We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Value for Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coral Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tubakula Beach Bungalows
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Value for Money”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first stay in Fiji and the Coral Coast and decided to stay at Tubakula. We were greeted by very friendly smiling faces who could not do enough for us. Our bungalow was clean and secure which are the two main elements for us as a family. All the bungalows are in a great position but we had chose an oceanfront and were as close to the beach as we could be without actually being on it. The bungalows were very cute and perfect for a beach style holiday. We had a few meals in the restaurant and they were great value for money for a family. The kids loved snorkelling straight out the front from our bungalow and you could walk to the Outrigger for a coffee etc and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
The staff could not have been more helpful when we required advice and we would highly recommend it for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
28
22
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff and shown our bungalows. On our first night we were the only occupants so it was rather quiet but as time progressed Tubakula started to fill up with others. PROS: Large and affordable bungalows but in dire need of maintenance and upgrade, well stocked kitchen facilities, overnight security guard on premises, friendly staff, pool, short stroll to beach, pizza-yummy but you are in Fiji so be prepared for it to be ready on 'Fijian' time. Email enquiries promptly replied to, close to Outrigger on the lagoon (5 min walk). CONS: Bungalows are in dire need of maintenance and upgrade, felt management were not very welcoming towards their paying guests, grounds are open therefore unwelcome drunken visitors can easily access the property (from the beach) so thank goodness for the security guard, strong winds made it interesting running and covering ourselves from falling coconuts and this was on the concrete path. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Vinaka.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked three night at this resort. We were the only couple in this resort for two days here. Very old bungalows with basic rooms. Kitchen is the only thing going. Dirty sheets and towels put us off. Very unsanitary place. Manager Poonam was very ignorant. We brought to her attention that this place is a dump and dirty and we wanted to check out as soon as possible. Great view of ocean but nothing else. No activities in this place. Dirty pool and old chairs. Very bad service. Fans are situated in the bungalow with huge noise. We will not ever go back here. This place is a lost cause on the coral coast. Very high priced with no real customer service or anything else

Room Tip: You get stuck in this place with no amenities. Very old and basic out in the boonies away from town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji4Less, General Manager at Tubakula Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Tubakula. We believe that part of the problem may be that you were given incorrect information about Tubakula and our facilities and services by your booking agent. Our website stresses that Tubakula is a do-your-own-thing type of property aimed at value-conscious travellers who do not need organised activities or resort-style services, but perhaps you were expecting a full-service property when you booked your stay through the agent at the previous resort property you stayed at in Fiji. We also understand that you were not happy with the category of accommodation you had booked, and wanted a free upgrade to a higher category of accommodation--we have various accommodation categories that are priced differently according to their proximity to the ocean, and regret that we were not able to give you the free upgrade that you wanted. We do encourage guests to book directly via our hotel website which has information about our services and facilities and the rates for the different categories of accommodation, and our reservations staff would be happy to individually respond to any questions or comments prior to booking to ensure that there is no mismatch between when we can offer and guests' needs and expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we are very sorry that Tubakula was not the type of property that you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coral Coast hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here with our baby in April in a beachfront bungalow, while other family stayed at the outrigger. These bungalows were old but well maintained, and in a beautiful location. Nice and quiet spot, with a lovely little beach (better than the one at the outrigger!).

The staff were nice and helpful, and while the bungalows have an adequately equipped kitchen there is also a restaurant there which does breakfasts and pizza. There is a pool which we didn't use - the beach was much too inviting! Make sure you take reef shoes though, as you can only swim at high tide.

I would highly recommend staying here if you want a cheaper self catering holiday, without all the activities and noise of the resorts. Would be great as a family holiday.

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows were well worth the extra money as you could sit out on your front deck and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank straykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great Fijian hospitality - of course. But the bungalows are really rather tired.

In terms of the area, if you're looking for a beautiful Fiji beach experience - the Coral Coast may not be the answer you're searching.

Room Tip: Beachfront best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaeltbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

3 nights for 3 adults and 2 children from Easter Friday to Easter Monday 2013 - we booked an Ocean View Bungalow because all the Beachfront ones were full - so naturally I thought we would barely be able to view the sea...reality: Beach bungalows are about 10 metres from the water and the Ocean View - 15 metres! - as in practically on the water too, and they are stationed a row behind but between the Beachfront ones so you still get a direct and uninterrupted view of the beach! - just brilliant! The Bungalows are HUGE - they are so big and spacious, I was very pleasantly surprised - one double bed in a room on the bottom floor and 3 single in the upstairs huge loft area. It was a total bargain at $138FJD per night (YES - that's for 3 adults and 2 children!!!) Sure you have much more luxurious rooms at other resorts with all the trimmings, but for this price you would only get a closet sized room - it was a luxury having all that space. We ate in the restaurant our first night, the menu is very cheap - you're looking at around $6 - $12FJD for breakfast depending on what you want to eat and anywhere from $10-$20FJD for dinner - the service is incredibly slow as there is only one chef in the kitchen and the receptionist helps out too - but we ordered our pizzas in advance so were able to eat as soon as we arrived (perfect for when you have little kids). After that, we opted to cook our own meals, which was great as you have a fully equipped kitchen (except no oven or microwave) - but it didn't matter, we weren't there to cook full on gourmet meals! We loved having the full sized fridge and not the usual mini-bar fridge. Bungalow was clean, the pool was lovely and the staff pleasant, friendly and very helpful.

There are no TV's in the bungalow and the common room TV lounge is only open til 9.30pm so I took a laptop and some kids DVDs just in case it rained and we found ourselves indoor one evening - so that was handy because it did rain one evening and we had a DVD night :)

No photos - I normally take plenty of pics for reviews but unfortunately dropped my phone and broke it :( But not to worry, I have another one now.

Will definitely stay there again! Thank you Tubakula for a lovely Easter weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DancingWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Tubakula from 3 March to 16 March 2013. What a lovely place to stay. So quiet, the staff are all friendly from the beautiful girls at front reception who are happy to assist with any request to the cleaning, maintenance & security staff are all friendly and wonderful. I could not fault my stay at all. Anything we needed it was not a problem for anyone of the staff to assist us and always a big bula when ever I walked past them. The pizza's are execellent. All units are self contained and very clean only complaint no aircon but we did have .fans The pool was excellent to swim in. We stayed in a roadside bure at first it was a bit noisy at first but it did not take long to adjust to the noise. It is a 5 min walk to the Outrigger Resort via the road but I found it much nicer walking via the beach. There are a few shops at the Outrigger especially Tappoo and Jacks. At Tappoo you can buy snacks and drinks and local papers save you going into Town all the time. If you wanted to go into Sigatoka the local coral coast buses stopped at the front of Tubakula and it was is $1,00 FJD for the 20min ride. Pay the bus driver at the end of the trip. Outrigger have 3 resturants to eat at but much dearer than Tubakula. This was my seventh trip to Fiji over 30 years and I would not hesitate to stay at Tubakula again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Coast hotels
0.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crow's Nest
The Crow's Nest
#1 of 1 in Korotogo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
12.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubakula Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubakula Beach Bungalows

Property: Tubakula Beach Bungalows
Address: Queens Highway | Korotogo, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Coral Coast
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained beachfront bungalows with kitchens, located in spacious grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tubakula Beach Bungalows Hotel Coral Coast
Tubakula Beach Bungalows Fiji/Coral Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing