We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business meeting and stay at the Lordleaze Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked the Lordsleaze Hotel for a business meeting and four of us stayed on the previous night. The place is excellent with a relaxed atmosphere but very efficient service. Comfortable rooms, bars, restaurant and the meeting room was ideal for our needs and all amenities available.
Nothing was too much trouble and the food was extremely good. The chips were out of this world.
I would highly recommend the hotel for a holiday visit or for business use.
Very well done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for The Lordleaze Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just arrived back home from a second great 3 day stay at the Lordleaze and miss it already! Such a great cosy family run hotel with superb staff and a spotless lovely room and superb breakfast! There's nothing more to say except can't wait to come again! E.C

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Achterberg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Public Relations Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2015

It was great to have you back with us!
We don't like to disappoint with our breakfast, decent portions and delicious local food.
See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

a word of warning there is a factory near the hotel which one doesn't see when one is driving along a lovely long drive way--they make HENRY hoovers & the fork lift trucks beep every time they reverse --they work round the clock & bed was hard

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank lesleya887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Unlikely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This came out of a desire to visit this part of the West Country - provided by an Amazon Local offer. £89 for a two night stay with breakfast and a meal in the hotel with 15% discount. I jumped at the offer.
Well sign posted from the parish church in Chard. Far enough away from the housing estate to avoid effect. Attractive surroundings, good patio area, lovely flower tubs outside the reception and ample parking.
Check in was friendly with sufficient information - location of room and directions, location of bar & restaurant and were asked whether we would be dining in. Filled out resident fact card with personal contact details and car registration. I asked time of dinner and breakfast timings. All provided courteously. Friendly welcome from owner at the bar and a chat about the state of the tennis at Wimbledon (Nadal had just been knocked out). Local cask ales - variety of strengths - Otter Ales and Yeovil Bitter. Tried both and found them very acceptable well kept and served. Red wine was a well chosen Cabinet Sauvignon.
Room was well appointed and clean. Double bed was superbly comfortable and when I complimented the owed he replied that they had recently replaced all 25 double beds. Extra pillows were available in wardrobe. Only non-positive point here was the plastic mattress protector which in the current weather conditions (warm & humid) made us quite hot at night. However I understand the need for such protection. Nicely appointed bathroom, which included bath, shower (newly renovated), sink and toilet. Well lit and plenty of shelves and surfaces for bottles and stuff.
Wifi was brilliant and five hotspots throughout the hotel to remove weak areas. Clear and simple H&S instructions in the hotel guide. Kettle and variety of beverages provided. We always travel with a small teapot as tea brewed in a cup/mug is personally disliked.
Meal in the restaurant was three course (tho' optional). The menu was very varied and went to some length to explain the local provenance of all of the ingredients. This was for me an excellent idea as food miles are a personal axe-grinding issue. Service was very efficient, all staff serving at table and bar were local and English and very courteous and helpful. Courses were brought at appropriate intervals. All portions were well presented and were of adequate amount. I left the table satisfied and not over-full. The bar was also stocked with a fine selection of whiskies.
Breakfast on the first day was the reason for the lack of 5 stars. The cereals and fruit on offer were varied in type and the cooked elements were again locally sourced. I felt the bacon rashers were rather over-cooked for my tastes and eggs not freshly cooked. On morning two I had scrambled egg with mushrooms and they were cooked to perfection. Hint here is to go slightly off written menu and your elements will be freshly cooked. Service was with a smile from three very smartly dressed young ladies. The rooms were cleaned and tidied and re-stocked in accordance with B&B standards. The hotel seemed a well run family enterprise - present owners had been operating for 17 years and they ran a very efficient business where young and elderly staff provided the same level of friendly service. If you asked you would receive a helpful reply. What more could you ask for? We didn't explore Chard but used the stay to explore the Jurassic Heritage Coast from Beer in the west to Charmouth in the east. We spent most time in Lyme Regis. We would recommend the hotel and area and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

WOW

All breakfast is cooked fresh to order by hard working conscientious people. Glad you enjoyed it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We got our wish to stay at this hotel again. We stayed on a special offer in 2012 and another offer came up again so we, my husband, my 94 year old Mum and I, jumped at the chance to stay at The Lordleaze Hotel again. There was a slight mix up on arrival as I had asked for 2 rooms next to each other which was not the case, but it was soon sorted out. The service at this hotel is still first class and the staff cannot do enough for you. We came back from a long day out not wanting a big meal so we sat in the lounge and ate. I fancied scones and cream, it was not on the menu, but I was still able to have my request. We had eaten in the restaurant the previous evening; the food was plentiful ,extremely tasty and good value. Hope to see you all at The Lordleaze Hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The weather was awful during our stay. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. Room service was excellent. Highly recommend the cheese platter! Breakfast was good and the staff friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you - everyone here works very hard for all customers and pleasant reviews are taken as compliment to the hard working humans behind each aspect of your stays. thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

had the weekend at Lordleaze Hall. Great experience - the staff were brilliant - room excellent. We took our dog and they gave us a room with french windows , so we could come and go without problems. The breakfast was the best i've had in years (on a par with the Hilton in Atlanta).

Chard is a nice little town and central for the whole area. Thanks to everyone at Lordleaze

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
342 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: $115 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing