We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at the activity centre”
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great service at the activity centre”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We didnt stay at the lodge, we stayed at desert camp down the road but booked our activities at the lodge through the activities centre. Crystel and Franz were absolutely fantastic. Our luggage was lost and we only had a couple of shirts and sandals. We needed closed shoes because of the hot sand to do the dune tour. Franz lent us his shoes and Crystel lend us a bag of clothes to use while we were there. We were amazed by their hospitality and generosity. Thanks so much guys!! The trip was wonderful and our guide Benny was very knowledgable and lots of fun. We also ate dinner and had breakfast at the lodge. Next time we will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klokani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Klokani,
Thank you again for your wonderful review on your stay at Desert Camp and for taking the time to review our Adventure Centre as well! We are happy you enjoyed your excursion with Benny and glad we could help you out with some clothing! :-) Looking forward to your next visit!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    285
    77
    26
    8
See reviews for
157
411
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

absolutely fine hotel located directly at the entrance gate of sossusvlei nature park - that is the big selling point.
besides that the lodges are clean but a bit worn, the views though really magnificent (but what else do you expect coming to namibia).
the staff is friendly and helpful but utterly overworked.
huge buffets for breakfast and dinner with a wide choice for anybody`s preferences.
All in all it is way too expensive, room-rates, extra lunch, drinks , all offered excursions, way too much.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from the braai-center , best would be one at the edges to the desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Nonatop,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked the magnificent views and the buffets for breakfast and dinner.
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Team at Sossusvlei Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Charming place in a very picturesque setting. Some staff were very helpful & pleasant; others seemed indifferent. Dinner buffet had loads of choices & many options for a vegetarian. The guide we had for our tour of the dunes did little except drive us to the stops. He gave no information on the amazing dune formations & dead Vlei area we drove 7 hours to see.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consultcinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Consultcinda,
Thank you for your review. Glad you liked our wonderful setting and the dinner buffet!
We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just drove in at the last minute, tired from a day on the road. The prices were much too high for us, but because it was almost evening and the place was not full yet (and it was off season - summer) we were offered a room at less than half the price. the rooms are extremely comfortable (tented rooms) and the bathroom clean. Supper was included and very good with lost of klocal meats. breakfast was superb. I do not know if i would ever be willing to pay the full price of N$ 2400 pps per night, but I am glad I could experience this beautiful place right at the entrance to Sossusvlei.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear JPSouthAfrica,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy you drove in to experience our lodge and cuisine. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent a few days at the Sossusvlei Lodge during December 2012. We were deeply impressed with the friendliness and kindness of the management team and staff and the professionalism in the way they conducted themselves and their business. Their attention to detail and on-going efforts to make our stay as pleasant as possible in the scorching heat, without being in your face all the time, was very noticeable. We particularly appreciated the variety buffet style meals. It was well presented and the several choices of meat were grilled to our perfection. We definitely gained a few kilos during our visit. The private chalets were very clean and provided all the amenities and service expected from a lodge of this stature. The lodge provides the perfect atmosphere where one can re-discover yourself in a peaceful and quiet environment, whilst enjoying nature’s beauty all day long. Thank you for making our stay as comfortable as possible and making us feel the most important persons on the lodge. We definitely received value for money and we shall be back in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malishia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Malishia S,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and all the kind compliments! We are glad that you had such a comfortable and relaxing experience at Sossusvlei Lodge.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Soussuvlei Lodge for 2 nights. Overall we liked the place and enjoyed our stay. The place market itself as a 5-star luxury lodge which is a bit overrated as 2 things gives you a feeling of mass-market rather then luxury: (a) it is a big place accomodating a lot of people and (b) the buffet dinner is not that stylish. The analysis

PROS
- Great location: conveniently located at the gate of the park, you do not have to drive 5/10/20km to the park as if you stay in other lodges

- Room design: the tend design of the room is very charming especially as the rooms are integrated in the savannah. Rooms are big, clean and all with private patio. The only cons is the bathroom (see below) but not a dealbreaker

- Lovely spots: at all time (wheter from your room, at dinner or at the swimming pool, you are constantly amused by the great views of the savannah and the sunset. Also they have a bar ("biergarten") under an immense tree overlooking the panorama. Having a cold beer there in late afternoon is priceless

- Has a swimming pool which for us was key during the hot central hourse with 35C degrees

- Stuff is overall friendly, cannot complain

- Despite buffet dinner is not that good (see below), it has a great BBQ where you can choose any animal (kudu, springbok, ostrich, zebra, etc.) and they grill in front of you as you wish. Loved it

CONS
- Swimming pool: not that big and some days has dirty water and the beds around have only a limited number of spots in the shadow (impossible to stay under the sun in January)

- Bathrooms are ok but somehow old ('80s style) and should be renewed

- Buffet dinner: buffet dinner in itself has a lack of style. The food was very "German" and with the 30C temp, I'm not sure about about the quality. However they have the great BBQ somehow save it (see above)

- Excursions: we looked at the options and decided that there is no reason to take them if you can do the same excursion with your car. They are a rip-off, €50 for the group visit of Soussuvlei when you pay only €8 for the park fee if you do on your own (and you can stay all the time you want - not packed with a group and stuck with a schedule). Anyway, it's an option, nobody forces you to take it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gubias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Gubias,
Thank you for your extensive review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location, the views, the rooms and having a cold beer at our beer garden! Thanks for your other feedback – it will help us to improve.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The great service (or illusion of it) stopped after our very friendly, very polite welcome. This lodge certainly charges 5 star prices and claims to be of high quality however, bad, bored service from the staff, a dirty swimming pool, very dated tents and TERRIBLE food do not lie.

The bathroom was VERY dated, think 1980's 2 star motel. The water heater that (in any other country) should be mounted outside a building/bathroom was located inside the bathroom. The result was constant smell of gas whenever hot water was used. Also the hot water inside the shower only worked when the hot water tap in the basin was switched on and the shower rose dribbled out the water.

The food service and quality was quite interesting and quite dreadful. It's a buffet style and when you're seated at your table a waiter introduce themselves as your 'host'. Seriously? What a joke! It's buffet, you help yourself, you eat and if you are very lucky the waiter will have cleared your table before you get back with your next course. They also kept trying to clear our plates while we were still eating and then kept asking were we happy as though repeated asking would make us believe they were giving good service. Nowhere in the world have I seen such a fuss and show be made of a buffet style of service. With regards to the food, it was completely unsatisfactory and I seriously question the hygiene - the dinner buffet starts at 7pm however the food was put out from 6pm - 30 degrees Celcius, no refrigeration....you do the math.

Breakfast and lunch was no better. Breakfast starts around dawn and finishes mid-morning so the food sits there for hours and hours and hours. As I stood in front of the lunch buffet one day, looking at the very soggy salads, the very dry looking pasta salad?, the sweating cheese selection that had a beautiful covering of sweat beads, a chef came up beside me and dumped a fresh bowl of salad directly on top of the sad, soggy looking salad I had briefly considered eating. The best choice that day was a very dry piece of bread with a very charred piece of chicken. I couldn't tell if it was supposed to be a hot or cold dish as it was at 'room temperature' , neither hot nor cold which was quite a concern on a day that was around 35 or so degrees.

There simply is no justification that can be made for this type of terrible service and worse food.

Yes, I quite agree, it's a long review and I think you've got the picture? Chose somewhere else to stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Bobo H,
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We do appreciate your feedback as it will help us to provide the very best for future customers. Apologies for not meeting all your expectations on this occasion.
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
36.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
99 reviews
21.2 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
491 reviews
3.0 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem
Sossusvlei Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing