We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to unwind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sesriem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barchan Dune Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Sesriem B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Place to unwind”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on the way from The Desert Homestead to Swakupmond.
The road in is dirt but perfectly ok for a normal vehicle.
We loved every minute from the personal welcome, meercat to !, to the marvelous hidden chalets with their magical views. Loved the huge windows looking over the valley.
Hannetjie and Willem were always available to provide advice, and even ate with us in the evening where we learned a lot about the history of the farm. Plus the excellent whisky didnt go astray !.
Tea/coffee provided to the Chalet in the afternoon with cakes.
Beds comfortable and showers great, with each chalet having its own solar hot water system.
Paths to the chalets were well constructed and easy to pull luggage along..
We did a couple of the local walks where we spotted a number of antelope. Also Zebras and Oryx could be seen in the distance.
Willem had hurt himself and couldnt take us on a game drive but gave us directions to do it by ourselves which we thouroughly enjoyed.
We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is really special. In the Namib desert - a farm of 8,000 hectares. Willem and Hannetjie love this place and make sure you are loved too. Large comfortable rooms with outstanding views and a night sky filled with sparkle. A place to recharge and be looked after. Home made cooking, great wines and wonderful company. A favourite of mine in Namibia and one I hope to revisit again soon. Make sure you have a game drive on the farm - oryx and springbok are farmed there. You are also likely to see smaller buck, zebra, kudu and possibly jackel and porcupine. Your other hosts - three dogs and too meerkats will greet you enthusiastically. And if you do want to leave the dunes of Soussovlei are only an hour's drive away and the mountain pass of Spregshoote just around the corner. You will arrive as guests and leave as friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootingdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great things come in small packages. You could sense that a whole life has been devoted to the land. Hannetjie´s and Willem´s love for the place is quite contagious. They make you feel instantly at home. The room simple but comfortable and clean. The dinner was served on the main building on a single long table where all seat and could share the day's experiences.
The property sits on one of the most scenic areas of Namibia. The views are quite spectacular. The Spreetshoogte Pass is just a few Km s away.
Very good value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apfLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The place is amazing. We loved it and highly recommend it. It is situated in a increadibly beautiful landscape, where you can truly enjoy the nature, the quiteness, the silance. The rooms are very large and nicely decorated. Beds are comfortable, bathroom spacious. There is also a table and chairs on the varanda, where you can enjoy the most increadible sunset and also the sky in the night (I had never seen so many stars before). We also had a visitor at the varanda- a cute tortoise! The brakfast were very good (continental and cooked) and so was the 3 course dinner: home made delicious dishes, that we had together with the hosts always with very good wine and interesting conversations. The tour to Sossusvlei that we took with William (the host) was very enjoyable as we saw the sunrise and lots of games along the way, while he explained to us many things about the animals, the desert, the region and Namibia. My husband and I truly loved tha place and found it very special. The only downside was that, as we visited there during (very) high summer, the room got a bit too hot, but ok, we were in the desert!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscila Salern... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Barchan Dunes on our first night in Namibia. We arrived late due to a delayed flight and enjoyed spectacular sunset views as we drove down Spreetshoogte Pass. Despite it going dark, we had no problems finding Barchan Dunes and were relieved to get there.
And what a view! We could not believe how spectacular the view was from our room. It was amazing and the website does not do it justice as the hosts prefer to let visitors discover the view for themselves apparently.
The hosts were warm and friendly and it felt like we were staying with friends. They kindly delayed the start of dinner slightly to give us time to freshen up before enjoying a drink on the verandah. We ate dinner with our hosts and two other guests. It was a lovely evening. The food was very good and we discovered the next day that we were not charged for the drinks we consumed; pre dinner drinks, wine and whisky.
As a non meat eater, I did not have high expectations of being served good vegetarian food in Namibia given that it is very much a meat eating country. But of all the places we stayed at in Namibia, including far more expensive places, Barchan Dunes made the most effort to cater to my needs. I enjoyed an excellent vegetarian meal despite being in such a remote place (no supermarket nearby!). My husband was delighted to enjoy local game.
We woke at 6.00am the next morning and could not wait to look at the view in daylight. We got up and found that fresh coffee and tea had already been placed on our verandah. Of all the places we stayed in Namibia, this was the only place where morning coffee and tea was brought to our room,. In addition there was a flask of ice cold water in the room which was good as it was very hot when we stayed there. We enjoyed watching the sunrise from our verandah and taking in the most amazing view. We loved the solitude and watching the springbok and horses pass by our room. I could not stop taking photographs!
Sadly having arrived late and with only staying one night we spent little time at Barchan Dunes and wish we had stayed for two nights. Such amazing scenery in such a peaceful place is not easily found and we certainly appreciated it. With little light pollution, the sky was filled with stars and we even saw a couple of shooting stars.
I was horrified to read the previous review in which the review says “nothing special, not worth it”. Such a dismissive and thoughtless comment to make about a family run business doing its best to survive in the middle of nowhere. The views are very special and well worth going for. The rooms were built by the owners & have rustic charm. Whilst they may not be to everyone’s taste, they are spacious and provide all the necessities. Barchan Dunes is not somewhere where you would want to sit in your room; the view outside is too extraordinary to miss.
As a business owner, it was lovely to be away from cell phone coverage and internet access. I would not have mentioned this as I hardly expected there to be mobile phone coverage or internet access given the location and the fact that Barchan Dunes does not list these things on their website but the previous reviewer has highlighted these things for some odd reason which makes this seem like an issue. What a wonderful escape from every day life!
I also can’t believe the previous reviewer thought Barchan Dunes was overpriced. Our stay was exceedingly good value considering our room rate covered dinner, breakfast, unlimited alcoholic drinks and refreshments served to our room. We were also allowed to check out a little later than normal given our late arrival.
Barchan Dunes IS special and is worth it. We very much enjoyed our stay there. If you are not convinced, then what might tempt you to visit is their delightful meerkat who is incredibly cute!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to offer privacy and peace and quiet. And amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Onlyacustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

9 km North of Solitare on the C14, turn off on the D1275, drive 15 km and take the drive way through the signposted gate and drive 3km to the house, then you find this disappointing B and B at the base of the hillside. Once a cattle and sheep farm, it is now converted into tourist accommodation. The uninspiring concrete rooms are separate “air raid-shelter” type constructions in the field in front of the main house, half hidden in the ground. Each room is well enough away from the neighbour so that so are on your own. The rooms are sad and dated and have no concept concerning the interior decoration. Everything is clean and tidy.

This is isolation pure. Residents have the chance to enjoy the silence, quite and the views. The vegetation is a mixture of grassland, a few trees and boulders. The views down the valley into the hills are fantastic. Although there is game around, we saw none during our stay.

The reception we were given was friendly. There is no internet connection or cell phone coverage. The payment is strictly cash only. The evening meal is included in the total price and it is eaten together with other guests at the main dining table. The food was of average quality and not very ambitious, certainly not the acclaimed meal one was led to believe is available here. The meal did include beer and good quality wine. The joint discussion with the other guests was a good round-up to the day. Breakfast is also included and is the standard breakfast consisting of cereals, bread, jam, cheese and meats, as well as bacon and eggs.

Overall, not an inspiring place and overpriced as well. During our stay in Namibia, this was the least friendly stay we had.

Room Tip: Try a different location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jazzman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything about Barchan Dunes is fabulous.
The hosts are extemely friendly and helpful.
Views from chalets stunning.
Food basic but delicious.
Best experience in Namibia.
If in the area make sure you spend at least one night but preferably more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mildredCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
18.6 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
316 reviews
82.2 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
96 reviews
7.3 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.1 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
788 reviews
23.8 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
250 reviews
18.5 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barchan Dune Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barchan Dune Retreat

Property: Barchan Dune Retreat
Address: P. O. Box 9679, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sesriem
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Barchan Dune Retreat Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing