We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Wicked Walu Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Coral Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $159
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Wicked Walu "Seafood" Restaurant Located on its own private island and once voted the best restaurant in Fiji, the Wicked Walu restaurant is a dining experience that is not to be missed. This restaurant is framed by unspoiled, tranquil waters and specialises in a tempting selection of seafood grills, char-grilled steaks and delectable desserts. Open from 6pm until 10:30pm daily. Advanced reservations required.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Wicked Walu is fantastically located in a beautiful resort. A beautiful restaurant on its own wee island. Sandy floors, moonlight coral reef, friendly and helpful staff. I want to be really fair in my review. The location is worth dining there alone but the food was really disappointing. I spoke to others who thought the same so I am a bit baffled as why it gets such good reviews. We were staying in the sister resort the Naviti and they had a menu there which must have been really outdated, so I went with false hopes to start with. We got a prawn cocktail that was $30FJD with just 5 prawns that were bread crumbed. It was really dry.We also got the pork belly entree that was $30FJD and consisted of 3 pieces of teaspoon sized pork and 2 wontons. The Mahi Mahi main was ok but we left hungry and $139FJD out of pocket. I have to reiterate that the dining experience was wonderful and worth going for but the food is a bit disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shiofuki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    30
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful setting, but most importantly - the amazing service!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were going to leave our 14-month-old boy with a babysitter and enjoy our (ONLY) romantic dinner on our last night (Friday) in Fiji. But then we decided to take him along, as it could be fun and he will enjoy the good food... but guess what happen? He fell asleep on the car ride to the restaurant!

We arrived at the restaurant with a sleeping toddler, we were shown our table (not next to the water). Although it was a fairly busy Friday night, the waitress (sorry, we didn't catch the name!) was able to change our table to one that is next to the water. We were then greeted by our waiter, Wame, and everything was as good as it can be. Then, the magic happens! Wame, after showing us the menu and getting us the wine, came back with 2 stools and a cushion - so that we can put the sleepyhead down!!! Even though sleepyhead woke up as soon as we put him down, the magic continues... when our seafood platter arrives, the first waitress/Wame/another waitress all tag-teamed to look after our son (showing him the sharks, the band... etc).

That's why my review title is: "..., but most importantly - the amazing service!!!" The food and the setting will not feel half as good if we have to look after the little one! But with their help, we enjoyed our romantic dinner, sleepyhead graze the beautiful food, and we can still count it as a family event!!!

Vinaka to all of you at Wicked Walu, we love the food, enjoyed the settings and are extremely grateful for your thoughtfulness.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alohabride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wicked Walu - Amazing!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Of all the restaurants we ate at whilst at the Warwick the most memorable and amazing was the Wicked Walu. Not only was the food absolutely amazing, the staff were absolutely incredible!! In particular Apete, Niko, Mere, Kemen, Joe, Sala and all the Chefs welcomed us with open arms and certainly made us want to go back again and again!!!. We were treated like royalty and it was amazing to eat on the pier surrounded by the fishes!! The service and food was spectacular and I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone visiting Fiji. By the time we were leaving the resorts, we had made new friendships and created memories that will last a lifetime with the Wicked Walu crew due to their friendly and enthusiastic attitudes and incredible food!!! On our final visit to Wicked Walu we were treated with the traditional farewell song Isa Lei and a farewell dance with all of the staff!! Just unbelievable ... Can't wait to come back to Fiji again very soon and eat at the best seafood restaurant in Fiji! Missing this place terribly!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food in a beautiful setting - the title says it all.

We had a fantastic experience dining at the Walu. It's such a beautiful location and the food was some of the best seafood I've ever eaten. A great price and excellent service too.

We booked from Australia via email as were dining with a group of 20 and had no problems. The staff were friendly and provided great service. It was also pretty cool to see the fish swimming around and the sand inside the restaurant is a lovely touch.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JASMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decadent Dining”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Service was fantastic and the meals were superb. Amazing to enjoy a meal with such an amazing view which really made the experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Princess1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicked Walu Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Votua Village, Coral Coast
 
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Nadi, Viti Levu
 

Been to Wicked Walu Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing