We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gate to namib”
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent Location for a Trip to Sossusvlei. Just at the entrance-gate. We had a Barbecue for dinner with meat of Oryx, Zebra, Eiland, Ostrich and chicken. It was a great dinner under millions of stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Franz-Muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Franz-Muc,
Thank you for your wonderful review! Glad you loved our location, dining under the stars and of course the barbeque dinner!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on you next visit to Namibia!
Best Regards,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 838 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I'll start by saying the lodge was by no means a complete let down, but my stay there was a bit. The lodge accommodations were very comfortable and the backdrop is magic. I couldn't speak highly enough of my guide, and the food was smashing.

What was the deciding factor that made me leave with a sour taste in my mouth was the lack miscommunication between staff then the subsequent closing ranks and denying it. I was booked to go on a canyon a and dune trip on my last afternoon. The guide took a group of us to the canyon, which was not unpleasant, but when a number of us asked when we would be going to see the dune for sunset, he was baffled. He had been instructed to simply take us to the canyon. I was not the only person in the car who was surprised, everyone had the same expectations as I. It was a large part of why you go into the middle of the desert and pay proper money to stay, to see some of the sights the lodge is known for.

The lady who had booked it blamed the guide, not very convincingly in all fairness, just trying to cover her error and tried to make everyone pay for the trip anyhow! When another woman contacted management, they played down the trip, and said in as many words, "you didn't miss much anyway, it's the same as you see from the restaurant." Funny that that line is not in the brochures.

In short, it's a magic area, but I would implore anyone visiting to consider staying at one of the other nearby lodges. The beauty and facility is there, but unfortunately some of the staff and management simply fall short, which can be enough to take the edge off a lovely trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Jeremy,

It is lovely hearing from you again. We have been waiting for you to decorate our comment wall with your remarks as you threatened to do. We still think demanding a refund for your entire 2 day stay plus expenses is a little farfetched regarding the circumstances.

If you perhaps took the time to actually read the brochures, and if you actually listened to our staff when they recommended the best activities in the area to you, your experience might have turned out much better and you would actually have experienced Sossusvlei and Deadvlei – the reason people come to our beautiful area, and what our Lodge is known for!
Elim Dune is not the reason why people come here and since your arrival we have only been honest in regards to what is worth seeing and doing – you however made your own choices.

You forgot to mention that you and the rest of the guests have been fully refunded for the human error that our poor guide and activity manager made, and that everyone has apologised to you repeatedly. You also forgot to mention that the “other lady” you are referring to is your partner.

We truly hope that when one day you make an honest mistake and make up for it in all ways possible, people will not treat you the way you have treated our staff and our good name.

Once again we would like to apologise for the inconvenience you felt during your stay with us, but we feel full amends have been made.

Our Regards to Barry and Jill, and should you ever visit Namibia in future, we do hope you’ll visit us again. It will be our pleasure to show you Sossusvlei and Deadvlei so that you can fully experience our magical area.
We hope in future travels you’ll listen to the recommendations of the people that live there, they usually give the best advice.

Kindest Regards,
Sossusvlei Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The service was terrible. They had no interest in their customers at all. I only gave it 2 stars because the food was amazing. The tents are fine. Just a total disinterest in their customers. Some of them were outright rude. We were a very easy going, easy to please Aussie couple that were very disappointed with the treatment we received.

Room Tip: They're all the same. Lock your stuff away in the safe because the staff just walk in whether yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We did'nt stay at the lodge but in the campsite next to it and we went there for dinner. This was fantastic!!! So many choices, so excellent food and varieties!!! Game meat bbq buffet was amazing!! There was so much to eat that we wished we had 3 stomachs so we could taste everything. Also very nice setting and atmosphere, friendly staff.
We were so pleased that we went back for lunch buffet the next day before we left Sesriem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitchounette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Pitchounette20,
Thank you for your fantastic review on our dinner buffet! We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and variety of cuisine we had on offer!
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best Regards,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good location in the middle of the desert: good service, good price performance ratio, elegant accommodation, singular atmosphere . We would recommend to enhance the illumination in the lodges for better convenience.




  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bpschich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear bpschich,
Thank you for your great review! Glad you enjoyed our accommodation, atmosphere and the service you experienced at our Lodge!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best Regards,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Three nights at Sossusvlei Lodge was exactly the right treatment for life's stresses. Accommodation was very comfortable, on our last night the wind came up and it seemed as though the canvas roof was about to take off, it didn't though so all was well, but it did tend to keep us awake. Being August the evenings were quite cool (cold) but the rooms were well insulated and more than warm enough, the air conditioning was hardly necessary.

Food was excellent, it's hard to believe that such cuisine is possible in what is a pretty remote place. A huge variety of venison is on offer, a choice of salads and out of this world deserts complete the picture. Sitting at the bar watching the Springbok at the waterhole is great therapy and while the pool was a bit cold in mid August, I can imagine that in the summer months it would be a welcome relief from the heat of the day.

Being at the entrance to the reserve is a bonus, definitely don't miss Sossusvlei at sunrise. If the budget allows a flight over the dunes to the coast is well worth it, seeing the huge expanse of this ancient desert from the air is a magical experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Chris C,
Thank you for your excellent review! We are delighted that you enjoyed a relaxing stay at our Lodge and liked the cuisine we offered. Glad you took the flight over the dunes – it is truly an amazing experience not to be missed!
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best Regards,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very nice place. Good food and good service. We were there for a wedding that was held near a mountain 12 km away from the hotel. It was a beautiful setting and handled extremely well by the very helpful staff. Only criticism- not enough hot water for a shower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rolf447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear rolf447,
Thanks for your fantastic review! Glad you loved our amazing wedding setting as well as the food and service.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best Regards,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
36.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
21.2 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
529 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
214 reviews
3.0 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#5 of 12 in Sossusvlei
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range: $182 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem
Sossusvlei Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing