We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good deal in Khulna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castle Salam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khulna City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Castle Salam
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Khulna City
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good deal in Khulna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Compared to other accomodation solutions in rural area of Bangladesh, the Castle Salam is definitely a very good hotel for people and professionals stopping by in Khulna. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and the restaurant has good food at cheap prices.
While I was there a colleague from India took me on the other side of the road, where there is a barber who makes great head massages!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stitch8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
4
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed two nights. Was generally clean and comfortable. Hot water was a problem for some in the group - had to run for 15 minutes. Didn't use any services but know it had a small business centre. Restaurant was cheap, food ok - but it's in a big hall and had the TV blaring. Safe and secure, fairly cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnyjampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

My ratings are a reflection of the local market rather than the international one. The rooms are large, clean and reasonably comfortable although the foam topper pad an my bed could do with changing as it had become compacted in some places.
The facilities are not great but are the best in town. The shower temperature was marginal but then probably a hot hot shower is not needed in that part of the world!
The staff were fabulous and keen to make the stay a pleasure.
Thgis was my second time and I'm sure I will be staying there again next visit!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WagenerHolidayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

On a recent rip to southern Bangladesh, I stopped over for 3 nights at Castle Salam, given the surrounds that is on offer this hotel provided all the basics one needs, in room television, shower facilities, mini fridge, telephone, wifi available in the lobby and breakfast in the main dinning room. Evening meals were very tasteful the menu a mix of local and oriental. Exceptional value $6.00-12USD I could not fault the food.. It even has a basic gym 150tk to use and a pool/billards room. There is a room in the lobby with 2 pcs and printers with average internet conncetion.

The staff are most helpful and friendly.

The room was large approx 5m x 6m, had a basic foam matress bed, 2 lounge chairs, coffee table, room service from a basic menu was offered, free 1ltr water provided each day...In all the hotel offers a clean, A/C room with a confortable quiet night stay in a less than quiet city...the only area that falls down is the rooftop pool could do with a deep clean and have the filter working...

My rating is one in what this local market offers and not against a global hotel. Would I stay again .. yes.

Room Tip: select a rear facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forward_cabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel on two occasions - last time for 3 days in early September 2011 for a workshop. The room is spacious with good corporate discount as well as free breakfast and a 1-litre bottle of water daily. The room for workshop for 30 participants is spacious too. The staff is excellent and customer-friendly. Above all, the quality of their food is consistently good. I have had my best Bengali food in the restaurant of this hotel. And the price is reasonable. The only problem I faced was lack of internet connection in the room - neither wired nor wireless. However, this is made up by accessing internet in their business center. Overall, an excellent hotel and value for money.

Room Tip: Usually 4th floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdebnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I went to Khulna several times for project and stay only the first time in Castle Salam and not after then any time i stay here. Rather i preferred the Hotel Royal, just opposite of the Castle Salam or i chosen the Millennium. Room service was poor, however room was spacious and decorated.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafrul Hasan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khulna City hotels

Lusaka
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I got absolutely eaten alive by bedbugs here. The staff refused to acknowlege it until I started catching the bugs that were filled with my blood and presenting them to the hotel staff. They just moved me and put somebody else in that room!!!!

Food was awful, staff were unfriendly, the CSS is the best option in Khulna by far.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrwoodhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khulna City
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#3 of 26 in Cox's Bazar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tiger Garden International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Salam

Property: Hotel Castle Salam
Address: G-8, K.D.A, Avenue, Khulna City 9100, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Khulna Division > Khulna City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Khulna City
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Salam Khulna Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing