We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I LOVED my stay at Hoodia. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with welcome drinks and a cool face cloth, we knew we were in for a wonderful treat. Thank you to Karina, David and the rest of the staff who made our 3 nights there so special and especially to Michael who's service was excellent. This guy spent over 4 hours fixing a major tyre problem that we had. He was working on it till past 10 pm at night and then again at 6am in the morning, and he did not stop smiling once! As we say in Australia 'that guy is a legend!'
The Lodges are superb, the swimming pool is next to a flowering tree that was covered in beautiful butterfies and was a great way to end the day after being in the dunes. Food was awesome. Eating our dinner out on the deck watching shooting stars (and a meteorite!) was sublime! Yes this lodge is a bit of a drive to get to the dunes but we did not care. I could have spent a week here. It was fantastic. Thanks Hoodia, we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshBarryOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    41
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
251
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weyarn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

this lodge has been one of the best during our ttrip. (the other one was camp kipwee in damaraland. Great food, lovely accommodation (outside shower with view) and extra ordinary friendly people. Highly recommended.. Beautiful located in absolute wilderness, 20 minutes drive from entrance to sossusvlei national park. Only 12 chalets (24 guests)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank all4witters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Thomas and Henreza and their team delivered an exceptional service for our four night stay. From our arrival to our departure we were made to feel a part of the 'family'. Their dinners are exceptional, Michelin star quality and their breakfasts are fit for a king. It's not too far from Sesriem and the entry gates to the Sossusvlei Dunes. The chalet (room) was clean and tastefully decorated, the outside bath / shower is a special addition. The team create a wonderful environment for relaxing and enjoying the quiet and expanse of the region. Thomas is clearly passionate about what they do and sets a high bar which the whole team gracefully meet, from wine lists to mosquito nets, all beautifully delivered. We highly recommend a stay at Hoodia Desert Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJEvertAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A perfect host - even if rather talktative - always available, friendly, helpful; superb surroundings, great accomodation, very good cuisine, a nice selection of reasonabely prices wines and knowledgeable and friendly guides. What more cam one wish for ? Well done Thomas and we can only recommend this great lodge.

Room Tip: all bungalows are similar, all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hoodia Desert Lodge and can recommend it highly. Great welcome from friendly staff, comfortable accommodation and excellent food.
Best of all for us was the total peace and exceptional atmosphere of this unique wilderness.
Make sure you choose a time when there is no moon to fully appreciate the wonder of the squillions of stars. You unlikely to experience anything as good!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstonJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am a frequent traveller but I have seldom experienced this level of service and personal attention from the owners.Great place,excellent food,great location (remote and at the same time close to Sesriem/Sossusvlei).I must confess I had some doubts when reading all the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor when planning my holiday, but I can only say i fully share these ratings!!

Room Tip: all rooms are in seperate huts, so they are all OK, but i would suggest to get as far away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This lodge is set in solitary splendour adjacent to the - mostly dry -Tsauchaub River. It is perfectly set off against an ever changing sky and the Tsarisberge Mountains.

The bar, dining and deck areas are spacious.The staff were professiona,l friendly and attentive. We loved the food

When traveling to Hoodia from Windhoek a stone from an overtaking vechile totally took out the rear passengers side window of our hired vechile. While we had a fantastic day touring the dunes manager Thomasz generously spent part of his birthday fitting a makeshift card window to keep the dust out during the return journey. His thoughtfulness is as memorable as the scenary and animals we encounered in the area

Hoodia Desert Lodge is understated, good value and a great place to chill out. We would love to stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
44.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
99 reviews
17.1 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
11.3 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
803 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
492 reviews
8.4 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoodia Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoodia Desert Lodge

Property: Hoodia Desert Lodge
Address: Town Area: Sesriem | PO Box: 250, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoodia Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoodia Desert Hotel Sesriem
Hoodia Desert Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing