We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, beautiful rooms, amazing views, good food, cool beach....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Marina - A Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Ornos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The staff at the hotel (particularly Maria and Georgia) could not have been more helpful - particularly when we arrived with my daughter's leg in plaster ! They arranged for a buggy for us and upgraded our party to a stunning 4 bed villa. The resort is great for couples or kids - lots of places to sit either by the pools or on the beach and even though the hotel was full it did not seem at all crowded. One word of warning for elderly or people with young kids - the resort is very child friendly - but it is built on a hill so there are many slopes and steps !! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 346 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Santa Marina is one of the nicest places to stay in Mykonos in my experience. I'd never been there before and was delighted by the gorgeous private beach - making to possible to avoid having to jostle with hundreds of tourists for lounges and umbrellas as you usually have to do on the public beaches. They have one of the best DJs playing there during the day at the beach bar and the beach is the perfect size to relax. The only thing I would say is that clearly this hotel has not fully developed their kids policy as they seem to intermix families and copules on the beach - whereas other resorts I've been to around the world generally try to keep part of the beach more focussed on families so couples can chill without all the ruckus. I love kids but I don't want to listen to their screaming & shouting when my husband and I are having a romantic getaway. I understand that years ago Santa Marina used to be more couples/singles focussed (which is why we booked on the recommendation of a single friend) and it seems they haven't quite worked out the balance of how to blend them better.
Also they need to give some though on how to manage the room allocations of families and singles/couples as well as our enjoyment of our beautiful room was a little marred by the screaming kids next door.

The breakfast bar is amazing - outstanding quality and choice. Definately try the local dishes. We had lunch in the beach bar every day and the food was very good and fresh. Thanks to George and Haris and Liani and Labrini for all the attentive friendly service over the week.

Front desk gave us some brilliant restaurant recommendations and were very helpful in making bookings for us.

In terms of rooms - the bed in our room was sensationl. we slept so well.

However make sure to ask for one of the more recently decorated rooms and I'd suggest staying away from the ones near the tennis courts as its really windy along there and the shutters can bang (we popped in to visit another couple staying in those rooms).

I tried one spa treatment during the week and found it pleasant & staff helpful. Used the gym twice - it is well provided with fabulous mesmerising views. However the airconditioning was never on - the fan was going but the cooling function wasn't on and when I tried to investigate the control panels were all taped up with warning signs. This is a very poor approach, particularly for an expensive 5 star resort - it suggests penny pinching, treats guests like children and is also dangerous for people working out if they get overheated. I would have thought it would be better to leave the controls accessible and post a sign asking guests to switch the cooling off when they are leaving the gym. I would also suggest banning children under the ge of 16 from using the gym as I witnessed teenage boys mucking around with the equipment for fun - risking doing themselves an injury, damaging the equipment to the detiriment of other guests and generally treating the gym like play equipment.

However despite these minor complaints Santa Marina we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we were to visit Mykonos again would happily stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid tennis court rooms and ask for the more recently renovated. Higher levels of resort are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluspark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Beautifully renovated lobby, immaculate expansive grounds, attentive genuinely friendly service. Smiles and greetings everywhere.

Easy transfer from airport. Seamless check in. Room modern but with a real "Greek island" feel. Well stocked with comfort items such as slippers etc. Private beach with calm waters, umbrellas, chairs. Very well kept.

Would return without a question. Would recommend to families and couples.

Not a single bad thing to say!


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Androniki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel has a great location, the staff is very very nice and kind. The beach of the hotel is superb.our room was a bit small but with a gorgious view on ornos bay. It is our second year at santa marina and i will definatly choose the same hotel for next summer .

Room Tip: Stairs are a small problem in the hotel. Unless your room is accessable by the first elevator it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Second year in a row to the island of Mykonos and to the hotel of Santa Marina in particular. The hotel is getting better every year. New facilities, new suites and renovated lobby. The staff was rather friendly and helpful. Looking forward to visit the island and the hotel next year

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_natos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

So when arriving from sanatorina to Mykonos where we stayed at it's "sister" hotel, we were shocked. After a terrible flying cat boat ride, we arrive to have no one there to pick us up. They were apparently at the other port, and we were stuck in mykonp town for an hour before they figured out their mistake. So Fter forgiving and forgetting, we arrive to the ugliest room I've ever seen. It's was like entering a La Quinta. Cheaper looking furniture than a college dorm room, rust on the bath tub, ghetto drawers... Just a mess. The lovely gal showing us our room said "you don't look happy" for which I said I was extremely tired which in my lingo meant this place is atrocious. We toured the grounds which is gigantic and it made us more depressed zo we immediately called our agent at Amex and had them find us another hotel, and yes this is a Friday in august, and then walked into the closest town to grab some dinner. The hotel has an amazing view, the service is not as bad as people have said, well, I guess it depends, but no one is ever poolside, so I guess it's easy to get waited on when there's two people serving two. the hotel is SWARMED with children everywhere. EVERYWHERE! Crying babies, Italian kids yelling in their cute demeanor, american kids screMing I have a fish! I love kids, but not on vacation, it's like they outnumbered the audults. The play area for them looks like a ghetto playground at an orphanage with all the fisher price slides they could find on eBay. The beach area wasn't horrible for us to get chairs at noon, the right side though is LOUD because apparently they thinks it's cool to have a dj playing annoying Eurotrash beats all day, but the left side away was great other than the kids who should be banned from that side of the beach. The food is whatever, what ud find at a dumb all inclusive place in mexico, except this isn't all inclusive, and the waiters are kind and attentive. The "shuttle" service to Mykonos town only happens 3 times a day, good luck getting back. At nightime there are no cabs on the island and we had to walk back and when we finally got back, we see thAt no turndown service has occurred and dirty towels filling the rusty bathtub. The front deskman was a jerk when we called saying "maybe you left the do not disturb sign on the door"... Are you kidding me!?! And then says there's no one to provide ther service now and no one can bring us towels. I then pulled out the American rage and a boy was sent right up with fresh towels. not to mention music and lights were blaring from the beach party they were having and it was 4 in the morning. For a place I would only recommend to families, music blaring through the windows at 4am is unacceptable... This place doesn't know what it wants to be. I feel sorry for the wonderful staff, minus a few, who work at this dump.... Star wood needs to drop this joke of a hotel. Our 5 night stay became 2 due to high season, we switched to the mykonos blu.

Room Tip: Run away! Most rooms are terrible, and everything is surrounded by Italian children yelling hello an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RyFy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It was our second successive vacation at Santa Marinai and it just keeps getting better.
We stayed in a newly refurbished suite close to the main building. The facilities are excellent and the staff are exceptionally helpful.
We will return again next year for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
0.4 mi away
Kivotos Mykonos
Kivotos Mykonos
#6 of 22 in Ornos
229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Mykonos Blu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Platys Gialos
987 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cavo Tagoo
Cavo Tagoo
#20 of 82 in Mykonos Town
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#1 of 26 in Platys Gialos
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina - A Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina - A Luxury Collection Resort

Address: Ornos Bay, Ornos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ornos
#4 Spa Hotel in Ornos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ornos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ornos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ornos
Price Range: $452 - $1,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Marina - A Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Marina is an uber-luxe retreat for explorers and collectors of the world’s island idyll experiences. Set overlooking the exquisite and iconic Ornos Bay, Santa Marina crucially commands the only private beach on Mykonos, making its transparent turquoise waters and white silk sands a genuine sanctuary from the public eye. Rooms and suites all have beautifully refurbished designer interiors and panoramic sea views from their individual balconies. Our private villas were built to take maximum advantage of the spectacular sea views, while affording the utmost privacy to guests. Throughout the property, traditional, sugar-cube Mykonian architecture is woven through sparkling private pools, terraces and lush gardens. Santa Marina Mykonos houses the worlds first, Buddha-Bar Beach Restaurant as well as a fully renovated pool restaurant. Be pampered with the finest Spa treatments in the new GInkgo Spa, relax on our private beach or refresh with a dip in the breathtaking Oasis Pool. Guests also can look forward to a completely redesigned concept for all rooms, suites and suites with private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina - A Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Resort & Villas Hotel Ornos
Santa Marina Resort And Villas
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina - A Luxury Collection Resort Mykonos/Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing