We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, minimalist design hotel with good and bad points” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Ottenburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky, minimalist design hotel with good and bad points”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are looking for something out of the ordinary and unusual then this is the hotel for you!

The hotel is only about 10-mins ride away from Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi international airport but it is like you are in another world. To get there you can take the free shuttle bus (you'll need to hunt down the staff at the Level 2 Gate 4 meetings point) and hope your timing is good as the shuttle bus leaves only once an hour. The bus quickly leaves the sanitised setting of the airport and follows a route that gives a more natural feel for the country ending up at the end of a muddy lane surrounded by poor dwellings and waste land.

Do not let this put you off! The hotel is inexpensive, modern (less than a year old), clean and quite contemporary. Check-in is smooth and fast and the rooms are spacious and airy. The whole hotel has modern, polished concrete floors and white walls. It gives nice impression but the management would be advised to hang a few paintings/pictures to break down the monotony and make it more homely. The restaurant offers a nice mix of Asian and International cuisine, my green curry was simply divine and one of the best I have eaten. The staff are very willing and try their best, though need to work a bit on refinement. But that is the point perhaps, the whole experience is quirky and unusual but a whole lot of fun.

Definitely worth considering for a one stay before an early morning long-haul departure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    345
    138
    60
    31
See reviews for
91
344
131
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Seriously find somewhere else !!
Booked myself in there for 2 nights through Agoda ( pics and info looked good) but was out of there first thing in morning to stay at the Pullman in Bangkok for not much more money..
Location is in middle of nowhere... final days in Thailand want to leave with nice memories and at least somewhere to walk around and relax, this place has none of that !!
Had to call the hotel from Chiang Mai to make sure had Shuttle bus was there as there were no replies to emails.
Advertised shuttle service to shopping malls every hour non existant, and the mall they take you too ( when they eventually find someone to drive bus) is maccas and Kfc with a couple of dodgy stalls around the place.
Room felt like a prison...no decor, tiny TV, very slippery polished concrete floors??
Was ripped off for laundry and a local telephone call ( trying to get outa place)..
Breakfast was a joke..burnt Pad Thai, half cooked omlette no bread for toast, the list goes on..
Resort, and i use that term very loosely, wasnt finished, scaffold up everywhere painting exterior, but place incredibly dangerous with untreated polished concrete for walkways..nearly ended up on floor number of times , like walking on ice when the concrete is wet..
Staff unfriendly, was actually charged for using shuttle bus at night to go to a bar...argument with manager in the morning and eventually got money back for paying for "free" shuttle service.
The list goes on !!
How on earth they have managed to keep their 4 stars from Trip Advisor i have no idea!
Seriously spend that little bit extra and go somewhere else !!

Room Tip: Best tip...Dont Go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirkd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vismaya S, Front Office Manager at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi, We hope you have enjoy your visit. As it brought to y attention taht with our Vismaya Suvarnabhumi cannot met your satisfaction for the period of your stayed. I'am concerned about he Hotel service experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I' am writing to thank you for thaking the time to bring this matter to my attention. Please kindly allow us to express our regretful for the inconvenience caused to you. However, We strongly looking forward to serve you for the next visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Racha Thewa hotels

hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

the room was pretty nice, true.

however, they never replied the emails i sent to them for requesting shuttle pick up from the airport. End up I took cab myself. when i finally got there and ask for the reasons why by showing them my email (printed). They didnt give me any explanation till the day i left (not even saying 'sorry').

the breakfast was terrible too. they juz put the butter, yogurt and milk on the table without any iceon the side. very terrible.

will never go bk again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamancherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vismaya S, Front Office Manager at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Vismaya Suvarnabhumi, We hope you have enjoy your visit. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guest are taken seriously and how we can improve. You williness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. regarding your e-mail is not reply from our staff and shuttle bus service didn't pick up from airport it make inconvenience for your visit our hotel. We should have solved it our-selves in order to provides the best service to your expectation However, We definitely hoping you may understanding our difficulty situation accepted our sincerely apology. We strongly looking forward to serve you for the next visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I wondered where on earth the shuttle bus was going when it headed down a tiny lane with not much else around. Then suddenly there was this new hotel building in the middle of basically nothing but shanty-looking huts and vacant overgrown land. Not the kind of place you want to wander about in. The hotel has been built economically. The concrete floors and minimalistic decor is a deadset give away! There was just barely enough in the room to get by - bed, tv, fridge, windows, bathroom. No decor on the walls, nothing much really, almost felt like a jail cell. But it was all brand new, so that helped. The staff were less than friendly at check in and check out. I guess they only see people for one night so they can't be bothered building relationships. The shuttle is good and they do try hard to find you at the airport. We stood around for a while thinking they were not coming and then someone appeared with a clipboard asking if we were going to the Vismaya.
We really didn't eat anything except for breakfast as we arrived late at night. Breakfast was good - they give you a paper to fill in with what you would like cooked - e.g. bacon, eggs, sausages etc. At least its made fresh to order. The rest of the buffet was the basic fare, no problem with that. The price of the room was good - we paid $AUD78 for 2 adults and 1 child + breakfast + airport transfers. It is very good but the location is a concern!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeHeadline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
161 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I decided to give Vismaya a try after reading the reviews here and find the Novotel next to the airport a bit too expensive. The staffs are friendly and the hotel room is simply designed but good enough for an overnight stay. It is not a fancy five stars hotel but a good tourist hotel. The free wifi works reasonably well and the restaurant is simple but nice. I had a reasonable priced dinner here. However I find the airport shuttle service to be rather poor and the frequent is poor, and I have to wait for more than 30 minutes at the airport after finding their staffs. The return airport shuttle only occurs once every hour, which is not acceptable for airport hotels. There are also nothing much outside the hotel and you are pretty much stuck here and only good if you are here for a quick overnight. I have a few more stays here and will report back if anything has changed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

New hotel, very clean with great room.
Bath and shower were amazing .. .
There was slight problem with water pressure.

Nice restaurant and lobby.
Located in industrial area so nothing to do outside the hotel.
Free shuttle from/to airport.
They got a nice swimming pool also.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyaledri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after reading trip advisor reviews. It was perfect for an overnight stay as we were heading off again early in the morning. The transport we arranged was waiting at the "meeting point" and the check in was smooth. The room was clean and most importantly quiet despite the proximity to the airport.
Breakfast was good in the morning and the shuttle that leaves on the hour took us with no problems back to the airport.
I would recommend this accommodation and would likely stay here again if I was in the same situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Racha Thewa
0.5 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#310 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
2.3 mi away
Miracle Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport
2.8 mi away
Mariya Boutique Residence at Suvarnabhumi Airport
1.7 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#289 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort

Property: Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Address: 98 Moo 15 Soi King Kaew 43, King Kaew Rd | Bangpli, Racha Thewa 10540, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Racha Thewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vismaya – the name derives from Sanskrit and conveys a sense of wonderment, even amazement. Indeed, guests are certain to experience the very same when visiting a hotel of such grace and tranquility a mere five minutes from Thailand’s Suvarnabhumi International Airport.The low-rise, resolutely modern setting encompasses 67 well-appointed and technologically advanced rooms comprising 63 Deluxe, three Executive Suites and one Signature Suite accommodation types. Guests likewise enjoy a courtyard with swimming pool and garden area; food and drink venues including poolside terrace dining for Thai and international dishes; as well as a lobby bar serving not only cocktails but also fine teas and coffees along with gourmet bakery.Located in a quiet side street off Kingkaew Road, the hotel lies outside the main flight path of Suvarnabhumi yet nonetheless allows the convenience of stepping from a plane to stylish accommodation in far less time than would be required if one were staying in central Bangkok. Further adding to such convenience, Vismaya operates its own airport shuttle service providing transport to and from the airport. Come to know the wonders of Vismaya, where traditional Thai hospitality enhances contemporary boutique accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort Thailand/Racha Thewa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing