc25010795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Andyc25010795

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and really pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us.
I note your comments in regards to Wi-fi and charges. Although we charge for unrestricted access, it is provided on a complimentary basis at a couple of locations at the resort, i.e. The Bar and Recreation Desk (just aside to Reception).
Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in Thailand and we'll look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

With very best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Amazing place, awesome time we had over there. Love it!! Perfect for family and for couples. Good deal too. Staff very helpful. Wont be disappointed for sure. Pool villas just so private n romantic. Too good!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear PatrickS07

Thank you for your review and recommendation.
Do come back and see us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our party of 3 stayed here 14-28th July inc.

Having overcome some problems with our original booking when the placement of the villas we had booked was not made clear until a week before our arrival, my daughter was upgraded to a Pool Villa just opposite our Pool Villa Suite. Perfect!

We arrived very late in the evening, but we were met with a smile and the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble. A great start.

Breakfast was amazing, and the staff again very helpful.

Our villas were well equipped, cleaned twice daily and the pools also cleaned every day, towels and bedding changed on request in line with the resorts green credentials.

The room service staff were also excellent and by the end of our break the staff were almost able to predict our order!

Our butler, Kai, has already been mentioned in other reviews - she was excellent and coped admirably with all sorts of strange requests.

We had an number of visits to the Spa which were excellent and although expensive I would recommend a visit for the experience alone.

I was very sorry to learn that the Hideaway part of the Evason has been sold to a large American chain, I sincerely hope that this will not change the unique appeal of the resort although I fear it will.

Many thanks to the Hideaway staff for all their fantastic service during our stay - it was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: We had Pool Villa Suite 45 - excellent. Pool Villa 43 also very beautiful (more direct sunlight for...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan Thomas ., Managing Director at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Jane H

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and very pleased to see that you all enjoyed the visit.
Khun Kai, your butler, joins me in thanking you for singling her out for her excellent service.
As you have pointed out the Hideaway Pool Villas will shortly be re-branded and under a different management agreement, so not really able to comment on the proposed end product.
Their guests will of course be welcome at the neighbouring Evason facilities!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pranburi
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Pranburi Villas
13.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
#4 of 7 in Pak Nam Pran
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 141 in Hua Hin
2,134 reviews
10.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#10 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,274 reviews
9.0 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evason Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evason Hua Hin

Address: 9 Moo 5, Parknampran Beach, Pranburi 77220, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Pranburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pranburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Pranburi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pranburi
Price Range: $73 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Evason Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evason Hua Hin is approximately 230 kilometres or 140 miles south of Bangkok. An excellent highway provides for a three-hour drive. King Rama VII built a palace there in 1926 and it remains the Thai Royal family Summer Palace to this day. Evason Hua Hin is located in the quiet area of Pranburi, south of Hua Hin Township. Set amongst 8 hectares or 20 acres of gardens, facing the Gulf of Siam, it offers 196 guest accommodations in a garden setting, including 40 private pool villas each measuring 110 square metres. Evason Studios feature an oversized terrace complete with a daybed. Guestrooms offer eco-friendly designs adhering to a renowned responsibility to the environment and the Evason philosophy of Redefining Experiences. Dining options include The Restaurant serving a daily International breakfast buffet, while Kieng Sah restaurant features authentic Thai cuisine. Coast is opened for dinner and serves Mediterranean cuisine with a strong Italian influence. The Bar is located adjacent to the main pool and offers an all day drinks and dining option serving a comprehensive range of wines and cocktails along with traditional international and Asian favourites. Six Senses Spa offers a truly relaxing and revitalizing experience with therapeutic and pampering treatments to balance the senses. Just Kids! Has its own swimming pool and keeps children entertained all day, and at night offers evening sleepovers with professional supervision.Free wifi is available in all guests rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Evason Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evason Hua Hin Hotel Pran Buri
Evason Hua Hin Thailand/Pranburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing