We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Island”

Saint Martin Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
El Geneina, Sudan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Coral Island”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A must visit place for the tourist. It is very nice having blue water. Facilities are available for snorkeling and diving. Good sea food, fresh fish are available.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shams5627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    20
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue water sight”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was an unimaginably fantastic experience in my life. The island surrounded by blue water is definitely an attraction to the local and international tourists.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sayedhasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittagong, null, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saint Martins Island - for tourists Nov-Mar only”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Coral Island Saint Martin: Cox's Bazar, Bangladesh

Due to infrastructural lacking, tourists are not encouraged to visit this beautiful coral island in monsoon seasons i.e. before November and beyond March. Because in other months, there's always a chance to occur cyclones and there's not enough shelter and rescue arrangement in this remote (about 9 km in the sea from the tip of Teknaf, south most point of mainland Bangladesh), small but beautiful island. The only way to reach this island is Cruising ships and some local trawlers. The facilities for tourists not adequate but for those who want to enjoy Eco-tourism in nature with basic B&B type facility will definitely find it worth to visit this island.

N.B. This small island has no motor vehicles. Tri-cycle van (Rickshaw) is the only land transport of the island with a very limited area because there's no enough roads but pathways to walk around. In waterways there are boats, engine boats and speed boats available for hire.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mintu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittagong, Bangladesh.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Saint Martin Tour - Feb.2013”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have heard so much about Saint Martin Island - the beautiful & only coral island of Bangladesh, so that I was looking for long time for an opportunity, which came at last on 8th & 9th February, 2013. I set out with 14 of my colleagues - Total 15 persons. I am going to describe every event with comments - so please have a little patience & carry on.

We started from Chittagong at 2am. The bus was Soudia and we had all of our seats reserved for both going and coming back. The bus was non-ac but not an indecent one. We took our seats. The driver likes to drive at a very fast speed. At that hours of night the roads were almost blank which also helped the driver. The way is Chittagong - Cox's Bazar highway and just before Cox's Bazar city, we went left and took the highway going to Teknaf. This road is narrow and also condition not very good although it is an asphalt road. However the scenery on both sides of the road is excellent. There are also 3 BGB checkposts here.

We landed at Keari office & jetty aside Naf river at around 7 am. There were a few small shops here where we took our breakfast.From here we started our journey at 9:30 am by ship - Keari Sindbad towards Saint Martin. We booked our seats at Keari Chittagong office for both going & coming back but tickets can also be bought here. The ship is typically a steamer type with mid-deck and upper open deck but the upper open deck is better although it costs more. There are also some 1st class cabins at the upper deck.

We traveled through Naf river & Bay of Bengal - total 2.5 hours journey. If the sea is rough, you may experience some rolling and swinging - which may seem a little uncomfortable but not very long. It is a pleasant experience when you see the island emerging from the sea.

At last the ship anchored at the only jetty of Saint Martin Island. You may need to pass through other ships before landing on the jetty. If that is so, then you need to be careful particularly if you are traveling with your family. At the end of the jetty the only road of the island starts with shops & restaurants on both sides. The only land transport available is a peculiar type of rickshaw van at which 4 persons can seat. We went to our hotel.

We stayed at Blue Marine Resort at Saint Martin island on 8,9-Feb.-2013. The hotel is nice with the main building rooms as well as the cottages & tents. The resort area is also quite large and very close to the beach. But it is somewhat expensive. However what bothered us most is the management. We had confirmed rooms booked from Chittagong at the main building but they gave us cottages - saying there were not such booking with us. What actually happened is that a shooting party came from Dhaka and most possibly the hotel management handed them these rooms for greater profit. This is definitely not acceptable. Also generator service functions from 5:30 pm to 11:30 pm. There are also several other hotels & resorts available but this one is supposed to be the biggest and most aristocratic but this is what we experienced!

We took lunch at one of the restaurants. They display several types of fishes, lobsters, shrimps, crabs mixed with spices at the entrance. You can choose anyone and order to fry but you will win if you choose your piece and fix the price before you order. The fried fish is really tasty at some restaurants along with rice, dal and vegetables. At night you can bargain & order fish / chicken / beef barbeque at several restaurants & even in your own hotel. But the fish one is awesome but you should bargain & fix the price before you order. Also don't forget cocoanuts. The island is named "Narikel Jinjira" means cocoanut island only because of so much sweet cocoanuts.

Walking along the beach at afternoon & evening was really an awesome experience. The environment was really great & pleasing one. You walk & walk enjoying the land, sea & air..... wow. But one thing, there are a lot of dogs in beach, so better walk in groups although they don't seem to be harmful. The sunset is really magnificent.

At morning we enjoyed the "Real Beauty" of the island. We took a long walk along the beach to "Chera Dip" means separated island. What actually happens is that during high tide the way to this small part sinks and separates but at low tide the way is walkable. The journey along the beach is super super super & super. You will only enjoy. But you must have enough stamina to walk because you have to walk for about 7-8 km and for about 3 hours. You can also go by boat but then you will miss the beach. On the way over the beach we saw coral stocks, crabs and their holes, crystal clear waters with fishes swimming, trees and bushes etc. On the way we consumed cocoanut which really helped us. The Cheradip is the southmost part of the island as well as the southmost part Bangladesh. It's beauty ..... I can't describe by words.
Now time to return. We decided to return by motorboat. You can come & return reserving motorboats from the main part of the island but we didn't, so we had to pay them for one way only which became expensive. Then came the most fearful chapter. The motorboats can't reach upto the land because of corals beneath. So they stay apart from land and from land you can board these motorboats by rowing small boats (dingi nowka) and these small boats are really dangerous especially when overloaded. They swing a lot and if by chance they turn upside down and you don't know swimming then there is very little chance of your survival. So be very careful & it is highly advised not to take your family this way.
Then we took our lunch and set to board the big ship for back to Teknaf and another fearful chapter started. Only one jetty and the ships stand side by side, so boarding them is really difficult particularly at last hours because at that time you have to fight a big crowd to catch your ship. Another awful thing - Keari launched only 1 ship instead of 2 because of small no of passengers but this became overloading & crowded for one ship.
Finally we reached Teknaf and from there back to Chittagong by returning Soudia bus - which is perfectly a "Racing Bus". The driver really drove rough. At last home - sweet home.
FINAL ADVISE:
1. The island is awesome - no doubt - but always remember - "SAFETY FIRST" and you should take every possible steps to ensure your safety and security because no one will do that for you.
2. Book your bus, ship and hotel well before your journey and keep documents/proof of each or else you will fall in real trouble.
3. Keep enough time in hand to board and get down ships particularly when you are traveling with your family. Keep your kids inside ship cabin & don't let them go outside specially when the ships are at sea where they swing a lot.
4. keep a torch light with you because you will have no electricity after midnight.
5. If visiting Cheradip be very careful of small boats. Don't let the boatmen overload them as they have a high chance of turning upside down. If that happens somehow then the chance of your survival is very low if you don't know swimming.
6. Eat and drink at a good restaurant and before placing order bargain and settle the price. If the water seems unhealthy ask for mineral water.
7. Be careful when walking at the beach and shallow water cause you may cut/abrasion your skin by corals underneath. Also some corals are small in size and may turn upside down/slide when you place your feet above them - causing you to fall. So don't rush and look before you leap. Also keep with yourself first aid and necessary basic medicine like paracetamol, orsaline antacid etc.
8. You will enjoy the island at most if you stay there for at least one night.

Finally dear traveler - don't be afraid hearing all these - just a little careful &
ENJOY SAINT MARTIN ISLAND........

.......Engr. Mamshad K. Anwar

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Mamshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The boat ride to and from the island is beautiful. The island is a local vacation location. There is not a lot to do there but for a day trip it was fine. Lots of small resturants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lacrosse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Martin Island also viewed

Cox's Bazar, Chittagong Division
Sylhet City, Sylhet Division
 
Khagrachari, Chittagong Division
Bandarban, Chittagong Division
 

Been to Saint Martin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing