We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sossusvlei experience”
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Langebaan
1 review
“sossusvlei experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

excellent stay for the second time to enjoy the unparalleled desert luxury experience .
Your rooms however needs attention and the room service was not up to the standard you had 7 years ago .(last visit)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bosssilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Bosssilv,
Thank you for visiting us again and rating us as an excellent stay! Thanks also for your feedback, it will help us to improve and provide the very best to future customers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    280
    77
    26
    8
See reviews for
151
406
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent one night here. The cost including dinner and breakfast was R 3,550. The accommodation was average and cold. Our room 101 was next to the kitchen and aircondition machine making it impossible to sleep. It was full so no alternative rooms were available.
The food was very good. We were seated outside in cold July without any option to mover inside.
It was so cold that we ate quickly and returned to our room.
We were very disappointed and felt that the service and quality of the service and accommodation did not warrant the cost.
We will stay elsewhere in future.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Rob,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed the food at the buffet dinner – there are blankets and patio heaters available for the outside dining area or if you ask to be moved inside they will definitely make an arrangement. Apologies for not meeting all your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great overnight stay - very comfortable. Excellent dinner and breakfast, Staff very friendly throughout the lodge and keen to please their guests. Thank you.
Perfect location if you want to visit the dunes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Barbara,
Thank you for your fantastic review and kind compliments to our staff! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and the cuisine we served!
We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

One of the most unique facilities we have ever encountered; here for 2 nites as part of a tour of southern Africa. Individual rooms have a cement base, with a canvas tarp roof and are climate controlled. No phones nor TV; WIFI difficult to access, only in the reception area. Large bathrooms with showers, hot water! More comfortable than expected.

My husband thought the evening meal was one of the most romantic he had ever experienced. It was outside, dark, with a lighted view of a watering hole and a steady stream of interesting animals visiting it. A jackal explored the outside bar. There was an ample buffet with a highlight of several selections of game grilled to order.

We climbed the Big Mama dune the next morning. The area is really quite unique. Scaling as well as coming down the sands an awesome adventure. We missed the small plane overview of the area that afternoon, and regretted it.

We were rewarded with a rare viewing of 4 cheetahs in the desert as we left the lodge. It was a spectacular ending to a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear like2travelAtlanta,
Thank you for your wonderful review! Glad we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the romantic setting of our dining experience. The cheetah sighting is very rare indeed!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next Southern Africa trip!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Don't join their day tour. You start from 6.30am, costs N$525. There is no breakfast till 11am and the arrangement is really bad. The guide is not a guide,no stories or explanation whatsoever of the area. When we get back to the car, he was nowhere to be found. We have to wait! The car is an open safari jeep. It's unbearably cold when driving there. The blanket doesn't help. We've got no coffee or tea until 11am. No food but walk up the dunes is a suffering. I've asked the guy at the adventure centre what's the difference between self-drive and the tour. He said it's the guide, but the guide is only a driver, so it's not worth. You can drive yourself and you have more freedom.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kmzhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Kmzhao,
Thank you for your review. Most of our guests prefer having their breakfast after their dune excursion and not doing the walk to Deadvlei on a full stomach. There is coffee/tea facilities available in your room and there is also coffee, rusks, etc. available at reception which you could have enjoyed before the excursion.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I just loved this lodge. I have stayed at half a dozen camps of this type on safari in Kenya and Tanzania. This Namib desert treasure is near the top of my list. The individual tented outbuildings were very nicely equipped with clean, modern bathrooms, comfortable beds and air conditioning, which was a nice amenity to ensure returning from the desert to a cool chamber in the late afternoon. You can shut down the AC and open up the tent flaps for a lovely desert experience after sunset. The staff were wonderful, the bar bill was modest, the grilled impala and springbok were superb. Omelettes at the breakfast buffet were prepared expertly. Sunrises and sunsets were experienced from a tower you can climb for an enhanced view of the desertscape. This is a charming place and I would return in a heartbeat. They offer tours booked through their guest services, including a sundowner that several of my companions enjoyed and a Cessna flight over the desert that was fantastic. The wifi worked fine and the gift shop sold custom T-shirts with patches for whichever countries you might wish to wear on your sleeve. I would have enjoyed staying longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Wabanmon,
Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Namib Desert, the cuisine and the excursions offered at our Adventure Centre!
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for a longer stay!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

we spent two nights in this lodge and out of several accommodations we stayed during our Namibia trip, Sussusvlei lodge was one of the best experiences. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was decent with a chef cooking you omelet on the set. Dinner was very impressive, started with a cold appetizer buffet, then you have chef cook you stir fry with veges and meat you pick on the set, then you have a section where they grill meat for you per your request. You have both outdoor and indoor setting which was nice.
The night we arrived there was a windstorm so the room was very noisy and almost felt like we really stayed in a tent! Next day it was much better. The room was like a tent which gave it a flavor after all we are in the desert.

Great value for the money, right outside the dune camps too so would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Just2havefun,
Thank you for your wonderful review and rating us as one of the best experiences during your Namibia trip! Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the dinner with the in- and outdoor seating so much!
Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
36.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
96 reviews
21.2 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
427 reviews
13.8 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
475 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem
Sossusvlei Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing