We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private bathrooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Like the others, we really liked the updated amenities that each site had- private shower/toilet, sink and a covered space. Everything was well maintained. The convenience store nearby was helpful for snacks and fuel. Recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Neubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Neubz,
Thanks for the great review and recommending us! Glad you liked the private bathroom facilities and the close proximity of the convenience store!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Team at Sossus Oasis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Sossus Oasis Camp Site
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is camping at it's best here. Each site offers a private covered shelter with a personal toilet and shower as well as a place to wash your dishes! Really nice. The biggest complaint I have is the early morning noise which starts well before dawn as people are heading into the Sossusvlei park. The nearby gas station doesn't help as it starts up at about 4 am. Nevertheless this is a great place to stay especially if you are not in a rush to get to Sossusvlei by dawn as you are outside the park which doesn't open the gates until dawn. By the way, don't leave shoes or anything else out on the concrete of the shelter! I nearly lost a shoe as a jackal carried it out almost to the fence. It was only by sheer luck that I found the shoe and it's sock!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Buckeye-dude,
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed the private facilities at the camp site!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Kind Regards,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed two evenings on a 14 day tour of Namibia.

The camp sites are all private with your own bathroom and wash up area. All amenities were well kept and clean.

This being in the desert, there is unfortunately no natural shade. The sites all have a partially covered area where you could layout a free standing tent. We were however using a rooftop tent, so the sun was a bit heavy during the day. When we visited the temperatures were mild, so the lack of shade was bearable, would not like to be there during the hight of summer!

There is a reasonably well stocked shop for the basic necessities and we believe a reliable fuel supply.

The camp is ideally situated next to the entrance to Sossusvlei.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Jaco,
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed our camp site’s private facilities. And yes, to confirm we have a reliable fuel supply at the Sossus Oasis Service Station.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at this camp site in September 2011 but we would still like to write a review now to help other campers in Namibia.

We booked this place ahead which seemed to be needed if you want to stay close to the Sossusvlei entrance.

The Sossus Oasis Camp site was one of the best campsites where we have stayed. It is more quiet than the better known Sesriem Campsite and pristinely clean.
The environment is taken into account with solar powered electricity plugs and hot water. There is also a (small) pool with some grass around. We even saw a springbok grazing there!

One side note. When we were there, the Sesriem campsite (so not the oasis camp site!) had the right to have their visitors first in the park to see for example the sunrise. Check when you book your spot if this is still the case.

Excellent choice near sossusvlei!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen_and_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Ellen & Pedro,
Thank you for your excellent review! We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities at our Sossus Oasis Camp Site and glad you acknowledge the eco-friendly efforts we implement.
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last month of August, while our honeymoon trip in Southern Africa; and we must say that it was definitely one of the best campsites we've ever been.
It's excellent located near Sesriem Canyon, at only some hundred meters from the entrance of the Namib Naukluft Park.

Placed in the middle of the desert, with only 12 individual pitches but all the facilities you need. Each pitch has its own toilet, shower with hot and cold water, kitchen basin, electricity points and BBQ (braai) which is daily cleaned by the staff of the campsite!

The reception is located at the Petrol Service Station, at walking distance; where you can find a well-stocked shop as well. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
It can be very useful for instance to buy your wood, meat and fresh vegetables for the braai; without forgetting the cool drinks that are more than welcome after a warm day in the desert ;) There is also a nice swimming-pool, which unfortunately we couldn't enjoy in those winter days, since it was a bit chilly in the evening.

We really recommend it to anyone who wishes a quiet and well located campsite in Sesriem area. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jifuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Jifuentes,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review, photos and kind recommendation.
Glad you enjoyed our camp site and the convenience of the shop nearby.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The campsite is very well located 100 meters from the national park entrance.
It is composed of only few pitches (around 10) which are located around a small clean swimming pool with sun chairs.
Each pitch has enough space and they are not located too close from each other.

The reception is located in the petrol station next to the campsite. Staff is OK.
It includes a small shop that sell food, cold drinks, wine and other camping stuff.
There is also a small bar.

Each pitch is very well equipped with its own toilets and shower (hot water) as well as covered place for cooking with kitchen sink with water + braai area (wood not provided).
There is also electrical outlets.
Everything is well maintained and cleaned.

The value for money is excellent.
It was one of our best campsite of our trip in Namibia

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolas414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Nicolas,
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear that Sossus Oasis was one of the best campsites on your trip to Namibia!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit!
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at this campsite during April 2012 and the sites were great. We were 3 couples in 3 tents which we erected around the shade concrete and used the paving as our "entertaining area". There are hotwater (solar panel) shower and toilet facilities, wash basis and braai (fire place) which were cleaned out every morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful and to Willie thank you so much we really enjoyed our stay. We actually stayed 4 nights as we were not time restricted. We will definitely stay over when we tour the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoinette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Antoinette,
Thank you for your fantastic review!
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Sossus Oasis Camp Site when you tour Namibia again.
Best wishes,
The Sossus Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
160.1 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
156.0 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
440 reviews
157.3 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
156.3 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
199 reviews
115.7 mi away
Capricorn Rest Camp
Capricorn Rest Camp
#11 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
79 reviews
261.3 mi away
Hoada Campsite
Hoada Campsite
#1 of 9 in Kamanjab
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossus Oasis Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossus Oasis Camp Site

Address: C27 | (right in front of the entrance gate to the Namib-Naukluft National Park), Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range: $27 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sossus Oasis Camp Site 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned at the Entrance Gate to Sossusvlei and Sesriem, the Sossus Oasis Camp Site offers 12 individually shaded sites, each equipped with its own toilet and shower facilities, kitchen wash-up basin, barbeque and electricity points. Enjoy the unsurpassed views over the desert landscape, surrounding mountains and Elim Dune or relax in the sparkling pool found in the centre of the camp site. Facilities within walking distance includes a fully stocked shop with groceries, toiletries, drinks, ice, clothing, curios, internet cafe, fuel, diesel and a tyre workshop at the Sossus Oasis Service Station. At the adjacent Sossusvlei Lodge one can book meals at the restaurant and exciting activities to explore the area at their Adventure Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sossus Oasis Camp Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossus Oasis Camp Site Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing