We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond farewell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fond farewell”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've stayed at Cricket now more often rather we can honestly recall, and reviewed it more than once, not always favourably. This will be our last visit for the foreseeable future, but only because we want to concentrate on going further afield.
Things went through a period of decline around the time of our last review, and all the changes for the worse were put down to "customer feedback" in the General Manager's response to that review. Customers wanted cheaper champagne, crisps instead of fruit and no chocolates in their welcome packs, apparently. We felt this was, at best, disingenuous.
From our long-view perspective (there have been two new GM's since then) we have seen things turn for the better again. We always stay in the Purtington Suite and always dine at Fennochi's, which is included with the suite.
So the first obvious improvement was that, since we asked last time (in April) for a safe in the suite,a safe has been provided. Now, that genuinely is an example of something done "in response to customer feedback"!
Meanwhile, for the first time as a matter of policy, Fennochi's is closed on Monday (changeover day) evening. So like it or not, we were dining at Treetops. Luckily, Maria (who used to run Fennochi's) now has the helm in the main restaurant. While the service is pressured by weight of diner numbers, the staff do their utmost and the food we sampled in Treetops was exceptionally good. The gammon steak with sweet potato chips was far superior to the anticipated mass-produced fare; at least on a par with anything we've eaten elsewhere. With no previous experience of Treetops, we would have no hesitation in dining there again.
We never go to any of the evening entertainment in the Pavilion, so we can't comment other than to recommend not to stay in the main block near the smoking terrace, where the late night drinkers congregate. From the historic house, this is all well beyond earshot.
We also stayed at Cricket last Christmas, when the piano and harp recitals in the house were truely sublime, and in April we held a small lunch party in the Boardroom on our China Wedding Anniversary for a group of close friends. This has become once again the kind of hotel we wanted. Idyllically quiet in the historic house, secluded, and most essentially, child-free.

Room Tip: The Purtington Suite, which comprises most of the rear elevation of the house, has a genuine "W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve-and-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    476
    229
    74
    56
See reviews for
169
935
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've been to Cricket St Thomas with my husband a couple of times & also last year when we felt that it was in a decline. Rather reluctantly we booked to take my father who was 88 on father's day to Cricket St Thomas, only because of the distance for him to travel from home. But I have to say that from the moment we arrived (my dad has to be pushed in a wheelchair) until the moment we left, the whole Hotel couldn't have been better. The staff were very kind and friendly. We stayed in the courtyard rooms 109 & 105, so that we weren't too far from the restaurant & Pavilion cabaret room. The food all weekend was really lovely and we have no complaints at all. My Dad was over the moon and really that made our weekend great. Thanks to all the staff at Cricket St Thomas.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms 109 & 105 were in the newer part of the hotel (so no walking outside) & were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chart50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for a weekend at end May. The Hotel is situated in middle of 1,000 acres country estate with beautiful views and well maintained grounds. Lovely for a gentle stroll.
Staff all very friendly, comfortable Signature bedroom, excellent food and entertainment.
Main Dining Room bright,clean and well decorated. Good service with part Buffet part waiter.
Plenty of daytime activities for those who wish to stay on the estate.
Clean swimming pool with good shower/changing facilities.
Entertainment excellent we had a comic on Friday night, a band on saurday and resident staff show on Sunday.

Room Tip: Signature Rooms close to main dining room but quiet with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzaRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were fortunate to take advantage of the half price offer when we visited Cricket St Thomas for five days on 3rd june. We enjoyed our stay and fortunately our signature room in the garden wing was very quiet. The meals were good but the coffee situation was chaos, some people having to wait 40 minutes on the first evening for their coffee. I think it is a little mean not to include coffee in the price.
The area is lovely with some pleasant trips out in the car. However we certainly would not pay full price for a Warner break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IOWseaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our tenth visit to Warner's in a variety of their venues around the UK, and our third visit to Cricket St Thomas. As always the service, food and entertainment was very good and made our visit very pleasant.

Unfortunately the Signature Room that was booked as double had two single beds pushed together. Not something that I would expect for a hotel of such standing. This made for an uncomfortable sleep for my wife and I. The extractor fan in the bathroom ran continuously throughout our entire stay, an on/off switch would be good, or a timer switch.

It seems that some of the extras that we have grown accustomed to at Warner's are slowly being taken away, for example bath robes are still available but at an extra cost. Coffee after dinner was included, now it has a surcharge. Is this Warner's trying to squeeze every last penny out of the guests?

The safari park that was has now become a sheep farm, which was a little disappointing, as it was something we were looking forward to seeing again.

Room Tip: No apparent Wifi was available and most people we spoke to could not get mobile phone signal in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The grounds of Cricket Saint Thomas are magnificent and there is a little train that you can take if you have any difficulties walking. The main house was used in 'To the Manor Born' and in the woods you can find the house of Mr Blobby. We had a contempory Royale room in the Garden wing. The room was good and the bed very comfortable.There are 622 rooms in this wing which is nearly twice as much as in the main bolck. The swimming pool and gym are also here. To reach the dining room we had quite a long walk and as it was raining we got wet at times. The food was good but I found the dining room rather crowded with tables too close together.There is a separate dining room for those who book historic rooms. One nights dining at Fennochi was included in our deal and the food was good but the restaurant was rather cold.

Room Tip: Our room (536) was very clean and very big and was quite close to the swimming pool. Also we were ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrostyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just had a wonderful weekend at this hotel, sharing it with our daughter and son-on-law. We couldn't fault it in any way. Staff are so helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a patio room in the walled garden and because the sun shone the whole weekend it was a lovely area. The grounds of the hotel are magnificent and we enjoyed some lovely walks. The food was tremendous and there was something for everyone, even if you had allergies, it was all there and as much as you could possibly want. Service was second to none. We will certainly be going back again.

Room Tip: Walled garden rooms are lovely. We had a signature room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
2.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
663 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
261 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
11.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Property: Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing