We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at Hoodia for 3 nights. Superb location, extremely well appointed lodge, probably the best I've ever stayed at in Namibia. Beautiful setting and close to Sossusvlei. The meals were excellent, rooms beautiful, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. The staff are incredibly friendly and professional. All in all, highly recommended and looking forward to returning. For anyone interested in stargazing, the sky is wonderful with zero light pollution.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Northerner052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 407 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Hoodia Desert Lodge was our first stop after Windhoek on our tour of Namibia. Whilst we had done our homework,or at least we thought we had done our homework on journey times and routes using google maps and of course directions from the website, the journey from Windhoek to Sesame and the lodge did take a little bit longer than we anticipated it would. The D roads in Namibia are a unique experience in themselves! One of the staff at the Lodge laughed when we described it to them and referred to it as the Namibian massage. We arrived safe and sound with all (4 wheels of the 4x4 intact somehow) albeit tired and hungry. We were greeted at the door of the Lodge by a staff member with 2 glasses of ice tea that definitely hit the spot as well as two face cloths to wipe away some of the 5 hour journey from our faces! From the start the service was excellent- friendly and welcoming without being overwhelming. Our room was very comfortable, with tea and coffee facilities and a fridge in the room.The outdoor shower and bath are a nice touch,something a little bit different that works really well. The main lodge itself is charming. It is beautifully decorated and furnished with plenty of comfortable seats and couches where you can avail of the free wifi if you choose to do so.In the dining area there are tea and coffee facilities available to all with complimentary home made biscuits that were delicious. We stayed for two nights at the Desert Lodge and both nights the food was excellent. The starters in particular were delicious on both nights. It was a set menu ( they did enquire as to our dietary req but we aren't overly fussy!) but it was quite obviously something they pride themselves on. The first night the starter was hot beetroot and feta cheese in a filo pastry which for someone who isn't a massive beetroot fan was a pleasant surprise. We went on a day trip to Sossusvlei on our first morning. Our guide Peetrus was excellent and we had a lovely lunch with him under a tree at the end of our day trip that rounded off the day really well. The hike up the Dune in Sossusvlei is breathtaking and running down the dune into the Deadvlei was a surreal experience - its a lot of fun running down after a trek up. The only real negative we could find with the property is the Pool.If you were looking to stay here and lounge by the pool for a day it isn't really that sort of pool or pool area, but that wasn't an issue for us and not what we were there for. All in all would highly recommend the Desert Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyandSiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

What a place ! The location is stunning and the service supreme. Thomas and Henrietta are lovely hosts and will make your experience unforgettable. The sundowner in the property is breathtaking and not to be missed. Highly reccommend !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiliano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

One of the nicest places we have stayed anywhere in the world. Rooms are very comfortable with outdoor shower and bath and nice verandah with beautiful views .Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room and small fridge as well. There is also Coffee & Tea set up in the main area for all day use. Main area is beautifully furnished and a nice place o sit & relax. David, Angula, & Karina were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Very nice dining area with large fire in the middle, food was also very good.
We went on the day tour of Sossusvlie which is well worth the early start. Had an excellent lunch under the trees

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at beginning of recent tour of Namibia - absolutely fabulous place. Had a problem with our car but Tomas (the owner) quickly sorted everything out for us - what a gregarious guy and thought it was delightful his wandering round the restaurant each evening chatting to guests. Ungola (? spelling) was our guide for our day trip to Sossusvlei. Had a fabulous time and felt like Royalty when he laid out the table for lunch with a little stand of hot water for us to wash our hands. As someone previously said - if you don't like insects DO NOT leave your outside light on when you go for dinner. Our first night we had to battle through the crickets, moths and various flying insects to get through our door and quite a few got into the room!! Had a cool bath in the outside tub - just for the experience. Also had sight of our first Namibian sunset - awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haggisbasher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great lodge. Mountain view rooms, very stylish. With outdoor shower/tube. Great food and beverages at the lobby. Also wonderful back music. Better than anything, the service. The staff was very attentive. Beautiful decoration. Will definitively stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kartikmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hoodia, where we stayed for three nights came at the end of our overland visit to Namibia. It is a real oasis in an area which, though not short of accommodation, does not offer much by way of quality. The rooms are stretched out either side of the main building and offer every comfort including aircon. We loved the outside shower AND bath as well as little touches such as the small fridge so much that we spent one whole day there, just absorbing nature and taking a break from the road or activities. But what you MUST do is take the trip into Soussusvlei and the dunes, even though it will mean an 04:30 wake up, with guide and all time star, Johnathan. Not only is he incredibly knowledgeable but he will have you in stitches all day. An impeccable table is set up for lunch under a shady acacia tree, so in keeping with the whole quality of the place.

The small staff are a delight, the owners resident there to ensure you are looked after and can benefit from their extensive experiences of not just the area but Namibia as a country. Hoodia is a true oasis in every sense of the word.

Room Tip: Room 1. It is at the end of the line and has uninterrupted views to the sunset in the west. Nobody w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
44.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
111 reviews
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
151.7 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
843 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
535 reviews
9 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoodia Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoodia Desert Lodge

Address: | C19, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range: $589 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoodia Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoodia Desert Hotel Sesriem
Hoodia Desert Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing