We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thouroughly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lordleaze Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thouroughly Recommended”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent last weekend here. What a welcome change to stay in a hotel where we felt valued as guests. The hotel is welcoming and comfortable. The staff were naturally friendly and warm. The food was so good, we ate in the hotel on both evenings and the breakfasts were great too. Definately recommend this for a romantic getaway....Even in winter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltonsw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to laying on a pleasant experience for you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    223
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
70
467
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights on a voucher. The service was good and we were received with a welcome drink. Full breakfast was good and the hotel was clean throughout. In a quiet setting. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It has to be said that Chard, late on a bitter February afternoon is not the most enthralling destination, so we were glad to be welcomed by a blazing log fire on arrival. The building looks a bit tired on the outside, but despite being located in fields abutted by a housing estate and industrial units, retains the peaceful country feel of its farmhouse origins. The floors are uneven and creak in all the right places to ensure atmosphere and the rooms are pleasant, exceptionally clean and well equipped.
The food was variable - a lacklustre overcooked steak followed by a bread and butter pudding that was steaming on the outside but cold internally was less than impressive, although a fireside glass of Lagavulin made the world a better place (as always!) Breakfast was also disappointing on our first morning - a vulcanised haddock fillet that was a healthy option only because of the masseter exertion required to chew it rather overshadowed an otherwise reasonable offering ..... But then a wand must have been waved, for subsequent food became delightful. Our second dinner consisted of the most succulent, flavoursome belly pork ever and a generous local cheeseboard. Service was impeccable at all times - polite, pleasant and professional.
Overall, this is a pretty good three star hotel - nothing more, nothing less. With a Groupon voucher it offers good value for money. At normal rates we might have felt a little underwhelmed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorsWhoDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your journalistic review..

Great that you were able to enjoy our Restauarnt and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel at full price sometime to show you that it is still good value!

Very sorry that your steak was overdone on the 1st night - please never eat an overdone steak in any restaurant - just send it back and ask for another one ... It doesn't take long and it gives the place a chance to redeem a small unintentional error which can ruin your evening - we REALLY want to be able to rectify any issue at the time and keep our happy clientele happy...

We have realised our Recent Haddock supply has been poor and now offer West Bay Kippers as a breakfast option instead - delicious ! Thank you for pointing this out (aldbeit on Tripadvisor) we hadn't realised or had negative feedback at any breakfast.

It really was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a special Groupon deal for a 2 night stay at The Lordleaze. We didn’t know quite what to expect after reading some of the reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had a warm welcome, the staff were efficient and charming, and there is a nice log fire in the lounge. Lovely breakfasts. We had a very clean & comfortable room. Nice big, fluffy white towels, warm room, lots of instant hot, soft water. Lots of electrical sockets, and good lighting for reading, etc. We had dinner on the first night, very good steak and speciality chips. Yes, the hotel is ‘off the beaten track’ and could be tricky to find, but there are signs pointing the way.
Plenty of easy parking. A pleasant stay all round.

Room Tip: Room 20 was quiet with nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Very happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Lordleaze Hotel - thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Lordleaze is a good 3* hotel and (having looked at the negative reviews) all the better for not pretending to be anything else. It is very comfortable, warm and welcoming. The room we had was well equipped and real effort had been made with presentation and attention to detail. The breakfast was excellent. We ate dinner there for one night of our stay. The menu is not imaginative but I suspect they know their market and in a small hotel it's entirely reasonable to serve a limited menu. They clearly source good quality ingredients. The steak was very good and the crackling on my pork as good as I have had anywhere. Veg crisp, mash excellent.The wine list was really rather good, small but full of clever and good value choices. The service throughout was excellent, the staff are competent, friendly and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. It's not a boutique hotel, which is why we were able to afford it, and my Dash sweatshirt felt right at home! We had a romantic and restful stay stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltsGardnerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Great effort is taken to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights on a special deal, but even the usual price it's worth the money. 18th century building with lots of character and although on the edge of Chard a very country feel. The staff were all very welcoming and there was adequate parking. A small hotel but lots of atmosphere. The room was lovely and spacious, clean and light and airy with a comfy bed and very good shower. There is a bath for those of you like me, who enjoy a hot soak after a day sightseeing. Dinner was lovely and the breakfast really filling and lots of it. Nearby are plenty of places to visit, we enjoyed Beer, Seaton and Lyme Regis. Lots to see and do and 3 counties Somerset, Devon and Dorset within about a 10 mile radius.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
pleasure having you stay with us, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay was made even better with a Deal Cloud voucher but we would certainly recommend Lordleaze even without any discounts! Really nice food, nice beers, very comfy rooms and relaxed bar areas. Will definitely go back at some point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stew_Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomo12, Manager at The Lordleaze Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - lovely concise opinion , hope to have you staying with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
335 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
257 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lordleaze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lordleaze Hotel

Property: The Lordleaze Hotel
Address: Forton Road | Forton Road, Chard TA20 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lordleaze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lordleaze Hotel is the only 3 star Hotel in Chard. Real Ale Bar and Quality Restaurant, log fire, garden, super fast free wifi throughout, and lots of free parking. A delightfully converted 18th-century farmhouse set in rural surroundings, the secluded setting of the Lordleaze Hotel is a perfect location for those seeking peace and tranquility. The restaurant provides great local produce for a memorable meal with excellent local steaks and an extensive quality wine list. The 25 tastefully decorated and furnished bedrooms all overlook the surrounding countryside. Each, with newly refurbished en-suite bathroom, has Freeview TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee facilities, trouser press and other small touches for your added comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lordleaze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lordleaze Hotel Chard
The Lordleaze Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing