We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location in the heart of the National Park.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sossus Dune Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sesriem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sossus Dune Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in the heart of the National Park.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable and well-equipped thatched rooms (even kettle and fridge!) Views of ostrich, warthogs and springbok from room terrace.

Offers a sense of peace in its setting but can be busy with people coming and going to benefit form location and close proximity to dunes (60km).

Everyone friendly and helpful for most part but low wages may lead to high incidents of theft from rooms (which we experienced at dinner on the first night). Lesson to be learned - make full use of the safe!

Food adequate but not a high level dining experience.

Good small pool with pleasant sitting area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reavley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    232
    68
    22
    12
See reviews for
81
310
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I think this is the place to stay to see the dunes. It is the only place within the park so getting there early for sunrise works. That said, when we arrived at 4 PM, the tours to the dunes were already full so we had to drive ourselves. As it turned out, that wasn't so bad, but we had been counting on a tour.
The cabins are lovely, with great views, but contrary to one review, there was no A/C in ours. A fan, yes. It was quite warm all night. Mosquito nets are provided, but there were a few of those nasties inside the netting that made my night quite miserable. Chairs on the decks of the cabins would be a welcome addition.
The dinner was fine, not great, but acceptable. The packed breakfast was just OK.
Our wake-up call did not come. Good thing those mosquitoes kept me awake or we might have missed sunrise.
All in all, I would advise staying there because of the location, but some improvements could certainly be made.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main area are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very friendly staff and a beautiful view from the cabins. Dinner was very good and lunch packages when leaving early are well prepare and ready on time. Driving to Dune 45 take approx. 45 minutes, Sossusvlei/Deadvlei is 1h15. Staff is driving you from main building to the parking lot when needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Nederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

As emphasized by many reviewers the lodge stays in beautiful settings - blending so well into the hills that it's hardly visible from afar - and the views from your balcony is breathtaking. Efficient friendly drivers between the parking lot and the main building.
Lovely large and comfortable room nicely decorated in safari style, with A/C, tea/coffee making facility and fridge but no wifi. Small swimming pool, small curio shop but never open during our 2 days stay. Nice dining room, dinner ok but service rather slow. Breakfast pack available for early departure.

For us the black point was the wrong advice we got in that we were told to depart for the dunes at the same, very early, time as the guided tour and follow its vehicle till the end of the tarred road where shuttles would drive us to the final part through deep sand. The fact is that this guide sped through the dark and no way we could follow him, but the most disappointment was that there was NO shuttle at the end of the road ! We had to wait for at least 45 min and therefore missed the sunset !
All in all an expensive accommodation but well worth it for its location and the freedom to drive in the park beyond the hours !

Room Tip: Of course some of the rooms are a bit far from the restaurant but I do not understand the people com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Sossus Dune Lodge in early October.
Assistance with the bags was efficient and helpful. Then the manager gave us a nice welcoming talk which took about 20 minutes. We were keen to get to our room and then go to the dunes, so the talk was a mixed blessing.
It was a 5 minute walk to the chalet and the walkways are not wide enough for people to pass easily.
The chalet was large and comfortable with a panoramic view towards the canyon.
At supper time the service was random and the meat was not very good (a lot of gristle!).
When we left we asked for a porter to help with luggage, but nobody came. There is no communication with reception so we did it ourselves.
The location is perfect for visiting Sesriem Canyon, which we enjoyed just as much as the dunes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
390 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very scenic cabins in the beginning of the park, actually much further from the red dunes as expected. Nice swimmingpool. Nice buffetstyl breakfast. Lunch: little choice but good. 4 course diner with 2 choices for the main course, very good. No wifi. Good guided sunset trip to the red dunes and death vlei with a nice breakfast at the foot of the dunes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location - location - location:- inside the park for early morning and late day excursions

Stayed in room 25 - honeymoon suite (...34 years overdue) - long walk from bar / pool but very nice - beautiful landscape - super views of the moon, venus and the stars at night and game viewing too.

Food was good (not buffet).

Packed breakfast available (good) for early morning starts.

Good quality. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: close to lodge -- it is a long walk to the 'end' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferdude083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
35.1 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#12 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossus Dune Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossus Dune Lodges

Property: Sossus Dune Lodges
Address: | Namib-Naukluft Park, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossus Dune Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Sossus Dune Hotel Sesriem
Sossus Dune Lodges Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing