We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anixi Hotel Mykonos
Ranked #2 of 8 Ornos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks here. Sent email beforehand wondering if we could have sea view etc, what a suprise when we turned up. We were given a stunning groundfloor room with a spectacular sea view. The room was cleaned everyday and towels were replaced everyday, it was absolutely spotless, the cleaner does a cracking job. We had a modern double bed, kettle fridge and small rings for cooking and a tv. Air conditioning was free which saves a fortune. Safes in rooms were a euro a day so cheap. The owners are the friendliest, most helpful people you could wish to meet...Continental breakfast was 5 euros which includes nice coffee, lovely fresh bread, jam, honey and butter, I really enjoyed my stay here and will definately be going back........but not with Thomson who have pulled out of Mykonos, all they seem to want to do is make more money long haul..The rep wasnt much cop any way and prices on Thomson planes are more expensive than Mykonos itself which is saying something....Book this hotel its lovely and Easyjet and Olympic still go there.

Room Tip: Sorry cant say just ask for a sea view......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephenpepperday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Anixi Studios, Mykonos …..The Windy Island

Having travelled to a number of Greek Islands in the past, I was surprised to find, how different Mykonos compares.
Apart from its obvious claim to fame, the island, in real terms is expensive and very commercial, partly due to its virtual monopoly on the ‘Pink Pound’, visiting cruise ships and airport landing fees, that exceed, even Heathrow.
That said, the Anixi and its owners, have tried to retain the old virtues, providing a very warm welcome, extremely clean apartments, with a number of thoughtful touches.

The Studios.

Situated in 2 storey blocks, some with sea views.
Depending on your luck, the sea-view rooms are light and functional (we were in room 9a), providing limited self catering facilities, such as a one, usable ring electric hob and electric kettle. A fridge with small freezer compartment (completely iced up on ours, due to a broken compartment door) 2 mugs, 2 glass tumblers a few bowls and plates and just enough knife and forks.
Washing up was difficult, due to the lack of a washing bowl and no sink plugs.
In my opinion, self catering is probably a non starter, but I am sure some people, could manage, basic fair, as long as they boiled, or fried.
We had a double bed, which was a little hard, but we got used to it. Sheets were changed daily.
Free Air- con , was very welcome at night.
Shower facilities and bathroom were excellent. Towels were changed daily.
We experienced a number of power cuts during our 7 night stay, so a torch would be handy, as the emergency lighting did not function in our room.
The owners have provided, free WI-FI, which is usable and very handy for finding restaurants and other facilities on the island, as well as keeping in touch with home.
On the whole we would agree with all the positive points made in previous reviews.

Location.

Although previous reviewers have mentioned the wind, nothing prepares you for the ‘Meltemi’, the Greek version of the ‘Mistral,’ which can blow, from Mid- May, to Mid- September.
The Anixi Studios are situated, above Korfos Bay and exposed to the full force of the ‘Meltemi’, there is absolutely, no where to hide, with winds reaching 50/60 mph, continuously, no let up, day,or night.
During our 7 night stay, we experienced the full force, for 6 days, without a gap, it is virtually impossible to sit out on your terrace, we did try and lost our breakfast, which did, however, please the cats.
The Apartments, facing the road, faired a little better, but then suffered with a lot of noise, from what is, in truth, the only main road to Ornos Beach and Ag Ioannis, (Shirley Valentines Beach).
If you can ignore the wind and traffic noise and it is obvious from previous reviews that some people could, then you will find that the Anixi is well positioned for Supermarkets, Bakery and Ornos Beach, a 10 minute, rather precarious walk, along a narrow road, trying to avoid some of the worst driving, this side of Crete. You need to be very careful at night, as a number of street lights are broken, not forgetting the numerous power cuts, with few pavements, again carry a torch, for safeties sake.

To Conclude

Thomson, the company we travelled with, decided to pull out of Mykonos for 2013, against a background of substantial losses.
We did feel sorry for the two reps, who, on the face of it, in our opinion, have put a lot of effort into promoting the island, perhaps the powers that be, at Thomson, should have taken some local advice, before making a decision.
However any company trying to co-exist, with the many issues facing the Greek economy and the massive environmental problems facing Mykonos, with its weak infrastructure, restaurant monopolies and I dare say, fair share of corruption, has a difficult path to climb.
Which, in my opinion, is a real shame. The owners of the Anixi, prove that the old ways, were best and I wish them well, they deserve it!

Room Tip: Sea-View rooms are the best, but can be exposed to the Meltimi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puffin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Having spent many fabulous holidays in Greece I'm aware that accommodation can be rather basic. Absolutely not the case here. A kettle, shower curtain, tv and air conditioning all came as standard. Quality fixtures and fittings. Spotless and thoroughly cleaned every day. Matched with the short airport transfer, short walk to beach and tavernas and easy access to Mykonos town all make this a winning combination.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

it was such a great trip. we had only booked the first two nights, then went to Santorini and asked if they would have room when we got back. We were 4 instead of 3 and ended up having a great family room with kitchen and renovated bathroom. All facilities were clean renovated and the staff super friendly. the transfers were on time and we loved every minute of our stay. Unfortunately we we never got up on time for breakfast - but i heard it was great and only 5 euros!!! would DEF recommend!

Room Tip: all the rooms that we saw had a "view", essentially you are 3 minutes from Ornos Beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tambli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Hotel was very clean and friendly and excellently located only minutes from the beach. The only disappointment was it was very windy most of the time which meant we could not site on the balcony at any time of the day, which usually enjoy as part of my holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Cant describe the outstanding service I received from Eleni and her mum and dad, nothing is too much trouble...
My room was spotlessly clean, with beautiful views,
Spectacular Ornos vbeach 300 meters away, lots of supermarkets near by, excellent restaurants, including a dinner table for one or more right on the beach....
Mykonos city a 20 minute steep walk if u are up to it, or a local bus for a euro and it gets u in town in less then 10 minutes.
Overall stay Outstanding!
Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolliBenizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Absolutely brilliant - the hosts could not have been better and the apartments no cleaner. It was fantastic. Worry not that it's not in Mykonos Town. It has its own beach 2 mins away, restaurants galore and a taxi into town costs between 5 and 10 euros and you wont be part of the maddening crowd. The hotel will sort out a taxi for you and a beach taxi from just down the road takes you all over the island by sea! Idyllic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f0rces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
1 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#19 of 82 in Mykonos Town
377 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yakinthos Residence
Yakinthos Residence
#1 of 1 in Panormos
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vana Holidays Hotel
Vana Holidays Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ornos
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Konstantin
Villa Konstantin
#2 of 67 in Mykonos Town
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anemos Hotel-Apartments & Studios
0.3 mi away
Corfos Hotel
Corfos Hotel
#9 of 22 in Ornos
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anixi Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anixi Hotel Mykonos

Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ornos
Price Range: $66 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Anixi Hotel Mykonos 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anixi Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anixi Hotel Mykonos Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing