We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it !”
Review of Evason Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evason Hua Hin
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Pranburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our "second honeymoon, eight years after the first one. This time we choose a private villa with pool, and it was far above our expectations. Fantastic room, and the service and private butler was just perfect. It ws certainly for the two of us, private garden, pool, sunbeds and absolutely in privacy. Very clean everywere, and good restaurants and bar, although slighty overpriced, but on the other hand fair, because the concept is with respect to environment, pollution and biology. Our personal butler was perfect.
Tips: going south for at few hundred meters, there is a reliable tailor, to sew anything, you might wish, and a few restaurants, that are very low priced.
A perfect stay for a honeymoon, or a couple, or just enjoying an extreordinary good service. The spa and massage facilities are just fantastic (my wife says!).
You could say, that there is no really beach, but wonderful pool area, and lot of activities also for children (we did'nt try that).
Only drawback is the quite long travel from airport to hotel, but on the other had, see it as an excurtion..
PS: also very handicap friendly, you can get around steps, and the staff is very kind to assist you!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a big terrase or a private villa, it's really worth it. villas with sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear TheisB,

Thank you very much for your comments and staying with us, I'm glad to read that you had a great stay with us. I will pass your comments to the entire team and they will be very happy to hear from you and receive your comments.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.

With regards,


Jamie Crisp
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancée "to be" and I stayed 4 days at the Evason Hua Hin.
I contacted different department managers as I wanted to prepare a "surprise" proposal to her. They were all very helpful and attentive to my needs. all thorough our stay we were greated with our names and any requested were fulfilled immediatly. We had the Mezzanine (at the restaurant 2nd floor) prepared for the dinner as well as a dedicated chef and buttler for the Private BBQ.

Pros: -very good service -peaceful and natural environment -bio garden -sports area -breakfast
Cons: -be aware of nails at the pool deck (due to be replaced soon) -the road between the resort and the beach (few cars passing though)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank To Be B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

To Be B,

Many thanks for your comments and I'm really happy that I got the chance to meet you and congratulate you both in person. The setting looked lovely and you have some great pictures.

Congratulations once again and should you need a venue for the Thai ceremony or party.... you know who to call!!

Warm regards,

Jamie Crisp
Director of Sales

PS - yes pool deck will be replaced soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location:
This hotel is 30 to 40 minutes taxi ride south of Hua Hin town. There's not much of a beach as most of the day the waves lap nearly all the way up to the small road separating the resort from the "beach".

Room:
We stayed in an Evason room, the room and bathroom felt smaller than other 5 star resort's base room. The bathroom has started to show its age. My husband was disappointed with the tiny CRT TV. The balcony was spacious with a decent sized table for drinks, newspapers, laptop etc. The room was fine and all the amenities were there but it definitely didn't feel quite 5 star but more like 4.

Service:
The resort was fully booked during the long weekend we stayed but you wouldn't know it from the level of service. All the staff are polite, warm but unobtrusive.

Food:
Breakfast selection is typical/expected of a 5 star. There's lots of staff around and prompt service, quite a few chefs check on food at the buffet regularly and one management gentleman was very visible and hands on (we saw him at breakfast and dinner everyday). The restaurants and bar price are very reasonable for the fresh quality of food provided by a resort. Prices are similar to those at a midrange Bangkok hotel.

Facilities:
There's lots of facilities including tennis courts , a mini archery range, kids club but we only used the pool. The deep adult pool is small for a 5 star but the pool area has a lot of pools of various depths for children of all ages making the whole pool area OK. There's no beach so everyone use the lounges by the pool and most are gone by 10:30am. The resort is very large with lots of lotus ponds and garden areas.

What's nearby:
Not much in the immediate vicinity. You can walk/bike along the small road between the resort and sea to local places nearby. These places are restaurants, bars that sell beer and cocktails, massage huts, bike/motorbike/ATV hire shacks and taxis. The coastline is prettiest in front of the hotel because the hotel maintains it well.

We would return for a short stay again to relax and do nothing.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are less private, people walking by can easily see inside the room even though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear BM L,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay and I am happy that you enjoyed your trip.

You have highlighted on two areas that are due for an upgrade this year - Televisions and bathrooms. All of our Evason Pool Villas and Sea View Studios will have new televisions at the end of March and the balance at the end of September. The bathrooms will also undergo a refurbishment at the end of September also. We will also have wifi at the end of next month throughout the resort so this should make surfing on the balcony more pleasurable!

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Jamie Crisp
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. Everything is done so that not to bother your inner peace and quiet, even lights in the night are dimmed and you can hear birds singing, different kinds of butterflies flying around and so on - it is located in the national park. Of course, breakfast is amazing here, probably the best in my lifetime. Nothing is happening inside the hotel, neither outside of it. Some restaurants around offer very delicious food, however even those restaurants are deserted of people. The village of Pranburi 5 minutes away by bicycle features a fishing village, which will take you maximum 2 hours of exploring.
Absence of sea shore is a disadvantage - you basically lie around the pool next to the mainroad, which is not very busy though. Hua hin - the closest city with a great nightmarket is worth visiting and is located in 40 minutes drive.

I was quiet dissapointed frankfully, since there are not many exciting places to visit around Pranburi. We rented a car just outside the hotel and afterwards discovered that we overpaid for all the transfers. Still, it was cheaper that the excursions offered from the hotel. We have also taken a 3h ride with bicycle along the shore and have not seen anything worth seing - just a sea shore with larger and smaller hotels around and no nice beaches. Do rent your bicycle just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IneseJurevica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear IneseJurevica,

Thank you for your comments and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed what the resort had to offer. I am a little surprised about your comments about lack of things to do in Pranburi/Hua Hin. Did you speak to the excursion staff for their recommendations on places to go in your car? We have waterfalls nearby which are great for picnics, Sam Roi Yod national park, an elephant sanctuary with close to 100 elephants roaming freely, vineyards, water park, floating markets, night market, palaces, temples, Pleun Wan (old style shopping area), fishing villages.

Overall though, I'm at least glad you enjoyed what the hotel itself had to offer.

With regards,

Jamie Crisp
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second visit and you can tell it has changed owners. This was a 5 star hotel now I would give it 3.5 the only thing that is still well maintained are the gardens. Our room displayed a certain shabbiness and a smell of damp but the young lady who came to clean it was very good and lovely. The breakfast was as good but the staffing level was minimal and service suffered because of this. Checkout was appalling we had to take our luggage to the path then I made my way over to reception to check out and had to ask for assistance to take our luggage to the taxi point. This would never of happened before. As I said at the beginning this is no longer 5 star but still charging 5 star prices very disappointing. We still had a lovely holiday.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Arrangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Arrangirl,

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay as much this time around. you are correct that the ownership of the property has changed however all of the staff and management remain the same with exactly the same ethos and attitude towards guest service. Our new owners are spending 20 million Thai baht on upgrades and renovations this year starting with new televisions, gym equipment, more golf buggies, wifi, laundry just to name a few as well as a scheduled room upgrade later in the year. Hopefully you will come again and we can impress you the next time.

Warm regards,

Jamie Crisp
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Accommodation - We opted for a Pool Villa, the outside space is excellent and our villa had full sun until about 3pm and the pool was great. The bedroom area was very comfortable.
The only issue is that due to the space you get outside you have less 'living space' inside in comparison to some other hotels, but this is the trade you are making as other hotels don't have the outside space/pool for this money. The often quoted 'Old TV' set complaint did not make a difference to us but I would have expected a better selection of channels.

Resort - Grounds are very well kept and all restaurants were excellent, with very friendly staff (Yes the breakfast is as brilliant as per the many reviews) and in an amazing setting. Perhaps they would benefit from a few games rooms interspersed within the grounds.

Restaurants - Overall very good although I really do not understand why (Unless it is a noise issue) the living room is not open for dinner - this would give the extra variety for a two week stay when you do not want to go to Hua Hin itself - I would agree with other comments regarding the standard of service at the bar - nowhere near as good as the restaurants.

Hua Hin - We only went one night and preferred to relax in the resort and did not find Hua Hin as nice as areas of Samui. The only complaint I would have is that when we stayed in Samui (Tongsai Bay) we had a private car take us wherever we were going and at approx. same price as the service offered here - they also picked you up at a time specified by you.

Spa - Excellent, we had a few treatments and found it very relaxing.

Outside the resort - As with many resorts there was very little if anything you want to go to near the resort -this is not a beach resort and I think this made very clear by the resort and other contributors. It's a real shame that the other resorts further up the road are not closer as this would have provided a real 'resort' feel to the immediate surrounding area and offered visitors a far wider choice of restaurants.

Activities - Perhaps a broader range of more interesting excursions should be in place. The only one I was interested in entailed a 2 and half road trip (5hrs return) which was not appealing but perhaps unavoidable due to the location of the hotel.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, would I go back? We tend not to go back to the same place regardless so yes if we had a reason to, but there is so much of the world to see.

Room Tip: Pool Villa is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Dmmacd,

Thank you very much for your comments and I have passed them all on to the team throughout the resort. Service in The Bar - this is currently being addressed. The Living Room - this is currently being explored to bring in a different dining concept for dinner. We already have the Italian, Thai and International at The Bar so we are thinking what would work well should we open this for dinner. The Bar also has Chess, draughts and backgammon tables as well as some board games. Petanque, volleyball, archery, tennis are also available in the gardens.

Hope one day you may choose to return!

With regards,

Jamie Crisp
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you go there get a pool villa! We found (my wife and I) this place to be ideal for a relaxing break after a fairly hectic trip. The location is sublime, right next to the beach ( NO WAVES FORGET ABOUT SURFING). The included breakfast was the best I have seen anywhere. It's not cheap but this sort of quality property seldom is.

Room Tip: if you go there get a pool villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamester, Director of Sales at Evason Hua Hin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear PeteS333,

Many thanks for your feedback and glad you had a good time with us. Generally we are not a good location for surfing but we do get enough wind for kite surfing and there are many kite surfing schools along the beach road.

Many thanks once again,

Regards,

Jamie Crisp
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pranburi
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Hua Hin Pranburi Villas
0.2 mi away
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
Pattawia Resort & Spa Hua Hin
#4 of 7 in Pak Nam Pran
133 reviews
13.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#3 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 144 in Hua Hin
1,329 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 144 in Hua Hin
2,238 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pran Havana Boutique Hotel
Pran Havana Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Pak Nam Pran
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evason Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evason Hua Hin

Address: 9, Moo 5 | Parknampran Beach, Pranburi 77220, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Pranburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pranburi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pranburi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pranburi
Price Range: $84 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Evason Hua Hin 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evason Hua Hin is approximately 230 kilometres or 140 miles south of Bangkok. An excellent highway provides for a three-hour drive. King Rama VII built a palace there in 1926 and it remains the Thai Royal family Summer Palace to this day. Evason Hua Hin is located in the quiet area of Pranburi, south of Hua Hin Township. Set amongst 8 hectares or 20 acres of gardens, facing the Gulf of Siam, it offers 196 guest accommodations in a garden setting, including 40 private pool villas each measuring 110 square metres. Evason Studios feature an oversized terrace complete with a daybed. Guestrooms offer eco-friendly designs adhering to a renowned responsibility to the environment and the Evason philosophy of Redefining Experiences. Dining options include The Restaurant serving a daily International breakfast buffet, while Kieng Sah restaurant features authentic Thai cuisine. Coast is opened for dinner and serves Mediterranean cuisine with a strong Italian influence. The Bar is located adjacent to the main pool and offers an all day drinks and dining option serving a comprehensive range of wines and cocktails along with traditional international and Asian favourites. Six Senses Spa offers a truly relaxing and revitalizing experience with therapeutic and pampering treatments to balance the senses. Just Kids! Has its own swimming pool and keeps children entertained all day, and at night offers evening sleepovers with professional supervision.Free wifi is available in all guests rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evason Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evason Hua Hin Hotel Pran Buri
Evason Hua Hin Thailand/Pranburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing