We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been to 3 places in Fiji, Tubakula is best. easy transport, beachfront beautiful, Quiet, best value price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coral Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tubakula Beach Bungalows
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“been to 3 places in Fiji, Tubakula is best. easy transport, beachfront beautiful, Quiet, best value price”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you hate being rip off by 5star hotel and don't like being treated like in a zoo; then Tubakula is what u want.
Quiet..clean.. beachfront...
we went in high season,July. eventhough most of the Bungalow is filled, u won't even hear the neighbour. All Bungalow is standing on its own. not like the sardines style 5 star resorts.
I can't find ANY other place in fiji that has a beachfront bungalow and have a great price like this (nxt door Beachfront Outrigger resort charging Aus$600, I almost fell off the chair). BEACHFRONT Tubakula is better than in the pictures. No picture can capture the beauty of being beachfront yourself.. it's SOOO worth it (A$90 at wotif.com).

Snorkling at the front beach. (front desk has pictures of all fishes u can find. including sea cucumbers that looks like snakes! :)
Friendly receptionists had all the time in the world chatting to u... regarding the snorkeling, transports n bus timetable, spa appointment, cheapest tour, all tips u ever want). Gay is a great newzealander lady staying there managing the hotel.
bus at the door step (10min F$1.15busfare to Sigatoka).
Eco park is accross the road.

We stayed in 3 locations. Vuda point (20min north Nadi), Coral coast and Plantation island. I think next time we come back, we're gonna go to Coral coast straight away.
Coral coast is closer to All activities and the Inland tour (Navua river tour: namuamua the best), and still close enough to Nadi for biggest shopping.
The beach in Coral coast is better than the west coast (Nadi or Vuda point).

the transport is easy from Tubakula.
We can go to Nadi by stopping the van on the road.
First we go to Sigatoka by Van (F$1.20) 10min ride . Then Bus/Van to Nadi is $8 from Sigatoka, about 45-60min ride.
The Sun coach and Pacific bus will take u express in Aircon bus. pls check timetable from reception.
Shopping in Sigatoka is good too (better than Lautoka). Plenty of arts and crafts like the ones in Nadi. The best price is to buy in the Wet market itself.
Bananas about F$1-2, Sweet papayas F$1 perbag (Aus 50cents).
Massage at Zen spa on top of Jacks Sigatoka about F$60 (A$35)/hour.
(Ask Gay of their phone no.).
We bought slow cooked Lamb Shank at the restaurant nxt to the wet market. F$5!! (A$2.50). soo yummy, soft and flaky. better than sydney restaurant that charging $30.
Take away a few of them to reheat it in our bungalow.
a few Indian Bhaji costing 30 cents (15cents Aus)

And the pizza is a surprise at Tubakula.
It's really good ! It taste like Italian gourmet pizza in sydney. it's addictive.
F$16 (A$9) for small one (12inch) and F$21 for large (maybe 14-15inch?)

There is a good TV reception in the dining room which the kids gather everynight watching Cartoon network, eating pizza.

The downside :
Steak was not as good. dry and overcooked. Next time tell them how to cook a rare steak "just 2min in eachside and leave it on the pan with fire OFF for 5 min... cook it last , just before bringing it out...." :)

No kayak.. or water sports.
u gotta go to Outrigger (10min walk) to borrow their canoe.

No kids club.. but plenty open space to kick a ball, cricket, swim, swing in hammock etc..
with the beach just steps away, u don't have to make a trip. they just went off.

Try to familiarise yourself with the water heater. Ask hotel staff. During the 3nights we were there, we didn't have to touch it. but the last night we had to move, we had to adjust it. Also No Shampoo provided. only soap and plenty of it too..

No microwave. only stove and pans.

No hammock at beachfront. only near the pool.
We brought a plastic table cover. Lay it at the grass front door near the sands under the coconut tree, lay our head on pillows, with book and beer in hand.. what more could u want..? :)

On the Last night there was a big wave rushing to our front porch. But only happens twice in 20min. It's Enough to make the staff panic. They come with their trolleys, moving our stuff to the pool bungalow. They refund the price difference.. in a form of shopping credit to buy beer etc.. from their shops , which is nice of them..

Despite all of that I still recommend the beachfront bungalow. U just can't beat it..
I'll take the chance again nxt time.. coz u can always move back the next day when the wave is not big.. (apparently this is very very rare)

Beware of Taxi driver around Nadi..
i don't mean to be racist, but the Indian ones seem to have a tactic to increase the price as soon as u sit in their taxi. eg. from $10 they'll ask for extra $5 coz petrol is expensive nowadays.. from $60 to be $75.. etc.. finally when that happened again, we just keep quiet and not agree/disagree with them.. when it was time to pay, we just said, we don't have anymore money than the one he agreed on before we get on the taxi.

Room Tip: beachfront best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sydneylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
28
22
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Post grad getaway with me other half....just what i had hoped for. Quiet, no hussle 'n' bussle, right on the beach, with tonnes to do. the bungalow itself was great, 2 floors, fully stocked kitchen, fridge, bedroom quite comfortable....overall a pretty sweet deal.

And outdoors, pool, the beach, snorkeling was fun :P it was great to be somewhere where we could set our own pace, which wasnt too busy. Across the road from the Kula Eco Park... didnt get to try out the restaurent, but cooking facilities in the bungalow was more than adequate.

not too far from Sigatoka town....FJ$ 6 by cab one way...bus was like $2...

Id definately rate it as one of my best stays yet, and definately on my top 5 list of places to return to :)

Room Tip: Roadside vs Poolside, doesnt really matter as much....all are in pretty close proximity
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasad_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Dirty sheets were on the beds. One bed looked like it even had been slept in. No hot water, and when we took the initiative to turn on the hit water service, the room filled with gas. We went to the restaurant/cafe for dinner and it took more than 90 minutes for our meals to arrive.
However, you can walk along the very nice beach to outrigger and book tours there. Also, the kitchen is well equipped to cook own meals there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StolenSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coral Coast hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the cheaper room with shared kitchen and bathroom, but it was a wonderful experience. You only share with 2 other rooms and then have a living room, dining room, and full kitchen to play with. We particularly enjoyed taking advantage of the BBQ next to the pool.

It's only a short walk to the Kula Eco Park, and you can also wander along the beach or through Outriggers to get to the restaurants on the old road beyond for some great happy hour prices and cheap food.

To get anywhere you just walk to front gate and all the buses and minibuses will happily stop and pick you up.

It kind of looks a little like a 1950's holiday camp but is a lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptGreatScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth West Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stay away if your after expensive cocktailes and reserving your chair by the pool. Tabukular is great the cabins are big airy and close to beach. The staff are great, Rachelle at the front desk is effecient and friendly. From here is easy to stroll up the beach to Beach Side cafe for dinners and the bar next door to it. The cabins have everything you need if you want to do your own food ( we did brakfast and lunch our selves, and cocktails :) ) fresh fruit available at roadside stalls or the fruit and veg market in Sigatoka. No problem with a car either, see Michael at the Beach Side cafe for rent or taxi, however if you stand on the road and wait for the minibus's which are frequent it will cost a dollar to get to town. All tourse can be booked direct from here and they will pick you up. Micheal also available to do tours, eg to Suva or a village.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kushigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Of all the places we stayed in Fiji, Tubakula represented the best value for money and we had quite an enjoyable stay there, although there are some small issues that could be remedied which would make it even better. The location is very good and easy to get to from Nadi. We chartered a taxi from Sabeto which cost 75.00. Bus would be even cheaper. I would advise to stock up before coming to Tubakula. We brought staples from Namaka such as bread, milk, biscuits and later shopped for fruit and vegetables and fish at Sigatoka market which is easily accessible.

We stayed in a beachside bungalow which was very spacious and overall good. The fans are very powerful and good at keeping mozzies at bay and don't blast you with cold air like airconditioners do. It's great being able to separate yourself from your kids as there is an upstairs second bedroom, and the kitchen is good although there could be more utensils and sharper carving knives etc. Having a full size fridge is handy as you can self cater and bring your own beer and enjoy a cold one on the patio watching the sun go down. The bungalows are by no means new or flashy but they do the job well and I believe they represent good value for money.

I would really recommend that you hire a car if you come here as it would make shopping and touring so much easier. With small kids it can be trying waiting for buses and hauling groceries around and it would really increase your options. I would also advise that you do a lot of background research as to activities you can do around the area, as Tubakula is a DIY sort of place which demands that you make your own entertainment. That said, when we were there we virtually had the run of the place as there were only about 5 other bungalows being occupied mainly by local families and couples. Our children were free to wander the grounds which are massive and my elder four year old son enjoyed flying his kite and running around unhindered. The pool is very good when it is low tide and there is an excellent bbq you can use.

The snorkelling is quite good at Tubakula. I always bring my own gear but was impressed that there is no charge for snorkels and masks. At low tide the local villagers do a lot of food gathering and much of the coral has been destroyed by human activity. I would estimate that only about 30 percent of the coral is alive but I didn't manage to get to the drop off where the breakers were where I imagine there would be more extensive coral gardens. I killed quite a few Crown of Thorns starfish while I was there as they eat live coral but there is pretty good fish life with lots of Butterflyfish, Damselfish, Clownfish, Surgeonfish and Wedge tailed triggerfish. It's not the Great Barrier Reef but it's not bad. I noticed that there was a dive charter boat doing a dive right in front of my cabin one morning at the drop off but was disappointed that the one dive operator listed at reception couldn't fit me in during my stay. I dived at the drop off and channel at Namatakula village nearby and the coral was excellent with massive pelagics, heaps of Angelfish and white tip reef sharks. If you do like diving/free diving make sure you research dive operators in the area before you go to organise a boat to get you out to the drop offs as the tides are up only in early morning and at dusk.

There are some minor issues at Tubakula which if addressed would make it even better.

Firstly, the water pressure in our beach bungalow was inconsistent and the shower barely worked at all sometimes. Hot water was pretty sporadic. Some of the kitchen utensils are showing their age and there could be a greater variety of implements instead of say one carving knife which needed sharpening. There's not a great deal to do at Tubakula and if you have young kids there's not much opportunity for a break. Management make it clear that you can't bring guests onto the grounds but It would be great for families if they had a list of baby sitters available. It is also made clear that Tubakula dosen't really organise activities but this is a shame as it could attract more visitors to a site that has a great deal of potential. I would suggest that there be more interaction with local villages. On the website it mentions a lovo feast at the nearby village but weren't really sure if this was still happening. The staff are very nice and friendly and eager to please but you are more or less left to your own devices in terms of entertainment. I would really recommend Tubakula to groups of family friends or a bunch of mates who self catered. You would really have a ball. One last suggestion is that there is no laundry service (which is made clear on the website). Kids get pretty dirty and sweaty and it can be difficult washing clothes constantly in the bathroom sink. A washing machine available for a small fee would be greatly appreciated.

Overall Tubakula is a good place which represents good value for money. I would recommend it to independent travellers who show intiative and are prepared to make their own fun. I plan to visit it again when we come back to Fiji.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank schoolmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This place had a strange atmosphere, as the front desk staff were not very friendly and there were very few people staying there. It also seems very old fashioned to be photocopying your passports when you arrive.

However, the beachfront bungalows are great. The chalets close to the road make sleeping non-existent. The beachfront bungalows were better as the sound of the pacific ocean breaking against the reef blocks any sound from the road, and the furniture in them was much nicer.

Nearby is the 3 hour happy hour and great pizzas of 'Le Cafe' (though the wine there is bad, it is strictly for beer and spirits), and you can have your cocktails on the terrace at the Outrigger cafe. The Bedarra has excellent food (including lobster) too. Breakfast was good value at the Tubakula.

Closeby, there is the interesting Taveuni Hill Fort, which has excellent views from the top (the guided tour is worth it), the Kula park and the Sigatoka River Safari where you visit a local village and have a very scary/thrilling ride on the jetboat on the way back.The coral coast is not the best location for the beach and snorkelling, as the weather is worse and tides stronger. The only time we didn't swim was during the time we spent there.

This is a cheap and relaxing place good for people/families who are self-catering (I would recommend the beachfront bungalows only, where you are quite close to the beach). It feels like the place is from another era. It would be much better if the staff were friendlier in their manner (and could add up), this would make a huge difference to the place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels2010C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Coast hotels
0.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
353 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Crow's Nest
The Crow's Nest
#1 of 1 in Korotogo
117 reviews
11.6 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubakula Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubakula Beach Bungalows

Property: Tubakula Beach Bungalows
Address: Queens Highway | Korotogo, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Coral Coast
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained beachfront bungalows with kitchens, located in spacious grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tubakula Beach Bungalows Hotel Coral Coast
Tubakula Beach Bungalows Fiji/Coral Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing