We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hoodia Desert Lodge and can recommend it highly. Great welcome from friendly staff, comfortable accommodation and excellent food.
Best of all for us was the total peace and exceptional atmosphere of this unique wilderness.
Make sure you choose a time when there is no moon to fully appreciate the wonder of the squillions of stars. You unlikely to experience anything as good!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstonJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
234
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am a frequent traveller but I have seldom experienced this level of service and personal attention from the owners.Great place,excellent food,great location (remote and at the same time close to Sesriem/Sossusvlei).I must confess I had some doubts when reading all the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor when planning my holiday, but I can only say i fully share these ratings!!

Room Tip: all rooms are in seperate huts, so they are all OK, but i would suggest to get as far away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This lodge is set in solitary splendour adjacent to the - mostly dry -Tsauchaub River. It is perfectly set off against an ever changing sky and the Tsarisberge Mountains.

The bar, dining and deck areas are spacious.The staff were professiona,l friendly and attentive. We loved the food

When traveling to Hoodia from Windhoek a stone from an overtaking vechile totally took out the rear passengers side window of our hired vechile. While we had a fantastic day touring the dunes manager Thomasz generously spent part of his birthday fitting a makeshift card window to keep the dust out during the return journey. His thoughtfulness is as memorable as the scenary and animals we encounered in the area

Hoodia Desert Lodge is understated, good value and a great place to chill out. We would love to stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
306 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fantastic! This very elegant and charming lodge is situated in the middle of nowhere, by a dark mountain, with isolated bungalows clean and very pretty. The staff is extremely kind and professional, clear sign of a perfect management by the owner, Thomasz, Polish. The food was excellent, the communal areas beautiful, the view breath-taking, the drive to Sossusvlei and the Namib Desert with its red dunes unforgettable! Lunch among the dunes with a perfectly laid table, white tablecloth and white china, great food, how water to wash your hands, was something we always dreamed of! Everything made even more perfect by our gentleman driver, ‘Ngula.
Highly recommended even to young families, the lodge being in a very safe location, with no threatening animals in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

After a super long bumpy drive from Walvis Bay we arrived at Hoodia Lodge and were greeted with a refreshing welcome drink and a hot towel. It was just the perfect welcome after driving in the heat all day. We were originally booked for two nights but we loved it so much that we just had to squeeze in an extra day. It's simply put one of the most relaxing spots on this earth. Truly. We took part in one of the day trips exploring Sossusvlei with Angulu who was very knowledgable. Very much worth doing the day trip. We ended the day with a fantastic picnic. The lodge itself is very intimate and has a nice pool where you could easily spend hours without noticing the time passing. We ended each evening watching the sunset...breathtaking...so many beautiful colours. We ended each night outside watching the stars. I've never seen so many stars. You could easily spot the constellations and the milky way. Loved our stay at Hoodia Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Arrival - welcome drink and hot towels, shown to AND through the room, guided through the entire lodge on arrival, details given of additional activities offered by the lodge. Excellent welcome

Accommodation - about 12 individual luxury tents/rooms, comfy twin beds pushed together, safe provided, coffee/tea facilities, separate loo, shower, washbasin, outdoor bath and shower also, 2 lounge chairs and small table, lamps, air conditioner/heater, fridge, mosquito net, extra blankets, insect spray, outdoor table and chairs, under cover sitting area, park car outside room. No overhead fan, curtains thin (so no sleeping in), no fly screens on windows, or screen doors (to let breeze in).

Main Lodge - large, open plan area, fully enclosed (windows etc) with deck doors opening out on decking area, bar area with bar stools, plenty of lounges and chairs (in separate settings, if you want privacy), dim lighting, African music playing, a TV near bar area, open fire place, toilet facilities. The dining area was attached to the main lodge, table’s setup for individual guests depending on your group numbers (not communal). The deck area faced the river (dry when we stayed), outdoor lounges and chairs, and tables to eat at also. Really nice evening atmosphere, felt like after dinner you could recline in a lounge and relax (instead of being sent to your room with a full stomach!). A small plunge pool was to the side of the decked area, with chairs and sun lounges. The main lodge was cosy, clean, well-spaced out, well furnished (good quality furnishings) and was the best we experienced during our 5 week African trip.

Meals & timing - Quality of food outstanding, any allergies or requirements will be asked from you upon arrival. Dinner was served around 6.30pm, we arrived in the main lodge area at 5.30pm for per-dinner drinks, to relax a bit. No pressure to eat at 6.30pm, we sat down at 7.15pm, no hassle. Dinner was a starter, main and dessert. All meals were really great quality, small portion sizes but this means you can get through all courses. Well-paced, no pressure to hurry up and eat quickly. Breakfast served at your specified time, basic hot and cold options. Breakfast pack consisted of ham & cheese sandwich, hardboiled egg (salt provided), chicken sausage, yoghurt, fruit juice, apple, muesli energy bar, serviette. We did not eat lunch during our stay.

Reservations - Booked via lodge website online and selected to use hoodia@exclusive.com.na. Efficient and professional. We chose to do a bank transfer instead of manual credit card form.

Activities offered - Sossusvlei dune excursion, all day sunrise to 4pm (permit, lunch and drinks provided N$1200 p/p); Sun downer on hills nearby (N$250p/p) and Namib Naukluft mountain excursion, all day 7am to 3pm (lunch and drinks provided N$ 1200p/p).

Bonus – free wifi provided in main lodge, limited cellphone coverage.

Advice - if you have 4WD you can do the Sossusvlei Dunes trip on your own, leave lodge 45mins before sunrise, wait in queue at Sesriem gate, drive through 1st gate, park at large building on right side after gate 1 and get your permit! (restaurant, toilets, bar & permit building). We waited 20mins here and were 5th in queue. Shop here sells cigarettes, booze and camping food. Outside NWR entrance was a petrol station. It's about 45 mins to dune 45, then another 20 mins to 2WD car park (toilets), then another 10 mins on serious sand (4WD only!!!!!!) to that car park area - then climb, walk to other dunes (Dead Vlei, Hidden Vlei & Sossusvlei). The best light for photography is early morning or late afternoon (gates close at sunset). Organize breakfast pack with lodge night before and they place it in your fridge. We left lodge at 6.00am, arrived back at 11.30am (didn't climb every dune though).

Hint - you can stock the mini fridge and have wine/beer on your veranda for sunset, or while your read. We purchased some slices from Solitaire bakery and placed in the fridge for later days.

Travel - left Walvis Bay around 7.30am via C14 except we got trapped in a sand storm (really bad!) just short of the tar road ending, turned back and drove via Swakopmund, heading for the C28, then via the 2 permit roads cutting through the Namib Desert Park, back on the C14 towards Solitaire - stopped at bakery here (must do, amazing pies, sausage rolls, coffee, cakes, slices) fuelled up, them 45 mins to lodge, its just past Sesriem turn off. Trip time total 6.5 hours (loo breaks, photos, food and detour).

Best - main lodge was superb, no rush to finish dinner, high quality food served, committed and friendly staff, great breakfast pack for morning trip to Sossusvlei and Dunes, peaceful setting.

Improvements - noisy fridge in room (hint: turn it off at night), fly screens on some windows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DacPsaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We loved Hoodia, from the first greeting by Thomas. He and is wife are doing a really good job here. Angula was a wonderful host and guide up the dunes and the lunch excursion. The rooms are lovely, the food very good and such a great place to stay. Very close 20 min drive to the Park entrance. Beautiful and if you can do a Balloon trip too! Lovely outdoor bathroom. tea/coffee in room, safe, hairdrier, wonderful configuration in the room. The best shampoo ever had too! Thank you Hoodia for a very memorable 2 nights spent with you!

Room Tip: They are all the same and great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
44.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.9 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
9.0 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
8.4 mi away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoodia Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoodia Desert Lodge

Property: Hoodia Desert Lodge
Address: Town Area: Sesriem | PO Box: 250, Sesriem, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoodia Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoodia Desert Hotel Sesriem
Hoodia Desert Lodge Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing