We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about expectations”
Review of Uni Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Uni Resort
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Cox's Bazar
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Cox’s Bazar is a remote location in an underdeveloped country. Although it is a resort area with wonderful beaches, it is not a resort area that anyone from the west would recognize. This area, as with much of the rest of the country is less developed than people might be used to. With that in mind, the hotel did a great job of hosting almost 30 of us on a tour. The rooms are comfortable, perhaps as not a clean as one might like, but satisfactory. Each room has a workable air conditioner, however the hotel generator often quits, leaving the hotel with no power. Although these occurrences don’t last more than a couple of minutes, I would not like to be in the elevator when it stops.
The country is home to many mosquitoes and other bugs that bite, so the hotel staff will offer to spray your room each evening. You are free to accept or not. We always let them sprat and had no problems with insects in our room.
The hotel does supply free Wi-Fi services, but it is sometimes unreliable in your room, unless you are near the door and your room is close to the router.
There is a restaurant that serves acceptable food. They do have a menu, but we only saw the buffet, which is available at set hours. With our large group, we could request which hours they would serve.
There is room service, which we used for small items like ice and desserts. They apparently only have one ice bucket in the hotel, as when they didn’t retrieve it from our room our next order of ice came in a dish. Service was prompt and there was little waiting.
The front desk staff is pleasant and helpful and spoke acceptable English. Other staff were also as helpful as they could be given their lack of English.
The hotel is on the main highway through town, so some people might find it noisy as car, truck and bus horns are in frequent use.
Although there appear to be more upscale hotels in the area, the Uni is good value and I would stay there again.

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/borgford

Room Tip: Value, not luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

yes i would recommend dis place because i got all da service i wished..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kais41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

its a very good for budget travellers, room ranges from 1,000 to 1,500 per night. its a good place to stay, close to beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Raffee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I went to this hotel with my wife and only 15months old daughter in September to celebrate my birthday on request of my wife. EMS previladge arranged this for us. At our arrivel they gave us welcome drinks then we went to 4th floor for our booked so called queen delux room.
Room was not so clean as we expected. Dirty bathroom. I request them to clean again and they done it. At evening when we came back from outside and switched on the T.V. After 5min found smoke from the back of that T.V. Within a 1min we covered with smoke. Called the house keeping and receiption but they came after 10 to 15min. We don't understand why they were late though they were informed about fire on room. They informed us not to watch the T.V. I request them to change the room, after thinking 2 hours they changed our room to next room. Bath room door lock broken, A/C was not working properly. next morning we went to the sea beach and came back to our room arround 11am. To our surprise we found there were other Bags and packets from an out sider in our rooms. Though we booked that room for 3 days. Can you believe this? Still I didn't find the proper answer from the management of that hotel. They don't have fire fighting equipments, electricians, and staff for maintanance. Any way only two things we found good enough. One is the food another is the location. I'd never ever stay that place. this is the terrible hotel at coxsbazar I had ever stayed cause no other hotels allocate two guest in same rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Inter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uni-Resort C, Manager at Uni Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

We are really very sorry about this unavoidable trouble with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed there as we reached coxsbazar suddenly and found all hotels are booked. We stayed in a triple room, which was spacious and clean. Food, service was good. Never tried again, but I consider myself satisfied at what I got.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellor_bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We booked suits on 2nd floor over phone for 3 nights but when we reached there we surprised that.. they'd changed it to 1st floor without our consent. Becasue they rented them to other customers. They gave us suits: 105,106 and 107. We couldn't use 106 (execpt bed) because the door lock wasn't working ( they tried to fix it but failed on the 2nd day), dirty bathroom and crap wall. Even the mini refrigerator wasn't pluged-in. Really disgusting...!! I had no choice so we forced to use the bed becasue there was no room left for first two nights.

They said suits 106 & 107 were seaview suits but we were unable to see it because the suits located on Level 1 ... :( . Also, there is no internet connection at rooms, however, only one connection at lobby so that only one lucky guest can use internet at any time ... how funny !!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zenith78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I will not circle around, coming to the point..
THE LOCATION :: 3 out of 5. On the kolatoli road Its between beach 2 & 3. U can take a tuk-tuk / mini-taxi OR Rickshaw to the beach.
Costs :: BDT 2200-2500 including breakfast.
ROOMS :: We booked 2 rooms 1 day before arriving. Room was Deluxe Twin with two single bed which was comfortable & bouncy specially the pillow was good. We were served with 2 half liter mineral water. Room had a mini fridge. A long reading table which also holds a 21 inch TV with enough satellite channels.
Room has a wall cabinet, one sofa & one chair. Full wall mirror, phone & TV.
Restaurant :: We were served Buffet Breakfast with 15-20 items. But still i am unsatisfied with quality. The served parata, vaji, dal, khichuri, Bread & Butter / Jelly, EGG fry(omlet) / poch & some cakes & sweets etc. Even the TEA & COFFEE were not up to the mark. They also served lunch & dinner for Indian & Continental dishes which we couldn't dare to try after morning experience.
DISADVANTAGES :: NO EMERGENCY DRY CLEANING. NO SWIMMING POOL.

OVERALL_:: EXPENSIVE FOR BUDGET TRAVELERS & STUDENTS. GOOD FOR FAMILY & HONEYMOONERS. CAN HAVE SAME FACILITIES WITH LESS PRICE.

thankin you # ivan

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stobdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cox's Bazar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prime Park
Hotel Prime Park
#5 of 30 in Cox's Bazar
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Orchid
White Orchid
#6 of 30 in Cox's Bazar
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cox Today Limited
The Cox Today Limited
#8 of 30 in Cox's Bazar
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sea Alif
Hotel Sea Alif
#23 of 30 in Cox's Bazar
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Way
Beach Way
#21 of 30 in Cox's Bazar
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Cox's Bazar
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uni Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uni Resort

Address: Kalatali, Cox's Bazar, Bangladesh
Location: Bangladesh > Chittagong Division > Cox's Bazar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cox's Bazar
Price Range: $27 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uni Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“UNI RESORT” the Hi- Deluxe Hotel at Cox’s Bazar. Minutes drive from Cox’s Bazar Airport and central bus station. Facing the beach & fully air-conditioned. The resort can take pride in their absolutely sound proof Conference Hall having a capacity of 250 persons and a board room for 25 persons. 24 hour secured by well trained security guard and CCTV, the restaurant serving Bangladeshi and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Uni Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uni Hotel Cox`s Bazar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing