We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sesriem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barchan Dune Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Sesriem B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I travel a lot and this is probably one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. A small place, completely removed from the rest of the world (including being powered completely by solar) with amazing and welcoming hosts, huge, quiet and unique rooms built right into a dune. The dinners were spectacular. I would never hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

If you don't stay over at Barchan Dunes with Hannetje en Willem, you'll be missing a superb quiet, beautiful and neat. It's been built by the owners with a hang to perfection in details.
The bungalows are a part of the landscape and have the best sunrise view when you're lying in your kingsize bed!!
Willem's trips to Sossusvlei and around his farm for a game drive (including nice local stories) and Hannetjie's work around the house (and the kitchen!!) around are a good example of love for the country and hospitality.
We'll try to get back asap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AVochteloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Unfortunately we spend only one night in this lovely place. The beautifull room, the friendly welcome, the amazing views, the stars in the night! For us it was a incredible place to spend our first nigt & day in Namibia! We like to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeHaan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

At the bottom of the Spreegshoote Pass with no other buildings in sight, surrounded by the ancient dunes, this is a place where you really feel in touch with the magic of Africa. Solar panels and sensitively designed rooms which snuggle into the landscape give an eco-friendly feel to Willem and Hannetjie's home. Willem will take you on a tour around the farm to spot animals - a huge herd of oryx in our case - and watch the light change on the mountains as the sun begins to go down. A delicious home cooked evening meal is eaten round a large table with other guests and Willem and Hannetjie who make everybody very welcome and ensure a relaxed and enjoyable evening. We were lucky to have a clear night and I have never seen so many stars -no light pollution here. It is a unique and wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Loved this place, from the hospitality of Willem and Hannetjie, the pet meerkats, Cocoa the dog who took us on a guided walk, the distinctive design, the convivial dinners, the great food, the fabulous views and the changing colour of the landscape in the evening light...This place has a really personal touch - you share Willem and Hannetjie's home and like true 'guests' and there are no hidden costs. We expected at least to pay for our drinks as we left but Hannetjie said it was all included despite being the cheapest place we stayed at. Truly good value. Website doesn't do it justice - its very special, remote and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anarchy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Barchan Dune Retreat isn't the easiest place to get to. It's situated in the Central Namibian Desert about 220kms south of Windhoek and about 240kms from Walvis Bay it can take a long time to reach it - but this is one place definitely worth the effort.

My wife and I arrived here after a 6 hour drive from Windhoek owing to the fact that we flew in straight after the heavy rains the region had been having and much of the gravel road was washed away. One piece of advice we'd have if you are travelling anywhere south of Windhoek during the wet period is hire a 4wd. We didn't and the Spreegshoote Pass is something I'll never forget - mostly because my wife was convinced we weren't going to make it half the time. But we made it down eventually and then we came across something even more impassable as all the rain had resulted in several streams flowing across the road - on the last one before Barchan Dunes (about 5km out) - the car got stuck in a sandbank. Luckily we had one bar of phone signal and were able to call Hannetjie and she sent Willem to pull us out in his 4x4. I mention this story not to convince people that Barchan Dunes is a hard place to reach (we were just unlucky with the recent rains and our choice of vehicle) but rather because it shows the sorts of people Willem and Hannetjie are. We found them to be the perfect hosts, generous, kind and helpful.

Barchan Dunes is a really rare place. The rooms are built into the dunes themselves so the view down the valley is always unobstructed. We went while the desert was in bloom so it was incredibly beautiful but having seen photos of it when it is in the dry - red, baking sand vistas - we would love to go back in another season.

The rooms are very large and the beds comfortable, and as I've said the views from the balconies are exceptional. Another highlight of any stay at Barchan Dunes are the meals. All home-cooked and for the meat-eaters amongst you, normally consisting of exquisitely cooked game meat and vegetables. The wine also keeps on coming as Willem seems to hate seeing an empty glass. Both nights we were there we went back to our rooms full and more than a little tipsy.

One of the main reasons to stay at Barchan Dunes will be the trip to the Sossusvlei and we found going in with Willem to be was absolutely worth the extra cost. As well as having someone else drive - which after our journey down to Barchan Dunes we were very grateful for - Willem was an excellent guide. Walking with us to Deadvlei, showing us Dune 45 and showing us the various flora and fauna of the desert in bloom.

We also had a very enjoyable game drive around Willem's farm that evening where we saw bat-eared fox, his oryx, springbox and snake eagle. Then it was back to the house for another amazing meal and a well-deserved sleep.

Leaving Barchan Dune Retreat we knew it would be a place we would return to someday and recommend to all our friends. All I can add is that anyone making a trip to Namibia should visit this special place - even if none of the above particuarly grabs your fancy they mix the best gin and tonic I've had in years!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswithbitecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
18.6 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
313 reviews
82.2 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
95 reviews
7.3 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.1 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
779 reviews
23.8 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
246 reviews
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#14 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barchan Dune Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barchan Dune Retreat

Property: Barchan Dune Retreat
Address: P. O. Box 9679, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sesriem
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Barchan Dune Retreat Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing