We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Purchase the meal package as there are no other eating options other than the village”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crusoe's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crusoe's Retreat
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Coral Coast
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Purchase the meal package as there are no other eating options other than the village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay and had a wonderful time. The resort is remote and secluded - the beach is beautiful and and at low tide you can walk round each headland to explore the rock pools and coastline. We took advantage of the diving and had 3 very relaxed dives - we drifted leisurely with the very slow current and the boat picked us up where we surfaced. The kayaks and snorkeling are free of charge on the turn of the tides when the chance of damamging the regenerating coral is minimised. This is a perfect resort for couples who just want a lazy time, although there are excursions available to book if you need to get out and about. The food was tasty and the menu was rotated dependant on the day and the staff were friendly and fun to be around. If you want sophistication then this is not the place for you - this is a fantastic back to basics holiday alowing anyone to relax and do nothing

Room Tip: the seaview burres are quiet but they are reached by some fairly steep steps and do not get too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Bula Lyn and thank you so much for your great review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was so nice meeting you and your husband, and we are so happy that you were able to embrace the relaxed, casual atmosphere of the resort. We appreciate your kind words about your experience, and hope to see you again very soon. Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    120
    57
    20
    26
See reviews for
65
185
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here (2 teenage girls) for a week in a seaview bure. The resort itself is very far away from everything so we couldn't walk anywhere. At the resort there is plenty to do, all the usual water and beach activities. Snorkel and Kayak hire was limited to high tide which was a bit annoying. Every day there are organised activities. Breakfast each day was included and was a buffet which was good because we didn't need to eat lunch. Dinner was very expensive but there was no other option for us. On the themed night we payed $44 FJD each for a meal similar to a barbecue (meat and salad). Our room was fairly basic with 2 beds and a bathroom. We didn't have an iron and our safe had no batteries. There were also a lot of ants. We had a lovely massage at the spa, the lady was very friendly. All staff went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The best thing about this resort is that it's right next to a village, which we visited several times. We went to a church service (one of the resort activities) and visited the Kindergarten. We even ate at the village one night (Much cheaper than the resort!). Overall we had a great time staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a seaside bure, these are right next to the beach and all the activities. Seaview bures are u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous34214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Bula Anonymous34214 and thanks so much for your review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was great meeting you, and we are so glad that you chose Crusoe's for your 'place to get-away'. Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again very soon on our friendly shores. Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundaroo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here with our 3 year old for 6 nights on 3rd October 2012. The weather was overcast and raining for most of the time but we enjoyed our stay. We were in an oceanside bure which was clean and comfortable.Beautiful gardens and very close to all amenties. The snorkelling was fantastic and majority of the staff were fabulous.
The meal plan we took was well worth it with a great breakfast, 2 course lunch and dinner and entertainment every evening.
This is not a 5 star resort, nor does it pretend to be, it is in a beautiful location with wonderful gardens, views, activities and friendly staff.
Crusoes is great value for money for those who wish to stay in a smaller and friendlier resort type. We will be recommending to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are for those who dont mind steep stairs. Oceanview Bures are fantastic and close too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Bula Vinaka Tracy & Dave and thanks so much for your great review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was so nice meeting you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you have another chance to come back and 'relax' at Crusoe's in the not-too-distant future. Vinaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here with our daughters, 7 and 9, in July 2012. The resort is well positioned with good views out to sea and along the coast. We had a hillside bure which was well ventilated and quiet at night, so good sleeps.
The staff are relaxed and the service was good. Breakfast is filling with loads of fresh fruit and good coffee. The other meals were good with a range of theme nights to keep things interesting. There is another resort up the beach, but not much difference in offering or prices. Afternoon tea with fresh cake was hotly anticipated. The happy hour cocktails were tasty and packed a punch. People are right about taking some snacks with you as there is little choice at the shop in the village. Also take plenty of tonic if you have duty free gin, the bar will give you ice.
My wife and I did the free scuba course in the pool and that gave us the confidence to go on a morning dive the next day, which was one thing off our bucket list. All sports gear was free to use, although could do with another tennis racket to allow for doubles. Snorkeling is good off the resort and their gear is good quality.
We partook in the many daily activities with games and tours a great way to meet the other guests, which is lacking in some other resorts. The road out to the highway makes for an interesting run.
All in all a well run and relaxing small resort, which was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Micandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Bula Mic & Vic-
Thanks so much for your review. It was so nice meeting you and your family and we are so glad you chose your holiday at Crusoe's Retreat. We so appreciate your detailed review and your very kind words. Crusoe's Retreat is a small, intimate, traditional Fijian beach resort and it sounds like we provided just what you were looking for. We hope that your travels return you to Fiji and we hope you return to Crusoe's Retreat so you can see all your new friends. Vinaka Vakalevu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in an oceanside bure late November to early December.

The good:
Oceanside bure. We were in the one closest to the ocean. We also arrived at 9 am to the resort after 28 hours of traveling from Wisconsin and we were able to get into our room within an hour or so after arriving. Mosquito netting around bed came in handy even in an air conditioned room.

The staff are friendly. If you want to talk with them they are cordial. If not, they will leave you alone.

Food was decent and selected off a menu. Purchase a meal plan if you stay here as there really is no where else to eat in the area.

The beach is beautiful. This is not a swimming beach, but more of a snorkeling one.

Becareful of the tides. The swing from low to high tide was about 6 feet. Snorkeling was difficult when the tide was out. Good diving here. Got to see poisonous sea snake, reef sharks, bull sharks, shovel-nose sharks, soft corals, and clown fish. Dive times were based on the high tides only. Diving at low tide is not an option here. Dive gear was good, boat was small (they can't do more than 6-8 people at a time), cost was $120 for 2-tank dive.

There is nothing to do in the village next door other than stock up on some snacks for your room and maybe purchase a souvineer or two. If you are invited to dinner at a family home (through the resort) we recommend it as we really enjoyed ours.

Also I am not much of a beer drinker, but "Fiji Bitter" is the only way to go. I now love that beer. Too bad we can't get it in the U.S.

The bad:
Oceanside Bure. The screens have holes or tears in some of them or just didn't fit into the windows well. Mosquitos were bad (if you have problems with them like I do). The floor support posts are through the floor. Round post and square hole creates another set of issues...see "The ugly".

The pool is quite small.

Happy hour is only for an hour a day. Drinks are expensive here so we purchased our own liquor and soda in the village and made drinks in our room.

The ugly:
Remember I mentioned round posts, square holes in floor? Well this left about 1-2 inch triangle gaps around the posts and "critters" came to visit us at night. Nothing like hearing mice in your room in the middle of the night. By the way, their field mice are the size of our rats; quite large. I was not too impressed with having to get rid of one at 3 in the morning after the second night of hearing them scamper across the floor. After this we took towels, shoes, and clothing to plug all the holes we found. No more "critters" after that, but no real good night sleep either. Any little noise in the room woke us up. Normally I would have aksed to switch rooms, but only the bures had air conditioning and king size beds. All the bures were sold out so we couldn't switch. Oh well. We didn't want that to ruin our trip so it became the joke of our vacation.

One bad service incident...the day we departed our transport wasn't picking us up until 5 pm. Apparently we had used up all of our meal plan. We didn't realize that we were limited. We paid for the $1000 + worth of charges (diving, massages, drinks, etc...) to close out our account. Then we went to eat lunch and they wanted us to pay for it saying we had used our 7 days of meals up. Ok, I get that they wanted money for our meal, but we missed one of our dinners because we went to the village to eat at a local's house. The head desk clerk said that didn't count because we were still counted for dinner. (Really? Then why did we have to book it two days ahead at the hotel desk?) Anyway, with all the business we had just given the hotel for our extras, we thought it was silly of them to try and "nickel and dime" us over a $30 lunch when we had missed a $50 dinner. It left a sour note on the last day of our trip after we had just spent a lot of money at their resort. After a loud sigh and a stern look, we got a "Go ahead and eat lunch. I will comp. it for you." Big disappointment in service that day.

Tip: it is rainy season at that time of year.

Speaking of tips we read on a Fiji government website that you shouldn't tip because people might be offended by it. At the end of our stay, we tipped our dive guide and mentioned this policy to him. He told us that this was not the case at all. We felt bad after not tipping all week because we do tip good for good service. There would have been a couple of people there worthy of a good tip.

Room Tip: I am sorry to say I would suggest a different resort. I heard the outter islands are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ma_golfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Bula ma_golfman and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your Deluxe SeaSide Bure, and we thank you for your kind words about our friendly local staff. We must agree with you - Fiji Bitter is our favorite beers as well, and now that we offer it on tap at our Coco's thatched roof Pool Bar, it is definitely a guest favorite! We do wish you had mentioned to us your concerns about mosquitos in your room. We could have provided you with mosquito coils, and we could have fixed any issues with which you had concerns. Please note that some of the noise from 'critters' in your bure is from our friendly local geckos, which many of our guests enjoy. As for your meals, we do hope and understand that your meal plan covers the meals for which you paid. As with every other resort in the world, if you enjoy meals or drinks above and beyond what you pre-paid, you would be expected to pay for it. This is most certainly not just us that does this.
As for tipping, it is not appropriate to tip in Fiji. The local custom is not for tipping, and we are sorry that your dive guide implied otherwise. We do have a Staff Holiday Fund to which you and all guests can contribute, which is evenly distributed to all staff at the end of the year. In Fiji, it is not appropriate for only frontline staff (waiters, waitresses, bartenders, dive guides) to get tips, while the rest of our very hard working staff (chefs, front desk, gardeners, housekeepers, etc) do not get tips. This is why our Staff Holiday fund is so popular with our guests.
Thanks again for taking the time to write a review of Crusoe's Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Well, its been just over a week since I returned from a holiday with my friend in Fiji and we were fortunate enough to stay at Crusoe's Retreat! I SO miss it all! The place, the people, oh and did I mention - the place and the people! We stayed in a Seaview Bure and after arriving late on a Thursday night, the view that greeted us on the Friday morning was absolutely amazing! The bure was comfortable - nothing flash but was exactly what we were after. It had all the comforts of home but with the Fijian warmth and relaxing feel to it! Our bure was cleaned and replenished daily and the ceiling fan was a god-send. The beds were delightful and the whole experience was topped off by the bed nets that hung from the ceiling- keeping those biting bugs out! (LOL).
We opted for the meal plan and this was a FAB option for us as we weren't close to any cities or supermarkets and we didn't want to have to cook on our holiday anyway. In our accommodation deal we were given a buffet breakfast daily that consisted of homemade breads, light cereals, all the island fresh fruit you could think of and the option of a cooked breakfast if you wanted. My fav was the pancakes and ice cream- yes, I know for breakfast!!! For an additional $60FJD per day we were treated to lunch and a 2-course dinner. The menu options changed daily so you were always kept guessing but never disappointed. Think fresh fish and cooked superbly!
There were a great range of activities that you could undertake while at the retreat - from free beach snorkelling and kayaking, to coconut husking and really cheap tours as well. The kava ceremony was definitely a highlight for me and an experience I will never forget. Unfortunately, we missed the Lovo night but we heard great things about it and how there were many similarities to our Hangi back here in New Zealand- will definitely make sure this activity is enjoyed next time I am back in Fiji- and yes there will definitely be a return! On saying all this, I do have a greater highlight from my holiday and that would be the church visit in the local village- that was only like 10 steps from the retreat! The welcoming of all those in attendance and the natural feel about the village was exceptional and really gave you a sense of togetherness and unity about the place! The kids there were a delight watch sing and play!
Lastly, we can't go past the people of Crusoe's! Colin, the owner was there when we visited and he is definitely a true Kiwi! He joked with all the guests, was always there for the early morning breakfasts and in attendance at the evening activities- including Bingo, Bingo, Bingo! We even felt comfortable and relaxed enough to ask him for jobs- we are still waiting for the contracts to be sent (LOL)!
The staff - where to start- from the moment we arrived to the farewell at the end, we were humbled and amazed by the generousity, the honesty, the sincerity and the warmth we felt from all the staff. There was always a friendly smile, a kind word and a laugh had. The expertise of the staff was enormous- with the greatest cocktails being made, the best snorkelling advice given and the most wonderful of massages delivered! Crusoe's should truly be proud of the staff they have and the nature in which they conduct themselves!
I would recommend that those visiting the retreat pre-pack some small snacks/treats to nibble on down at the beach or late night in the bures as previously mentioned the retreat/village is far from the city or supermarket. I would also suggest having a rental car to take a day trip or 2- Suva is a couple of hours away and there are a few places/villages in between that can be visited too.
I would also recommend that Crusoe's is for those whom wish to relax and enjoy Pure Fiji- not the rat-race of Suva or the tourist shops of Nadi.Yes, it is 4-5kms off the main road but if rest, relaxation, tranquality and serenity is what you are after then you can't go past Crusoe's. It is definitely a paradise in hiding!
My top 3 cocktails: (1) Sand in the Growler, (2) Coco-licious and the good ole faithful (3) Pina Colada!
Thanks to all the Crusoe's team for making my holiday the island gettaway that I was after! See you all real soon, Gloria :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Bula Gloria! Wow! What can we say, other than Thank You for your Loving Crusoe's review. We really appreciate your comprehensive and outstanding review. It was indeed our pleasure meeting you both, and we simply can't wait to see you again very soon at Crusoe's Retreat. Vinaka Vakalevu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My friend and I just came back from a wonderful 4 night/5 day stay at Crusoe's and would thoroughly recommend it. In fact we can't wait to go back! It is such a bargain for the price you pay. If you're used to a 5-star resort this wouldn't be your place, but if you would like a clean, tidy resort with an amazing location (private beach and right next to a local village), then this place is heavenly! The food was top notch. I would recommend paying the $60FJD for the meal deal as there are no shops close by and you get a one course lunch and two course dinner, which was well worth the price. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The activities are awesome - we particularly enjoyed the traditional kava ceremony. But it was just as fun to do our own thing and relax on the beach or in the great pool and read or go snorkelling and kayaking.

I just can't tell you how much we enjoyed Crusoe's Retreat! I only wish we were back there right now :) Thank you to Collin and all of the amazing staff. See you again soon.

My only advice would be that if you have a rental car as we did (which I'd recommend for day trips to Suva, Pacific Harbour or Sigatoka) then try to catch the morning flight as the roads are shocking. It took us about 2.5 hrs to drive there as opposed to 1.5 hrs in the daytime on the way home.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Seaview bure which was up the hill (a few flights of stairs). Some people may prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taranakituturu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Bula taranakituturu and thank you so much for your Wonderful review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was our pleasure meeting you both, and we are so happy that you chose Crusoe's for your Fiji holiday. Thanks for your very kind words about our amazing staff (we are so proud of them!), and our food and activities.
Colin sends his best to both of you, and hopes that you return home soon to your new home in Fiji.
Vinaka from your friends at Crusoe's Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Coast hotels
6.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
19.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
13.9 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
28.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crusoe's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crusoe's Retreat

Property: Crusoe's Retreat
Address: Nr Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Coral Coast
#13 Spa Hotel in Coral Coast
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Coral Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crusoe's Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst lush tropical gardens and fronting a palm-fringed sandy beach and stunning lagoon, Crusoe’s Retreat is a friendly, intimate, traditional Fijian resort. Featuring only 29 Fijian-inspired Bures, Crusoe’s truly embodies all that is wonderful about the Fiji Islands: world-famous hospitality, an unhurried pace, fresh island cuisine, lots of complimentary activities, and a dedication to local culture and traditions. Crusoe’s Retreat truly is Fiji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crusoe's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crusoe`s Retreat Hotel Coral Coast
Crusoes Retreat Coral Coast
Crusoes Retreat Hotel
Crusoe's Retreat Fiji/Coral Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing