We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but would not go back to Mykonos.”
Review of Deliades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deliades Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Ornos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked a superior room with a sea view, which was not available for the first of our 6 nights. Moved next morning, and the sea view room deffinitely worth it. Large, about 25sq mts. balcony with view of 2 bays. Was a bit windy at times, so could not always use it. Beach is sheltered though. They will let you take sunbeds from the pool area to your balcony.
Good size room, large 4 poster bed - did creak a bit.
Very good breakfast. Continental, but you can order fried / scrambled eggs.
Ate dinner here twice. Food is quite acceptable, but withought being spectacular, but the view is superb if you make sure you have an outside table,.
Pool is fairly minute. Didn't use it. they do have a sun terrace with a hot tub.

The hotel is located up a steep hill, about 100 mts from the beach. Decent beach at Ornos. Sunbeds €6 for 2. We did catch the boat one morning to one of the southern beaches. Charge you 16 euro for 2 sunbeds! Also deffinatly not for the homophobic.
Takes about 45 mins to an hour to walk into Mykonos town. Otherwise a good local bus service. Think it was €1-60 each way.
Prices on Mykonos are about half as much again as on Naxos. It's also much more cosmopolitan - less 'Greek'.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Recommend the boat trip to Delos. Ancient ruins etc. Well worth the visit.

If I ever came back to mykonos, I would stay at the Deliades again, but as I was less keen on the island, will probably not. Would not want to put anyon off visiting once, but I think there are a lot more Islands I would go to first before I went back.

Room Tip: Choose a superior sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Deliades Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are very experienced travelers and we have been to Mykonos a dozen times, so we know the island and its accommodations. We were traveling with another family and wanted to select a hotel that better fit our friends' price range. After an extensive search through several sites (including Trip Advisor, unfortunately), we settled on the Deliades. The reviews were too good to be true (literally) and the value was nowhere near the price. And, we probably should have been tipped off when they asked for a three-day, non-refundable advance, but weren't.

The pick-up at the airport was perfect but, unfortunately, the highlight of the trip. It was when we checked in and went to our room that the surprises began. We specifically asked and paid for for a two-bedroom and two-bathroom arrangement, since we have an older daughter and everyone likes their space. The actual "suite" was a tiny bedroom with a bed that barely qualified as a double (advertised as a king), with the second "room" being two twin beds sitting in the living room, behind the couch. When we asked what happened to the room we booked they told us "you got it, two rooms and two bathrooms." Only after checking on their website site and pushing on them a little did we discover that they had the room we actually booked - only they gave it to another family!

We immediately began looking for an alternative hotel (and amazingly for July, found it) but it wasn't available for two days. We informed the hotel we were leaving after only two days, and why we were leaving, but there was no offer of a refund for the third day, despite acknowledging that we didn't get the room we requested and paid for.

While stuck there for two days, we got to learn all the unfortunate little secrets about the hotel. On the first morning, when I went to get breakfast at the buffet, I found three disgustingly dirty dishes in the first five in touched. I showed them to the apparently overworked and harried staff and the response was "uh, sorry." After that, I cleaned any dish I touched before using it. The swimming pool (which was about 1/3 the size of its picture on their site) was situated under an electrical transformer, which is something to think about in the 30-50 mph wind gusts typical of Ornos. We were in what was supposed to be one of the best rooms, which was situated immediately above the road (which, fortunately, was fairly quiet after about 1am or so). I could go on, but why.

At $200-250 dollars a night, this room would have been a fair value. At $500 a night (even for July in Mykonos), it was highway robbery. When you add in the arrogant and dismissive attitude of the owner and the distracted and harried nature of the staff (factors I assume are related), you have a hotel only fit for people who have no other alternative.

Also, I have to question Trip Advisor's role in this unfortunate incident - since out of 81 current reviews there are 60 excellent, 2 average, 1 poor, and 1 terrible. This hotel isn't terrible but it's difficult to imagine that nearly 80% of real, authentic, UNCOMPENSATED people actually made these judgments. It seems much more likely that, despite the prominent notices of zero tolerance by Trip Advisor, that these reviews were by paid hacks.

This hotel isn't terrible but, for this kind of money, there are at least a dozen (two dozen?) better options on Mykonos. Do yourself a favor and find one of them.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlwaysWatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyriadis, Manager at Deliades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments.
It does not matter if they are good or bad because especially the second kind of comments are needed the most
However we would like to make some notes from our side as well.
Firstly no one can judge our past guests statements and be surprised that they liked our hotel. Taste is subjective and when an individual is surprised by others critics in a bad way is rude not to say odious. It is also odious when you implying that the critics are fake (???).If you do not believe tripadvisor.com you can check booking.com critics, holidaycheck.com and expedia.com.
Are all fake?? We do not think so and additionally we do not push our guests to write to these sites as we consider that to be immoral.
Furthermore, the specific Suite is 60 sqm big. It has two bathrooms two rooms (one bedroom with double bed and one living room with two single beds and one couch bed). We can understand that an individual may not like the layout space and the decoration but we do not accept to accuse us that we cheated by giving a Junior Suite or whatever. Nowhere in our site is mentioned two bedrooms, two bathrooms suite. We say two rooms two bathrooms suite. In addition all our mattresses are King size as promised (in European Measurement). We never promised Super King, or Imperial, or a California King neither an Eastern King.
Moreover, we asked 3 days deposit to guarantee the reservation as every hotel does since the booking made during winter, concerns almost two weeks stay, when other hotels ask for 50%. We kept it all as the guests stayed there for two days and the third as cancellation fee, because the room we obligate to offer was the one they took. However, before charge it the manager of the hotel had already agreed with our guests to be charged one more night to those they stayed as for us was too difficult to resell this room for 14 days (and their friends’ 14 days, total 28). The guest seemed to understand and his word was “we appreciate”! Other hotels charge the whole stay if something like that happens. We let them go without charging them anything else as we did not want ruin their vacations. In addition, we offer them another Suite (modern this time) with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and one living room but they did not want it as well.
Concerning the swimming pool, if you look carefully the pictures (especially #8 and #7 of the photo gallery) everyone can see that the dimensions are 4 round tables by 2 sunbeds. How big is a round table and how long can be a sun bed?
However, all these notes are very welcome from all of our guests because as we said on top this is how we learn and improve ourselves to offer high quality stay and services to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Wonderful location, close to the beach and a short trip into Mykonos town (3 km s).
Its has a boutique/family run atmosphere where the staff were incredibly helpful, professional and friendly. Ornos was a great location.
Had one of the best meals on the island at the hotel restaurant - a pleasant surprise! Try the risotto and the meat balls!
Planning to go back and stay there again next year!
Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: There are newly designed rooms which you can request.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Met at the airport by the hotel "van" and the friendliness and helpfuness from the staff continued rom there. lt is quite a small hotel , built on a hillside which wouldn't suit some, but meant great views if near the top as we were. Also great sunsets...
We were 3 friends adn had a huge room with 2 beds, plus another room off with another bed as well as a huge bathroom. The staff were friendly and more than helpful, explaining bus times (3km to Mykonos town and about 10 minutes away - buses about every 30 minutes, and going at the weekend until about 2am), and also helping sort a trip to Delos. The breakfast buffet was lovely ancould be eaten inside, or out (with the view of the bay). Would definately go back. The bay is about a 5 minute walk and there are plenty of eating places tro chose from there.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms higher up, so as to get the best view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were lucky to stay in a room on one of the top floors meaning we could see Ornos beach and the beach on the other side of the bay. The deck was enormous and our two deck chairs and an outdoor table. The room was large with a nice big bath in the bathroom which was lovely for relaxing.
There is a pool and a spa on another level and lots of private and public space to relax.
The beach and restaurants were a 2 minute walk down the road.
The employees were lovely, even replacing a bottle of white white because I hadn't acquired the taste of a certain type of Greek wine.
Only suggestion would be to paint everything in the room that was dark wood white... but that's just me with a romantic vision of Greece!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are the best
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderlusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Like the Corona commercial, laying on the beach sipping Corona's. White sand beach, quiet , close to all , nearby Starbucks , good restaurants. Hotel was clean, good value for family, good breakfast, nice pool. Had a very nice time there.

Room Tip: All nice rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_nyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

we stayed here in July 2011, expecting a fantastic hotel after being checked in, in there nice lobby. The lobby and restaurant area are very nice.... the rooms are bad though

we were on the first floor of the hotel, and the room was dark and old looking. The bedding was old looking, and needed to be replaced. The bathroom was large, but we found ants everywhere. the bed was pretty hard, but managed a good nights sleep.

Great view of Ornos beach!!! and a nice roof deck with a great view as well.

English with the staff was not to great, but hey your in another country right? They do there best, and English speakers should be OK. There are a few restaurants by the beach. Cuzzina's seems to be the spot to go... we thought it was HORRIBLE. It's a trendy modern restaurant, but the staff is rude, and the food was bad. It was our worst and one of our priciest meals on Mykonos. The price for us wasnt the issue, it was the quality of food, and staff that ruined this restaurant. All the other restaurants we went to by the hotel we delicious.

overall the hotel is OK, The staff was nice, but the rooms are old and beat up.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odgamma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
0.4 mi away
Corfos Hotel
Corfos Hotel
#8 of 22 in Ornos
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dionysos Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
Mykonos Ammos Hotel
#5 of 22 in Ornos
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
Acrogiali Beach Hotel
#9 of 26 in Platys Gialos
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#10 of 22 in Ornos
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kivotos Mykonos
Kivotos Mykonos
#6 of 22 in Ornos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deliades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deliades Hotel

Address: Ornos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
#8 Family Hotel in Ornos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
Price Range: $103 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deliades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deliades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deliades Hotel Ornos
Deliades Hotel Mykonos/Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing