We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for transiting through Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good hotel for transiting through Bangkok”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were traveling to Krabi and needed a place to stay at between flights. We picked this hotel because most of the reviews on here describe the hotel as a convenient place for those transiting through Bangkok and I agree that this is a good deal for anyone looking for a quick overnight stay before catching an on going flight. It's very far from the city, so don't expect to be doing any sight seeing while you stay here. It has a very modern feel and the rooms are minimalist but very functional.

Pros -
* Close to the airport
* Decent breakfast buffet (emphasis on decent, don't expect croissants and a multitude of cheeses)

Cons -
* Hotel shuttle is not the most customer friendly. We waited for over 30 mins (at 1am) and kept being told that they would be here in the next 10 mins and then the lady holding the hotel placard just disappeared.
* Not child friendly. We were traveling with our 12 month old and they didn't have a crib for her even though our booking said we had an infant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dblR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    361
    149
    65
    36
See reviews for
101
366
139
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel has a very industrial feel, and it was hard to determine whether this was purposeful or just unfinished? We booked here looking forward to relaxing and using the pool. Unfortunately the pool was quite grimy and had some garbage floating on the top. Luckily, we got a cheap rate from Agoda, otherwise I would have been very disappointed if we'd paid full price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnurse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very convenient for an early morning flight. We got picked up from the airport and driven 10 mins to the hotel. I thought the lobby was unfinished- concrete floors throughout but this carries through to the rooms. I don't understand this, it looks so out of place in a nice hotel- it totally ruins the overall look. Reception staff were ok but couldn't give us change from a 1000 note when we tried to pay for our room?! They also make a photo copy of your credit/ debit card. Im totally against this and only allowed it because we are at the end of our trip and there's no money left on the card we handed over. They also put a sticker with your room number on your room card- obviously this is a stupid idea if your wallet gets stolen the thief knows exactly where to go for your belongings so we peeled it off which didn't go down well at all with the guy on reception when we checked out. The pool looks nice in the picture but is pretty murky in the flesh- we didn't go in. The rooms are really nice with an amazing bathroom. It's a really nice room to chill out before a travel day. Please venture out of the hotel for dinner, go right at the main road and 100m or so from there is a stall/ restaurant with a load of crispy pork hanging up- order the pork noodle soup for just 40 baht its the meatiest noodle soup we've had in 6 months travelling through Asia! All in all this hotel is pretty good for an overnight stay, I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n1c8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

LOCATION: A 10 minute drive by shuttle bus from the airport. Had to wait 15 minutes for shuttle to leave (which on reading other reviews seems fortunate). Shuttle returns to the airport around the clock, on the hour (service was spot on at 5am). Hotel is located on a quiet street, seemingly in the middle of nowhere (from a tourist's perspective).

FACILITIES: Deluxe double. Nice room for the price, with a decent standard of furnishings and separate bath and shower. Outside of the reception staff, I found that the standard of English was not great and it was difficult to successfully communicate. Room service is available until 2230, but having ordered they failed to deliver (later rectified on complaining). Free wifi worked well. The rooms didn't seem to have a switch to turn off the down lighting from the bed.

If you need a hotel close to the airport for an early morning flight, which is fairly convenient, well appointed and functional, then this is a good bet. If you expect nice surroundings, the ability to walk around outside the hotel, or a hotel bursting with life and personality, then this is probably not for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Immoraliste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottenburg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are looking for something out of the ordinary and unusual then this is the hotel for you!

The hotel is only about 10-mins ride away from Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi international airport but it is like you are in another world. To get there you can take the free shuttle bus (you'll need to hunt down the staff at the Level 2 Gate 4 meetings point) and hope your timing is good as the shuttle bus leaves only once an hour. The bus quickly leaves the sanitised setting of the airport and follows a route that gives a more natural feel for the country ending up at the end of a muddy lane surrounded by poor dwellings and waste land.

Do not let this put you off! The hotel is inexpensive, modern (less than a year old), clean and quite contemporary. Check-in is smooth and fast and the rooms are spacious and airy. The whole hotel has modern, polished concrete floors and white walls. It gives nice impression but the management would be advised to hang a few paintings/pictures to break down the monotony and make it more homely. The restaurant offers a nice mix of Asian and International cuisine, my green curry was simply divine and one of the best I have eaten. The staff are very willing and try their best, though need to work a bit on refinement. But that is the point perhaps, the whole experience is quirky and unusual but a whole lot of fun.

Definitely worth considering for a one stay before an early morning long-haul departure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Seriously find somewhere else !!
Booked myself in there for 2 nights through Agoda ( pics and info looked good) but was out of there first thing in morning to stay at the Pullman in Bangkok for not much more money..
Location is in middle of nowhere... final days in Thailand want to leave with nice memories and at least somewhere to walk around and relax, this place has none of that !!
Had to call the hotel from Chiang Mai to make sure had Shuttle bus was there as there were no replies to emails.
Advertised shuttle service to shopping malls every hour non existant, and the mall they take you too ( when they eventually find someone to drive bus) is maccas and Kfc with a couple of dodgy stalls around the place.
Room felt like a prison...no decor, tiny TV, very slippery polished concrete floors??
Was ripped off for laundry and a local telephone call ( trying to get outa place)..
Breakfast was a joke..burnt Pad Thai, half cooked omlette no bread for toast, the list goes on..
Resort, and i use that term very loosely, wasnt finished, scaffold up everywhere painting exterior, but place incredibly dangerous with untreated polished concrete for walkways..nearly ended up on floor number of times , like walking on ice when the concrete is wet..
Staff unfriendly, was actually charged for using shuttle bus at night to go to a bar...argument with manager in the morning and eventually got money back for paying for "free" shuttle service.
The list goes on !!
How on earth they have managed to keep their 4 stars from Trip Advisor i have no idea!
Seriously spend that little bit extra and go somewhere else !!

Room Tip: Best tip...Dont Go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirkd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vismaya S, Front Office Manager at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi, We hope you have enjoy your visit. As it brought to y attention taht with our Vismaya Suvarnabhumi cannot met your satisfaction for the period of your stayed. I'am concerned about he Hotel service experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I' am writing to thank you for thaking the time to bring this matter to my attention. Please kindly allow us to express our regretful for the inconvenience caused to you. However, We strongly looking forward to serve you for the next visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Racha Thewa hotels

hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

the room was pretty nice, true.

however, they never replied the emails i sent to them for requesting shuttle pick up from the airport. End up I took cab myself. when i finally got there and ask for the reasons why by showing them my email (printed). They didnt give me any explanation till the day i left (not even saying 'sorry').

the breakfast was terrible too. they juz put the butter, yogurt and milk on the table without any iceon the side. very terrible.

will never go bk again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamancherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vismaya S, Front Office Manager at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi, We hope you have enjoy your visit. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guest are taken seriously and how we can improve. You williness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. regarding your e-mail is not reply from our staff and shuttle bus service didn't pick up from airport it make inconvenience for your visit our hotel. We should have solved it our-selves in order to provides the best service to your expectation However, We definitely hoping you may understanding our difficulty situation accepted our sincerely apology. We strongly looking forward to serve you for the next visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Racha Thewa
0.5 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#319 of 863 in Bangkok
657 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
2.3 mi away
Miracle Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport
1.4 mi away
Grand Inn Come Hotel
Grand Inn Come Hotel
#3 of 5 in Racha Thewa
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Jade Suvarnabhumi
Golden Jade Suvarnabhumi
#287 of 863 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort

Property: Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Address: 98 Moo 15 Soi King Kaew 43, King Kaew Rd | Bangpli, Racha Thewa 10540, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Racha Thewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vismaya – the name derives from Sanskrit and conveys a sense of wonderment, even amazement. Indeed, guests are certain to experience the very same when visiting a hotel of such grace and tranquility a mere five minutes from Thailand’s Suvarnabhumi International Airport.The low-rise, resolutely modern setting encompasses 67 well-appointed and technologically advanced rooms comprising 63 Deluxe, three Executive Suites and one Signature Suite accommodation types. Guests likewise enjoy a courtyard with swimming pool and garden area; food and drink venues including poolside terrace dining for Thai and international dishes; as well as a lobby bar serving not only cocktails but also fine teas and coffees along with gourmet bakery.Located in a quiet side street off Kingkaew Road, the hotel lies outside the main flight path of Suvarnabhumi yet nonetheless allows the convenience of stepping from a plane to stylish accommodation in far less time than would be required if one were staying in central Bangkok. Further adding to such convenience, Vismaya operates its own airport shuttle service providing transport to and from the airport. Come to know the wonders of Vismaya, where traditional Thai hospitality enhances contemporary boutique accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort Thailand/Racha Thewa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing