We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!!!”
Review of Sossusvlei Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sossusvlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved this tended camp!
you basically are in the middle of nowhere with a superb room, made up of a tent with all the mod cons (including air con!)
it was great, quiet, cool and VERY relaxing -- the full bathroom helps too!
superb staff, and a great game buffet at night.
Food was good, booze cheap and the guests classy. I particuarly loved the 24/7 coffee, tea and biscuits in the lobby as well as the great pool and unobstructed views into the desert....
I will be back! $493 well spent! (room, all meals and a 6 hour tour to the dunes...which is a MUST!)
staff even left champgane in my room! love it!!!
only issue was mosquitos in the room...so bring bug spray
mad props to robbie and dad :)

Room Tip: all are super - 113 or 145 private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanternandscroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Lanternandscroll,
Thank you for your excellent review!
We are pleased to hear you loved the rooms, the buffet and the coffee station! Thanks for recommending the guided tour to the dunes as a must!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    276
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
149
401
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I suppose we are quite spoiled when it comes to lodges in Africa and this was not our first choice but in the end we were reasonably happy with it.
I wasn't impressed with having a boiler in the shower room which meant that it was like walking into an oven pretty much 24 hours a day - I am also not sure about their health and safety regulations and whether they test their boilers for Carbon Monoxide so I was a little uneasy about that too.
The tents have zip up windows which we basically kept shut most of the time so the tents felt dark and quite claustrophobic though my kids seemed to like that.
The food was very disappointing - the rolls were stale (very unusual as everywhere else we had been in Namibia served freshly baked bread every day) and the food from the night before re-appeared at breakfast the next morning if it hadn't been eaten (ie. three types of fish).
On a positive note the staff were very helpful at the desk and most of the waitering staff - mainly the ladies.
We also had a great time quad biking around the area and enjoyed our morning visiting the dunes with our very sweet guide Enos who had a good sense of humour - and even tried to convince us that they had flying ostriches in the area!
If they modernise the tents and sort out the food situation this place could be much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilana613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Ilana613
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your guided dune visit and quad biking!
Apologies for not meeting all your expectations. We can assure you that the boilers in the bathrooms are frequently tested and that we do have health and safety regulations in place. Taking in consideration that we are remotely situated in the Desert, it is quite a challenge to serve more than 3 options of fish for dinner and breakfast, but it was definitely a fresh batch.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Interesting place, very good food, Grill outdoor evening outstanding! Good location for the next ekspolracji area. Cool tents, clean, neat and wild. A souvenir shop, a small pool to cool off enough. Niesamoite views. I recommend an external tent selection, from which views of the surrounding countryside is simply breathtaking. I recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowakadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Nowak Adventure Travel,
Thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation! We are delighted that you liked the outdoor grill, the views and all our other facilities at the Lodge.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lodge, coming down from Etosha where we stayed at a very small lodge. I was not expecting to like this place since it is very large and seemed overly corporate. In the end, however, we found the service and food quite good. They have a large buffet for all meals, taken on an outdoor patio area, with several types of meat to choose that are grilled as you wait. The lodge is very large with more rooms than I could count, but it makes for a good jumping off point into Sossousvlei. We took a drive organized by the Lodge and we were VERY impressed. The guide, Paulus, was very knowledgeable and nice and at the end he laid out a full breakfast that was enjoyed under a tree near Sossousvlei. We were not expecting such a nice breakfast and it added much to the experience. Despite its size, we are pleasantly impressed by this lodge and would stay there again since it had all we needed and more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianyembering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Brianyembering,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the buffet and the guided drive to Sossusvlei so much.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited Namibia from the10th December 2012 and on our way to visit the dunes we had an unfortunate experience. While driving in Namibian gravel roads our car accidentally overturned but we were not hurt, thanks to Jehovah our God.

We called Sossusvlei Lodge and they were very compassionate. When we called the owner, the first question he asked us was, "are you hurt"? Should we send an ambulance? That really meant a lot to us becasue we were in the middle of no-where. We had no friends and family to come to our rescue. They arrived at the accident scene very quickly and they came with the police.

They showed genuine interest in us, and everyone from management to staff was very helpful and friendly. They turned our bad experience to a good one.

Everything is excellent, the accomodation ,food , location and the atmosphere. What you see on the internet picture is what you get.

It is the best place to stay and we will definately go back there!!! If you are planning a holiday to namibia you will not have regrets if you book at Sossusvlei Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thandisizwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Thandisizwe M,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are still very happy that you weren’t hurt and that we were able to assist. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the food and atmosphere.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Safe travels and best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited this lodge spontaneously as we decided that driving back and forth to see the Dunes in Sossusvlei from Swakopmund in one day would be too intense. The service was fine, and the dinner with a view over the savanna was outstanding. The rooms were clean and spacious, and beds comfortable. A great choice of meats to choose from in the open-air buffet (Oryx, Hartebeest, Eland, Zebra, and more), served in a very upscale manner that belies this establishment's affordable nature. It is conveniently located at the entrance to the park from where you drive the 60km to see the dunes. This lodge was the highlight of our Namibia trip, having stayed at some of the best reviewed hotels in Swakopmund and Windhoek. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Nick H,
Thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the open-air buffet, the views and that the lodge were a highlight on your trip.
Looking forward to welcome you back at Sossusvlei Lodge on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Sossusvlei Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Congratulations and a BIG thank you!! We experienced Taleni Africa for only two nights at Sossusvlei in October and in retrospect wish we had stayed with you outside of Etosha as well, instead of NWR.

All too often people complain, rarely do we take the time to say thank you when service is as it should be, or better than expected. Having just spent some hours expressing my “concerns” to NWR’s managing director, I felt I had to do the opposite and thank you for an experience my wife and I will never forget after staying with you!

We have both travelled extensively in many countries, staying in some good, some not so good and some locations you wouldn’t send the mother-in-law to. Our initial one night stay at Sossusvlei was exceptional. So we stayed another night and found it to be even better! We thought it too good to be true, so on our second day I even looked for problems...but even the combined chlorine levels in your pool were so low I didn’t need my goggles...another first!

ALL your staff are excellent at their jobs without being in your face. The service was outstanding and friendly without being subservient. The food was some of the best we have eaten with service to make even the Savoy & Sails seem second rate.

From our initial phone enquiry with Ricky who was chirpy, friendly but very professional and eventually gave us SA residents rates, even though I don’t speak Afrikaans and have a Yorkshire accent. To our only “organised” excursion in the entire 3 week road trip, with Enis, who imparted more knowledge about the dunes and surroundings in a few hours than my geography teacher managed in 5 years! To your chefs who were out checking and replenishing the superb buffet every few minutes. The waiters asking if we needed drinks whenever glasses were empty, and always smiling even when we said “no thanks”, be it by the pool or at dinner. It went on all the way to check out and shows your management team are doing a great job with a great team! I can honestly say we experienced nothing that would make us hesitate in recommending Taleni to anyone and everyone.

Great location, great staff and excellent value for money. Thank you and keep it up! Just wish I could have said the same about NWR...but you showed me it’s a company problem, not a problem with the country! Loved Namibia, loved staying with Taleni and will certainly do it again if we return to Namibia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Cartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, General Manager at Sossusvlei Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Mr Cartlidge,
We are still truly overwhelmed by you fantastic review! Thank you so much for each compliment, especially those to our staff – it is a tremendous motivation factor for them to see these praises. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, the food, the excursion and the chlorine levels in the pool!
We are looking forward to welcome you back at Sossusvlei Lodge on your next visit to our beautiful country!
Best wishes,
Karl-Heinz and The Team at Sossusvlei Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
36.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
95 reviews
15.1 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
21.2 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
3.0 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
417 reviews
13.8 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sossusvlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sossusvlei Lodge

Property: Sossusvlei Lodge
Address: Gate to Sossusvlei entrance Namib Desert, Sesriem 6900, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sossusvlei Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the Entrance Gate to the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossusvlei Lodge offers direct access to the towering red sand dunes, the famous pan of Sossusvlei, the scorched black trees of Dead Vlei and the remarkable depths of the Sesriem Canyon. The 45 individual accommodation units at Sossusvlei Lodge are carefully laid out to perfectly blend in with the magnificent surrounding natural environment. Each luxury unit offers a fully air-conditioned bedroom, en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the views of the roaming wildlife and incredible Desert landscapes. Experience the true art of Hospitality with the thoughtful touch of attentive staff to contribute to a truly memorable experience. Facilities include a sparkling pool, bar, beer garden and an al fresco terrace where one can enjoy exquisite food, award-winning wines and magnificent views of the floodlit waterhole. The Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre provides a range of activities including Guided Excursions, Sun-downer Trips, Hot Air Ballooning, Scenic Flights and much more to explore the area's natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sossusvlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Hotel Sesriem
Sossusvlei Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing