We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plai Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had a 10am flight from Bangkok Airport so needed to be in the vicinity of the airport the night before in order to relax without the fear of a long drive the next day.
I booked the hotel on Booking.Com and paid 590 baht for a double room, albeit I was a single traveller. I was told to meet the rep at Level 2 at BKK Airport who I did find after 15 minutes, he just wasn't obvious in terms of holding up a sign etc.

Within 15 minutes I was on the free shuttle to Plai Garden from Suvarnbhumi - it was 5pm on a Wednesday and the journey took about 8 minutes.

Check in was easy and the free wifi etc and opening hours of the cafe were explained politely. I was allocated a room on the top floor - floor 6. However the air con had no battery in the remote and I got a very patchy signal on wifi there (I did not unpack). The view from the balcony was over scrubland and what appeared to be some small shanty type houses. I went to reception and requested a room lower down and was given room 203. It was great, very clean with tiled floor, free complimentary water, tv and shower room. The free wifi worked great, very quick. I had a shower but the bathroom floor flooded, no great problem as there is a drain there. Air con worked great.

The lift / elevator is slow but works ok. It opens up between floors so you will need to either climb about 8-9 steps or go down 8-9 steps with your luggage. If mobility is an issue I am sure the staff will help out.

In the evening I attended the 'cafe' which has restricted opening hours in an annexe. The menu was limited but I ordered a tasty club sandwich, fries and water which was delivered to my table within 10 minutes for about 200 baht. No ill effects, a bargain. Alcohol is available - bottled beers and soft drinks in a large fridge in the cafe on request. Good prices.

It was now dark and the hotel is off a gravel road with no street lighting, hotels approximately 100 metres away and dogs walking about. I therefore decided to return to my room and wifi.

Slept very well indeed, beds comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Free shuttle at 8am the next day in a van was reliable. When you check in they ask you to choose a shuttle time for the next day to the airport, they run 24 hrs every hour.

In short a real bargain at 590 baht. It's not a 5 star hotel but a very pleasant and cheap place to rest your head before a flight the next day.

Room Tip: Low floor to guarantee good wifi.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattayaRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Plai Garden Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 386 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We paid 590 baht (£12) for 1 night here, we wanted to be near the airport as had an early morning flight, we were not expecting much as it is so cheap but were in shock when we turned up, spacious rooms, free water, tv, comfortable bed, lovely wallpaper, a balcony, air con, free wifi, a free airport transfer, pool table, fridge, they have a restaurant next door which we ate in, had 2 mains, rice, noodles, 1 starter and drinks for 390 baht! Not sure if there is anything to do around here but for a stop off its fantastic value for money!
Would stay here again if wanted to be near the airport

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlote B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Chose to break the journey home here on the way back from holiday and so glad we did. The hotel is a great place to stay, usual friendly and helpful Thai service and very comfortable rooms. Food is excellent and reasonably priced. Hotel rates are very reasonable too for what you get. Regular shuttle coach to the airport which is a 5 minute ride away - and there is no charge!
We intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Traveling in a group meant people coming in at different times and days so we had to stay somewhere close to the airport. There was confusion checking in as we stated booking online that we would have a 12:55am arriving flight, we arrived to find out we had no room and had to pay extra to check in early (not a nice surprise after 20+ hours of traveling)

Sheets and towels were clean but stained. Fridge in room and bottled water. Breakfast is pretty basic (eggs, toast, coffee/juice). Costs about 100 baht to/from airport, which you can get the skytrain to get into the city. But there really isn't much else nearby and staff isn't very knowledgable about things to do in Bangkok. I would only stay here again if necessary to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We finished our trip in SE Asia here mainly due to the location near BKK airport. The free hourly shuttle service was also a draw.

The price of rooms is more than reasonable as the quality is very good. The small cafe has a bit of the feel of sitting in a bus station but that fit in with our circumstances & the food itself is very nice.

A good budget stop-over.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squaretiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very basic hotel but for £12 its great value.
Clean simple.
Nice staff, even has a bell boy.
Air on.
Stayed in lots worse.
We booked in for 7 hours as we had a late flight.
Cheaper here than staying on at the Hilton. They wanted £200 and this was £12.
Bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokey12345679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is not clean and cozy like they promote. This hotel should be in India where lies are truth, lizards running on the walls, and lazy staff is the norm. The bathrooms have towels that look like they came from the river and dried in the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrthanit, General Manager at Plai Garden Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to share your expirience on Trip Advisor. I would like to thank you for coming to Plai Garden and I am sorry if you have found it is not cozy as you expected. In term of "cosy", this is subjective in way of perception. We do serve in average 100 customers a night and most of our customers are happy or returning through the years and they recommend Plai Garden to there friends. The conclusion is that we are not expensive for everybody, most of our routine customers find us very cheap with reasonable quality. If you remembered, we have tried our best to serve you by offering you to see and choose 3 rooms. Unfortunately, there are still no rooms that able to meet your requirement. You may be in a very few customer that dislike our place with our price. Referring to your requested, we would like to suggest you to stay at 4 or 5 stars hotel that should meet all your requirements. Thank you for staying at Plai Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Racha Thewa
2.3 mi away
Miracle Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#332 of 879 in Bangkok
672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Inn Come Hotel
Grand Inn Come Hotel
#3 of 5 in Racha Thewa
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
#2 of 5 in Racha Thewa
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
2.7 mi away
Mariya Boutique Residence at Suvarnabhumi Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plai Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plai Garden Guesthouse

Address: 88, Soi King Keaw 43, King Keaw Rd. | Bangplee, Racha Thewa 10540, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Racha Thewa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Racha Thewa
Price Range: $14 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plai Garden Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plai Garden is located just 5 minutes drive from Bangkok’s only International Airport (Suvarnabhumi Airport). Getting to the city is even easier with Bangkok’s Toll Free Highways and only just 25 minutes by car ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Plai Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plai Garden Hotel Racha Thewa
Plai Garden Guesthouse Thailand/Racha Thewa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing