We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was just perfect”
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“everything was just perfect”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

sundowner and morning drive werde just increadable, dinner under billions of stars, excellent food and so many different things to choose, very clean rooms, so close to the entrance gate, many animals

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Jane,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the cuisine and our other facilities on the premises. Apologies about the misunderstanding on the breakfast basket.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    276
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
149
401
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I spent 1 night in this lovely lodge during September 2013. My tent-style room (# 150) was spacious with two single beds. Both room and bathroom are simple and clean. Safety box, coffee maker and air-con are provided. Breakfast was excellent and dinner was first class; you can try all kind of game meats here. Complementary coffee and tea is offered in the reception area. Staff were very friendly, however, the front desk staff forgot to put in order of my packed breakfast for next morning.

There is outside pool and a far way water hole. You can climb up the tower for an overlook of the lodge complex and its desert surrounding.

This lodge is only 5 minutes away from the entrance gate to the Namib Naukluft Park. It is very convenient location for visiting the dunes, dead vlei and Sesriem canyon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jane,
Thank you for your great review! Glad you had a wonderful stay at our lodge and that you enjoyed the dinner so much!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next journey to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Gave 4 only because 5 means perfection but would recommend this to anyone. We had a great stay, the food was good, staff very friendly the lodges very clean and comfortable. Guides very knowledgable .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HT-Horsham-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear HT-Horsham-UK,
Thank you for the 4 stars and your review! Very happy that you recommend us and that you enjoyed a great stay with us!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We always stay at Sossusvlei Lodge when we travel through Namibia every year. The accommodation is excellent. One of the best buffets at Dinner and Breakfast. Location is very good. The rooms are spacious and there is an air-con in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heunisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Heunisf,
Thank you for visiting us again and for your excellent review! Glad you love the accommodation, location and our buffets!
Looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really enjoyed the lodge, which is located near the outstanding dunes. Beautiful grounds, nice and comfortable rooms, excellent food and great service. They have a tower which is great for viewing sunrise and sunset and watering hold. Only complaint is guests are allowed to smoke at dinner. We had three tables surrounding us with smokers one night and it was horrible. No reason for non-smoking guests should have to deal with this discomfort and recommend they stop allowing smokers to ruin meals for the rest of us. Also tents are noisy when it's windy and do disturb your sleep but didn't bother me that much. Agree with comments on 'front row' room by Seattle Flyer. I had one and it is great but can see the point of the other reviewer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing waterhole and desert are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Vanziggy,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very happy you enjoyed the rooms, food and service you received! Thank you for bringing up the concern about the smoking – we will definitely look into that.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next journey to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The lodge was a wonderful, magical place, very comfortable. The location to the dunes couldn't have been better. The staff went to extraordinary lengths to create an unforgettable wedding experience..



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Christine,
Thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing us to host your very special day! We are ecstatic that you had an unforgettable experience!
Hope you will visit us again soon – Maybe for your anniversary?!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room, half brick half tent was perfect for the setting. If you have the right position, which we did ( the front row), the zipped windows open onto the waterhole and the view is Africa walking past - magical. The swimming pool was small but perfectly adequate for a cool off - and with temperatures touching 42 C very welcome. Lunches were very enjoyable - a pork belly dish was delightful. Dinners were bush meat buffet and there was plenty of choice. The blesbok was stunning. In addition to the meat chefs were on hand to cook stir fry to order and other options were available. Very enjoyable. Wine was drinkable and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and efficient and local attractions added to the value of a stay here. Well worth booking this lodge.

Room Tip: Get the front row
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Jeff,
Thank you for your fantastic review! Glad you liked the front row rooms, the pool and the cuisine served at our lodge!
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
36.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
95 reviews
15.1 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
21.2 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
3.0 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
417 reviews
13.8 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem
Sossusvlei Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing