We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Lordleaze in March on a voucher deal. We are really glad we did because the hotel is fantastic. The location is nice and quiet with plenty of on site parking, our room had views over fields. Although the weather was very cold the room was lovely and warm. The room we stayed in (12) was really nice with plenty of room very clean and everything was to a high standard. The staff were freindly, polite and helpful. The breakfasts were good with lots of choice of cereals and fruit. We didn't try the full English but I had poached egg on toast which was good. They source food locally wherever possible, which is something we like to see. We ate one evening meal there as part of the deal and the food was very good indeed. Highly recommended, the deal was particularly good value but the hotel is so good we would be happy to stay there again even at the standard rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which is at the front and overlooks fields and is nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike52Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us - we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for The Lordleaze Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 676 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i spent the weekend 8/3/13 in chard and stayed at the lordleaze hotel
we were both very pleased with this hotel staff very helpfull and alway smiling nothing was a problem for them
the rooms were kept to a high standed and very comfy. The restaurant food was very nice we had an evening meal on the first night and the prices very reasonable and breakfast was first class. A big thankyou to Tom,and his father and the staff at the lordleaze

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard1960_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

A pleasure to have you staying with us - hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I were given the stay at the Lordleaze Hotel as Christmas present and we were lucky to get some very good weather when we were there . The room we had was spacious and very comfortable and the hotel is situated in a very quiet area so the nights were peaceful . The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome . We would recommend a stay there to anyone .

Room Tip: If you are very tall just ask and you will find them very helpful .
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAELPRATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Lordleaze - we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here recently and although probably well below the average age that stay here we were treated well by the staff and really enjoyed our breakfasts here. We ate elsewhere so cannot comment on the evening meals.
I did find it hard to sleep, not because the room was too hot but I think the duvets are very warming. It was minus 2 out and slept with window open and still got too hot (Im usually alwas cold so this is probably why others have had an issue).
Plenty of parking, quiet location but not out of the way really.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsearcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed yourselves - we hope to be able to cook dinner for you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived early afternooin to a warm welcome from mein host and some help with our luggage, this included assent of a steep staircase. This staircaser was to be negotiated numerous times in our 3 night stay, something of a challenge for mid seventies pensioners.
The dining room is beautiful and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is excellent. The promised welcoming drink never materialised. The service in the dining room was both professsional and efficient. Our room was fresh in appearance, this included the en-suite where the hot water was certainly hot. The T.V. reception was something of a gamble, now you see it - now you don't

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lloyd Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back sometime - we do have groundfloor bedrooms with excellent tv reception (as in all rooms as of 27th March area update), anything else you need just ask and we will be happy to oblige at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Husband and I stayed here last weekend and what a treasure we found. Fabulous feeling to this hotel very cheerful, excellent room and brilliant selection of food enhanced by their waiting staff who were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly visit again as this such a central location for Lyme Regis, Honiton, Glastonbury and Exeter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jookoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us - we hope to welcome you back sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent last weekend here. What a welcome change to stay in a hotel where we felt valued as guests. The hotel is welcoming and comfortable. The staff were naturally friendly and warm. The food was so good, we ate in the hotel on both evenings and the breakfasts were great too. Definately recommend this for a romantic getaway....Even in winter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamiltonsw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to laying on a pleasant experience for you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
342 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
917 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: $115 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing