We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Sossus Dune Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sesriem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sossus Dune Lodges
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located within the park, staying here allows access before the gate opens so that you can enjoy sunrise and sunset without crowds. The rooms are large and all have great views. Because the rooms are tents, they can get chilly at night, but their charm makes them very worthwhile. The food I the restaurant is excellent. The one drawback is that you might have a long walk to your room along a wooden walkway. The upside is that the rooms are widely spaced which is important since they have canvas walls.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are the ones farthest from reception/restaurant but I encountered virtually no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpohley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 580 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location to explore Sossusvlei. The lodges are very nice and we loved our stay. The food was good. Be prepared for a walk along the decking to your room but what a great experience.
Highly recommended for a visit.

Room Tip: Very well located inside the park to explore the dunes. Try and book a room closer to the main lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

There is almost no choice, this is best option if you want to see sunrise at sossusvlei before the hordes arrive. There are few other options, unless one likes camping,... Yes, it is expensive, but to come all the way here, it is quite rewarding to be very close by...

It is convenient, sure.. But lodging is also excellent.. Balcony is excellent place to chill out at sunset, food is reasonable, service excellent on one day, okay on the other (different crew!)

Guess if wasn't too expensive, I could hv stayed here several more days!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rj-spark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the only place to stay if you want to get to the dunes early. That is all I need to say in this review. If you want to get the shot of the Deadvlei in the shade and the dune lit like the Franz Lanting shot...then put off the trip until you can stay here. We loved our room. The meals were excellent. The thing we dislike the most was the parking area was below the lodge. You were dependent on walking or having someone come down and pick you up by car and take you up. THe problem was that the person picking you up also took people's luggage to the room. So if you were unlucky to arrive at the wrong time...no one was there to pick you up. So we had to hike up with all our luggage. I think 50% of the time we had to hike the distance. That is really unacceptable. They desperately need a dedicated person. We saw Oryx on the way into this lodge but never saw any animals at the watering hole here...but this is not why you are here. I wish they had a better map. I am very good with maps and assume they are accurate in orientation. Their map was not and I made some decisions based on it that were not accurate that cost us valuable time. I think something more organized to reference that described the hikes nearby and options of things to do would have been nice. In the area, wWe enjoyed the hike at the Ses Reim Canyon very much. We hiked up Dune 45 and loved Hidden vlei and its serious hike and Dead vlei. Elium Dune was ok but we didn't hike to the top ...so maybe I didn't give it enough. I strongly recommend the helicopter ride to deadvlei for serious photographers. Our hot air balloon ride was cancelled but after some discussion we decided the helicopter was really the better option for us anyway.

Room Tip: Not a bad room here...some are just closer to reception/the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the lodge. We booked early morning tour to see the sunrise (I didn't want to drive before sunrise) and it was fantastic with a great breakfast. You have plenty of time to climb Big Daddy and Big Mama and take great pictures at Deadvlei. You can even spot springbocks, jackals, ostrich, oryx, owls. Time to rest by the pool in the afternoon and drive to Dune 45 and see sunset leaving from hotel around 15.30. Great rooms, helpfull staff, very good dinner. Five star hotel for a five star location. Beware: when it's windy your room is very noisy, very hard to sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pizote67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We choose to stay at the Sossus Dune Lodge because, being inside the Namib Park, it gives you the unique and wonderful chance to be at the magic Dunes of Sossusvlei before sunrise, as you can leave whenever you like to be aming the first to climb Big Daddy or Big Mama!
The lodge is perfectly located in the nature and the lodge itself has a very good standard of services and wonderful and very spacious rooms. The view from each bungalow is amazing, though I would suggest to ask for rooms on the right side (looking the desert) and possibly also the last rooms in the row, so to avoid loud people to disturb when passing by. It is a little walk form the last rooms to the restaurant, but nothing impossibile to do. In the room everthing is provided for the comfort of the guest but the most beautiful thing is the view you can get from the bed...desert during the day and amazing night skies in the evening, each night we could see the Milkyway above us. The restautant has a good choice of food and also breakfast is fine. When leaving early for Soussusvlei the helpfully staff prepars a breakfast box, which we liked after our morning climbing. Would be nice if they could put nice chairs and a small table on the room terrace to enjoy the beauty around from there too and not only form the inside of the room. The staff was overall very nice and helpfull, would absoluty suggest to stay two night in these unforgattble lodge.

Room Tip: rooms in the right side to get a better view and ask for the last rooms in the row
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the place to be to beat the rush. Great accommodation. Great location. Food is ok. The dessert one might was excellent. The bed comfortable and the sunsets from the deck spectacular. Staff helpful. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
1.1 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
111 reviews
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
37 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.4 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
310 reviews
0 mi away
Neuras Wine & Wildlife Estate
44.8 mi away
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
#1 of 9 in Sesriem
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossus Dune Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossus Dune Lodges

Address: | Namib-Naukluft Park, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossus Dune Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Sossus Dune Hotel Sesriem
Sossus Dune Lodges Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing