We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming country town hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A charming country town hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a most attractive place with a very warm welcome and friendly efficient staff. The bedroom was comfortable with a modern bathroom and was spotlessly clean. The menu at dinner was pleasing and with a good choice; most of the food was sourced locally, was well cooked and attractively served. There should be more hotels like this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for these great comments.
Great that you enjoyed your dinner.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    187
    43
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
391
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

A lovely family-run hotel in a slightly weird location, the drive up to it through a housing estate was not very inspiring, but the hotel was there first and can hardly be blamed for housing developments! I was not there when checking in but understand the welcome was warm and helpful. I arrived on a very late train which was mentioned by a different member of staff the next day which shows a caring attitude. The room was not huge but perfectly pleasant with everything needed, it would have been nice to have been able to use the courtyard (our ground floor room had a door out to it) in better weather. My only slight negative, and it is a standard one for all hotels, is I wish they would stop covering the beds with old and slightly grubby looking bedspreads; I would much prefer to see bright clean white linen rather than it being covered by the bedspread as I am also never sure how often these are washed! Everything else was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast both days was extremely good; cooked to order, and very tasty, using good quality produce as well as a help yourself buffet of fruit, cereals and fruit juices. Toast was plentiful and a good selection of spreads was provided on each table, including my favourite; Marmite! The service by a lovely Spanish(?) lady was really friendly and efficient. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night (we reserved a table in the afternoon but changed the time later on, this was no problem and we were told we could arrive whenever we liked which was nice), the menu was good, service quick, friendly and unobtrusive and the food was very tasty. We both had the bacon and mushroom gratin to start, it was one of the best starters I have ever had and was substantial enough to be a main meal! My sister ordered 2 starters instead of a main course and this was catered for with no problem or surprise. We had a very nice Pinot Grigio to drink then retired to the pleasant bar area for a pint, it was nice to see 2 real ales on offer and the owner and his son Tom saw us looking at the collection of Champagne bottles in the corner and gave us details on the names of the sizes and the background of the collection.
We stayed on a deal which was extremely good value and would stay again if a similar deal were available and we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
All beds now have brand new fluffy white duvets and pillows with a simple runner and cushions for your comfort and pleasure.
Constantly upgrading bit by bit in this old converted 18th century farm house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Having never been there I looked round and met the owners, friendly, warm and cosy.
Booked my wedding there last year. Everything I imagined and more. Lots of family stayed and loved it even my brothers dog!
Have been back since for a friends surprise birthday party, It was wonderful. So much care to detail and will create whatever you want to make it personal.
Lovely family run hotel,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Front Office Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you, this place is a great one stop venue for any party of any size.
All the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had taken advantage of a voucher for our stay to a part of the country we had not been to before. The drive to the hotel was reasonably easy, courtesy of our sat nav as without it, the housing estate near the hotel could have been confusing. Our welcome was pleasant and we found our room easily. Not a large room but the facilities were as expected. It was clean but the carpet could have been hovered better as there was quite a bit of fluff, dust etc near the skirting boards. We had been previously warned of a Christmas Party taking place on our first night, but this caused us no problems with any noise or disturbance. We ate out on this night at a nearby pub but had dinner at the hotel on our last night. The choice was not large but was well cooked and we had more than enough. Breakfast was as expected, choice of continental and/or cooked with all the usual on offer. However disappointing that we did not get a pot of coffee, we had to ask for refills. All staff we met were friendly and happy to chat when possible. A reasonable place to stay if exploring the area, but without the voucher full price looked expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your evening meal.
We have recently added to our menu with even more exciting food.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had our wedding here October 2012,and it was brilliant. The staff, food, and rooms were amazing. Even now our guests are still talking now about how good it all was. Very reasonable as well. Our wedding day was pure magical and a lot of that was down to the Lordleaze.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you, congratulations again, an absolute pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here back in July using a voucher! We have not stayed in a worst hotel than this. Frosty reception from the two grumpy landlords who gave us sarcastic comments! Rooms are old fashioned and v dated. Shower bathroom facilities are good! Breakfast was awful but the waitress was v helpful! We were entitled to a bottle of wine with our stay but didn't receive it only to be told by the owners that we should of asked early! Like others have said and is blatant on this site, people who pay in full get treated v differently to if u have a voucher

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We sometimes offer vouchers so that we can have even more lovely people stay with us and hopefully return after an enjoyable time in the West Country. We also charge a fair tariff for both parties at full price as a customer service driven business. We welcome everyone and are delighted to do so...
If you have concerns about using vouchers you could just pay full price instead.....
(It took 6 months to leave this review , whoever you are ,by the way ???)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sopton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at Lordleaze 4 nights, our second visit this year. As before we found it a very pleasant experience. we particularly liked the family run, welcoming, hotel atmosphere. We had a room on the ground floor with patio doors on to the lovely garden so our dog could easily come and go without going through the public rooms. The room was spotlessly clean, large ensuite bath, shower etc. loads of hot water, very welcome after a day out in November!!
The bar was great with two real ales on tap (very rare for a hotel but then the landlord enjoys a pint too!!) The woodburning stove kept us snug whilst we perused the menu in anticipation of good things to come!! We were never disappointed ( we ate in every evening). The food was lovely, the chef is part of the family too. A great bottle of wine just about finished us, fit only to slide between the sheets in one of the most comfortable beds ever.
Breakfast, well what can we say, extensive buffet with fruit, cereals etc and the choice of practically anything one could fit into a frying pan. As it said on the menu, if you don't see it just ask. Truckloads of toast, white/brown whatever you like all served by charming and very efficient young ladies!! (bonus)!!
All highly reccommended for a relaxed and informal stay. Great value offer for off season travellers.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms leading out on to the garden a must if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, General Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Glad breakfast was enjoyable for you.
Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
22.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing