We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindens House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindens House
Ranked #6 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
tyne wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

The wife and i stayed for 3 nights the room was great
The breakfast was somthing wow and fresh fruit
The hosts were just like the famiy could not do plenty for you
we will be staying there again
thank you all spotlessly clean 12 out of 10

Beryl Derek

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth,UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed at Lindens House the night before our friends wedding. The bed and breakfast was recommended and as we were not from the area we had a look at the website and decided to book. We had a lovely stay at Lindens House, a lovely family run bed and breakfast. Location was perfect, family were extremely helpful and friendly and the room was lovely/big. Bed was comfortable and we had our own en-suite.

I would definitely recommend staying here, especially if you like a friendly welcome.

  • Liked — Owners/Staff Friendliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMonkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed at Lindens for 2 nights, while going to a friend's wedding in nearby Ilminster. We really couldn't have had a better stay there. The room was very clean & well presented. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant, full english along with a fab fruit salad. The hosts were wonderful & couldn't have been more helpful. This place is a real gem.

Friends stayed in the Travelodge in Ilminster which was closer to the reception venue, we paid a very similar price for a far better room & amazing breakfast each morning - its worth travelling the few more miles to Lindens.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubble21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stopped at the Lindens for 1 night in July 07. Our friends were getting married in Ottery St Mary and we were struggling to find a room in the area. After trapsing Laterooms.com for ever, I finally (and at the time reluctantly) plumped for the Linden.

We were travelling down from Coventry and needed to check in early, this was no trouble for the owners, a young couple who made us feel very welcome, more like vistitting a friends to stop over than a hotel. On arrival we were met with a very friendly welcome and shown our room, the room was massive and immaculately kept, with an ensuite facility and big bed. It was raining for the day we stopped so didnt get to use the pool, but we could see it from our window and it was spotless. The garden also has play items for the kids including a trampoline.

We spent to day driving out to visit Lyme Regis (we dont see the coast too often in the West Midlands) and got back at 8ish. We were going to park up and find a pub, but were recomended a pub a little drive out. This proved to be a diamond place....a massive meal for about £10/£12 and beautifully cooked. I had the steak which was huge and my wife had the seabass which was whole and cooked to perfection.

If we are ever visitting Somerset again we would definitely stay here as its central and so, so friendly!!! 5* hospitality

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Not the hotel itself, but Chard is apparently a little rough, but we didnt experience this.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CovCityFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chard hotels
0.3 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Golden Fleece
The Golden Fleece
#3 of 13 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
0.1 mi away
Watermead Guest House
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 13 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindens House

Property: Lindens House
Address: 52 Snowdon Cottage Lane | High Street, Chard TA20 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindens House is a family run home from home bed and breakfast with a large garden including an outdoor swimming pool, situated in the Heart of Somerset within easy distance of the coast and many attractions, Cricket St.Thomas Wild Life Park, historic houses etc. We also cater for the disabled with stair lift etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lindens House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindens House Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing