We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anixi Hotel Mykonos
Ranked #2 of 8 Ornos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went to Mykanos town on a cruise in 2011 and fell in love with it immediately. We went back in May 2012 and stayed in Ornos, in the Anixi appartments, we were not disappointed at all. The appartments are only ten mins away from the airport which is always a bonus, and they are so clean and pretty. The towels and tea towels are replaced daily and are so white that i didnt like using them. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and the sheets changed every other day, these were also crisp and white. We had appt number 10 in May which is a fab location when its not windy, which it wasn't for the first 4 days so we could sit outside chatting to our lovely neighbours Lynne and James, and the three boys next door, Adam and co. Then the winds came (which isnt unusual for Mykanos im told), it then turned quite chilly on an evening, but it was only early May so I suppose when its the height of the season the cool winds are a welcomed respite from the heat. We had fab weather for May and walked the short walk to the lovely beach regularly. This wasnt the beach that can be seen from the terrace of the appartments where the windsurfers go as it isnt a very clean or pretty beach, ( although i think Ornos is missing out here as it could be lovely if it was prettied up). The larger beach down the road is lovely, i have read many reports about paying for the use of the loungers but we never did, this could be as we were the first visitors of the season so the beaches weren't busy at all. The supermarket on the road down to the beach is good with very friendly staff who work hard and also sell the local olive oil based hair masks which are amazing. My hair is very curly (frizzy in the heat) and this mask made my hair soft, smooth, shiny and manageable, i will be ordering more as soon as i can find a supplier in the UK. CARAMELLO was the most amazing shop I have ever been in, their cakes and chocolate mousse are the best, with too many to choose from. I had the chocaolate and hazelnut one then the chocolate and caramel one later on in the week. They were both absolutely fantastic and only just over two euros each which is a bargain for Mykanos. This is a shop that you must visit if you go to Ornos, it is right next to the Anixi appts, and also sells lovely icecream, although I have had better.The bakery next to the flora supermarket is amazing too, lovely fresh bread and superb tarts, with either apple, chocolate, fruit and nut or lemon centres, and they are only 1 euro. each.
The owners of the appartments are all so friendly and can not do enough to help you. We had a few ants in the little kitchenette and they came to spray them almost immediately. They all make you feel welcome beyond anything i have ever experienced other than on Cruise ships. The Anixi restaurant down the hill is lovely and the food is great but the portions are huge, we could have shared our steak and Greek salad. The Ithaki on the beach is a lovely place to eat and do a mean moussaka with tasty fried potatoes. Their lamb chops are wonderful too and the Thai food looks very nice but I didnt get to try it. Lots of the locals eat there which is always a good sign to me and my hubby.
The local bus service to Mykanos town is regular and prompt, the bus stop is outside the beauticians on the corner or at the beach, but it goes past you all to another pick up point first so dont be annoyed if it sails past you,(as we were), just be patient and it will return. It costs 1 euro 20 for one way, dropping off at the top of Mykanos town. A trip to Paradise beach is a must, its a lovely day out, very picturesque with a great beach drinks and snacks service, sun loungers are free too. If you go to the Super Pardise beach be warned that the hill down to it is extremely steep, we only just got our car back up the hill in first gear. The poor people on the quad bikes struggled, some had to push them up the hill, so take pleny of water to keep hydrated. Some people have payed to have their cars towed up this hill, it is a lovely place but Paradise was more magical for me.
Be warned that the roads in Mykanos are not very good, this may apply to other Greek Islands but I only know about Mykanos so I was quite surprised. They are pot holed, narrow and very bumpy, with poor or no road markings.
All in all it was a lovely holiday, a bit expensive to eat out and the appartments were quite basic and rustic but soooo clean, well run and a lovely family feel. I would reccomend them to anyone. No pool but we didnt miss it as we prefere the beach, but the terrace would be lovely if it had a dip pool/and or a small jaccuzi.
Annie and Tony
Lincolnshire

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

In 1985 I made my first visit to Mykonos and stayed at the Anixi Hotel in Ornos Beach. Twenty Seven Years later I continue my wonderful vacation moments in the Aegean Islands, staying faithfully at the Anixi Hotel, where one finds the essence of life "springing" anew with each visit to the turquoise waters of Ornos Beach. Anixi, in Greek, means Spring. It is always a homecoming, welcomed by the wonderful Kousanthana family, whose hospitaliy will quickly make you feel a part of the Mykonian family. Their hospitality is to experience Greek life at its best. The hotel situated in a wonderful location, looks over the beautiful waters and sparkling white buildings, as you gaze upon wind surfers, yet are just a short enough distance from the beach area that you actually feel you are a resident of the small hamlet along the Aegean. The Anixi Cafe and the small shops at the quaint intersection lends for convienient shopping as well as casual dining when you return from the nightlife in Mykonos Town. Let me just say, that the experience of staying at the Anixi is one that can create wonderful feelings throughout the year when you have returned home - for the owners of the charming, spotless hotel, will maintain a friendship with you over the miles and over the years so that if you ever return, you will feel as though you have come home to family. I have found solace and peacefulness on the small porches outside my room, sitting quietlyl writing in the early evening, or watching the moon travel across the star studded sky. There is much ZOE, "life" to be found here, as much as you are willing to emerse yourself in the life of the Mykonian experience. Each yearly visit, I experience something new and insightful about traveling and Greek life. But most importantly I rediscover a wonderful place to call home, You will love The Anixi Hotel, when on step into the gem of the Cyclade Islands and into the embraces of Dimitra, Mathos, Eleni and Adonis Kousanthana and their family.. Ron Cadmus, USA New Jersey

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ronaldwcadmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Extremely polite and helpful owners. Ask for the new rooms. The old ones are good as well but the new ones are bigger. Good spot

Room Tip: ask for the new rooms. more quite and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kifinasflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We went to Anixi Apartments in October 2011, lovely small complex overlooking the sea. Really friendly welcome here very spotlessly clean apartments with small kitchen although adequate for your holiday, comfortable beds, they also changed the towels and tea towels on a daily basis, all of which were spotlessly cleaned, sheets/pillowcases changed every other day again spotlessly cleaned. There is no swimming pool but we didn't miss this one little bit as it is Ideally located with a 10 minutes walk to the spotless, beautiful beach, the beach is down the bottom of the hill, take first left, it is not the windsurfers beach, great restaurants. Ornos small village location, with a wonderful beach, good supermarkets, one right next door to these apartments, bakers, butchers, fab Ice Cream shop again right next door to these apartments and you like peace and quiet then this is the place for you. You can walk along the coastal road to Mykonos Town which is approximately 35 mins walk, well worth it! Although only walk this road in the day not the night! If you don't fancy the walk excellent bus service to Mykonos Town, takes about 15 minutes. Bus Stop down the bottom of the hill on the left outside hairdressers.

The temperature in October is around 26/28 degrees although it is very windy, I don't know if it is normally this windy for this time of the year as this was our first visit to this island.

Restaurants
Our favourite Ithaki was excellent right on the beach.

Tours:
Jeep Safari - excellent you see places you would never find on your own, and it covers the whole of the north side of the island - highly recommended

Delos - Don't bother booking through your travel agent, if you want to go buy your ferry ticket at the Mykonos port, our travel agent did say there was an entrance fee but when we went there was no entrance fee and we paid over the top via our travel agent. It's a huge site lots of history, Personally we wouldn't say its a must visit. If you haven't got very good sea legs, the sea is very choppy, take travel pills before going!

Day Cruise
Cruise boat leaves from Ornos Beach, full day from 10am to 6pm - Well worth the money excellent way of seeing the South side of this beautiful island and the wonderful beeches. Fab lunch included in the price too - again highly recommend

We would also recommend a trip to Mykonos Town and little venice excellent, absolutely stunning town, although does get very crowded when the cruise ships visit. Best time to go in the morning.

We would without doubt recommend the Anixi Apartments Self Catering.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bedded room if you want a double bed as they have twin and triple rooms too. If goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

An excellent small hotel with great self catering apartments fully equipped with everything including a rare double bed and mosquito netting and a large comfortable sofa. Rooms cleaned and towels changed everyday, complimentary soap and shower gels and loads of hot water. Even washing up liquid in the kitchen! Very nice reception area with free internet access.
Only 10 minutes transfer from the airport.
Very friendly owners who made us feel very welcome.
Very well situated for supermarkets, bakey and fruit shop.
The only down side is that it is next to a very busy main road which is very noisy and that it is situated in Mykonos the biggest rip-off island in all of Greece.

Room Tip: A south facing balcony would have been an advantage during our visit as there was a very persistent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveBLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I agree with most of the comments made by previous reviewers. We had studios 6 & 7, which were a little larger than the others and were joined by a small lobby, which was handy when we had an evening in and wanted to sit out of the wind - which, believe me, we wanted to on occasions. The only negatives: the lack of natural light in these 2 studios, as the windows were very small in comparison to their size, the lack of hook for shower head (typical in Greece), the very small cooking hob (only used it twice anyway, so not a problem for us, but would be for people wanting to eat in), no toaster and no plug in the bath or kitchen sink. Other than that, the studios were perfectly situated in Ornos, were kept spotlessly clean, with clean white towels, flannels and tea towels every day and sheets/pillowcases changed every other day. The owners (who live above the studios) are lovely and very helpful, doing everything they could if you needed them.

Everything on your doorstep - beach nearby, 3 supermarkets, bakery, butchers, fishmongers, hair salon, fruit/vegetable store, pharmacy, icecream parlour. Not a large selection of tavernas, but our favourites were the Ornos Fish Taverna (on the beach) and the Italian restaurant (at the crossroads). The Ithaki (also on the beach) offers you 4 euros discount off your bill if you use their sunbeds (which cost 10 euros for 2 beds/umbrella) and was also very nice.

Ornos was a lovely place to stay, near enough to Mykonos Town but far enough away for peace and quiet. Bus service was brilliant - very regular and a timetable that was kept to, with buses running into the early hours of the morning! 5 minutes by bus to Agios Ionnis (and the Shirley Valentine beach), which was lovely, but the main taverna there, although the food was very good, was very expensive; however, this was Mykonos and everywhere was expensive!

Very quick to/from airport and checking in at Mykonos was very quick. The duty free shop is fairly large and stocked quite a good range (tip: ciggies in larger quantity packs are cheaper than buying in the resort).

Although we enjoyed our stay at the Anixi, and would recommend the studios for a holiday in Mykonos, we would not go back to this island as we have enjoyed others more.

Room Tip: All studios are very much the same but, if like us, there are 4 of you, having studios 6 & 7 tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulineEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Anixi Hotel, in a self catering studio apartment, for one week through Thomson and had a great time there.

The transfer from the airport to the hotel was quick and problem free, and Mandy, the Thomson's Rep, was very friendly and helpful. She visited the hotel and local area several times during our stay and was available for advice if required.

The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and the place looked very picturesque - white washed cubist buildings and very clean. The hotel is on the main road to Ornos, on a fairly steep hill.

From our apartment we had a magnificent view of Corfos Bay, with Myknonos town to the north (2-3km away). During August, it is very windy in Mykonos, all day, every day, with the wind coming from the north: it was particularly strong outside our appartment, which was north facing. During our week, we only had 1 night's interrupted sleep due to the wind, and it did occassionally prevent us from fully enjoying sitting and relaxing on the balcony. However, down the road on Ornos beach (south facing) the wind is considerably less of a nusiance. Also, being on the main road, traffic is pretty heavy during the day, though does die down of an evening.

The appartment was very clean, and decorated/maintained to a pretty good standard. Towels were changed daily, and most of the bed linen was too (apart from the top sheet/blanket). The kitchenette included fridge, a portable stove, kettle, crockery and utensils. The bathroom was decorated to a high standard and included a power shower. The only issue was the lack of a shower hook on the wall, meaning you had to hold the head whlist washing. A TV is provided, though unless you understand Greek, it will probably remain switched off during your stay - take plenty of books with you and be sure to check out the many books on offer to lend at reception!. The air conditioning was free and provided welcome relief from the heat. The hotel also provides guests with the option to hire a safety deposit box, for 1 euro a day. Breakfast is offered from 8-10.30am every day at 7 euro each, though we did not try it. Guests are also offered a 10% discount at the Anixi restaurant round the corner. We went there and it was very good value, the food was excellent with big portions and a free dessert!

There is a small mini market next door, with a larger one a few minutes further down the road, there is also an outstanding pastry and ice cream shop called Carmello, a very good bakery, a butcher, taverna, several restaurants, an atm, and the bus stop to mykonos town all close by.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Anixi hotel and would stay again, perhaps in July though instead of windy August!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Corfos Bay during August to minimise wind issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anothercwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ornos
1 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#19 of 82 in Mykonos Town
377 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yakinthos Residence
Yakinthos Residence
#1 of 1 in Panormos
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vana Holidays Hotel
Vana Holidays Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ornos
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Konstantin
Villa Konstantin
#2 of 67 in Mykonos Town
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anemos Hotel-Apartments & Studios
0.3 mi away
Corfos Hotel
Corfos Hotel
#9 of 22 in Ornos
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anixi Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anixi Hotel Mykonos

Address: Ornos Beach, Ornos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Ornos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ornos
Price Range: $66 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Anixi Hotel Mykonos 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anixi Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anixi Hotel Mykonos Ornos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing