We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and lovely guest garm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weltevrede Guestfarm
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great location and lovely guest garm”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Weldevrede. There is a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere so you can really feel at ease. We particularly liked the honesty bar which gave you the freedom to help yourself and feel at home.
Rooms were spacious, clean and simply furnished with air con. We had our own private terrace overlooking the water hole and saw a mix of springbok in the evening and hoards of birds in the early morning which was quite a spectacle.
The food was very good (both dinner and breakfast), unfortunately we missed the afternoon cake as we were out and about!
We used the Weldevrede as a base to visit Sossusvlei. Good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    36
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Quantoxhead UK
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Remote location, excellent camp facilities - private WC/shower block, BBQ area, electric hook up, tap, small outdoor pool and great staff. Small curio shop at reception. Small number of individual camp sites so recommend you book. Ate in the restaurant which was fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

A great little gem with pleasant rooms - air conditioning, comfortable beds, individual porches for evening nightcaps and good showers. There is a handsome community building with self service bar, comfortable chairs and books. The attached dining area is comfortable, and the food is delicious, served buffet style at dinner. We didn't try the swimming pool, but it looked very inviting. The charming couple who own and manage this guest farm are informal and friendly, trying to make everyone feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margery N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We loved espacially the wonderful tea and a brownie, we got when we arrived. The delicious food in the evening and the friendly service was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

When planning our trip back to South Africa from Swakopmund, we found an advert for Weltevrede Guest Farm. We were travelling with 4 year old twins and it is often difficult to get the twins accommodated with us in our room. After a friendly phone call, we arrived 4 days later to find that we had been given a room which the twins were able to share with us. The room was extremely clean and tidy with plenty of space for us to relax on an especially comfortable bed, while leaving plenty of room for the twins to play in. Tea, coffee and delicious chocolate cake met us on arrival and we all enjoyed a a tasty buffet supper that evening after returning from a drive around the farm. The next morning we were treated to a full breakfast before heading off on our trip back to South Africa. The staff were always full of smiles and ready to help, while the Swarts family were ever so friendly, including their two little boys who were only so happy to meet some new friends. I would definitely recommend a stop over on the farm when in the area and visiting Sossusvlei, as it was a very memorable experience!!

Room Tip: Give them a call - friendly and ready to assist
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataluña
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Weltevrede Guest Farm is easy to reach from Sesriem to visit the magnificent dunes of Soususvlei. It is in the midlle of the Namib Desert, and a few Km away of an exceptional landscape in the petrified dunes.

The staff was all time very kind, the restaurant very pleasant and the view from the bugalows quite pleasant

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelmonseny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Right in the middle of nowhere, about 45 minutes from Sussusvlei. The rooms could use a lick of paint, but are clean. There's a nice pool, food is ok (freshly baked cake at tea time!), the honesty bar is always open, but the best asset of Weltevrede is the small water hole right in front of the cabins. Kick back and relax just before sunset, open a beer, be really quiet, and just wait...

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haroldinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
2.7 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
234 reviews
6.5 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#4 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
539 reviews
24.1 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
264 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
803 reviews
22.8 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weltevrede Guestfarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weltevrede Guestfarm

Property: Weltevrede Guestfarm
Address: C19 road between Sesriem & Solitaire | PO Box 4119, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Weltevrede Guestfarm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weltevrede Guestfarm Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing