We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sesriem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My parents and I stayed at Little Sossus for two nights and had a lovely time. Pierre took us on a drive to the sand dunes early in the morning, we had breakfast at the base of the dunes and then proceeded to climb one and run down the side towards a pan. All the staff were very welcoming and the food was also very nice - especially the tea time carrot cake!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    57
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
52
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Totally agree with other reviewers. I struggled to find accommodation for 10 of us and this was almost a last resort. If only I had known. Fabulous dinner and very comfortable rooms with expansive views. Well organised and great breakfast. It was a stop over and nothing to do except head to the dunes.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Sesriem. Had we known it was such a nice place, we would have booked for more nights and then only drive the small distance to the Sossusvlei Dunes and Canyon (there are park fees involved). Our campsite had 2 seperate bathrooms, each with loo, basin and shower and it was very spacious. It also came with a little kitchenette - perfect washing up facility. Would have been perfect if it had a lockable door, but we were over the moon. The campsite had a shed, high and big enough for our two 4x4's to park there and enough space for our rooftop tents to be sheltered against the wind.
If I have to mention a negative, it would be that the shop wasn't open when we went there to buy fire wood.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great place to stay, only 30 min. from the entrance of the park. Friendly and helpfull staff. But the chef in the kitchen, mother, is the best! Every night 4 course diner and they take care of you, if you are having a special diet.

Cabins are nice, nut basis. The only thing, the bedlinnen was old, with holes and stains, a pitty!

Room Tip: They have a camp site too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemieke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

As you might have noticed, the lodging options around Sossusvlei tend to be either super-expensive luxury lodges or super-cheap campsites and a few rundown B&Bs. Little Sossus is the perfect middle-ground option and represents exceptional value for money.

The cottages are basic but clean and comfortable, most of them with a nice patio and a beautiful view over the plains toward the mountains.

We particularly enjoyed the pool area, since there is not much more to do during the heat of the day. We hit the dunes from sunrise to about 10am, and again in late afternoon, but for the rest of the day we lounged around the pool. Just a small splash pool, but surrounded by some comfy shaded chaise lounges. There is also an "honor bar" where you can grab a beer or soda, so it makes for a wonderful lazy afternoon.

Every single person on staff was friendly and helpful, and made us feel completely at home. The meals were simple but delicious, prepared largely with produce from the lodge's own greenhouse.

The lodge is about a 45-minute drive from the Sesriem gate, which is the entrance for Sossusvlei, which we found reasonable. If you want to be right outside the gate, you'll pay double or triple for the convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very friendly place with great service and food. It's slightly further away from the entrance to the park than some of the other lodges, but it still only takes 30 mins to get to the gates.

There is a great self-guided walk around the surrounding grassland. The restaurant was very good in the evening and there is a small pool for swimming. For breakfast they gave us a packed meal to take to the dunes.

Overall I'd definitely go back. It's quite pricey but then again everywhere in the area is. One minor thing is that the bathroom within the rooms is not very enclosed so you don't get much privacy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a lovely little chalet - nice big bathroom with natural stone, water is heated by an outside donkey (wood stove) - everything very clean except for the sand which you cannot avoid bringing in. The food was probably the best we had in two weeks traveling in Namibia - great breakfast and a four course dinner every night. I don't eat meat and was served a very tasty bobotie (curry) with lentils instead of meat. We did a tour with Jandré, one of the three sons, to Sossusvlei and the Sesriem Canyon - absolutely worth while, he knows so much and can tell interesting stories. All in all a very special place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
44.3 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
99 reviews
10.5 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
11.2 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
801 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Kulala Desert Lodge
15.3 mi away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site

Property: Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site
Address: Cnr of C19 & D854, Sesriem 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sesriem
Hotel Class:2 star — Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this exquisite location, you will be accommodated in stylish stone chalets, built from the local occurring rock. A Little Sossus Lodge will ensure you an unforgettable stay in the tranquil desert surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Sossus Lodge & Camp Site Namibia/Sesriem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing