We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break at Cricket St Thomas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Weekend Break at Cricket St Thomas”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our tenth visit to Warner's in a variety of their venues around the UK, and our third visit to Cricket St Thomas. As always the service, food and entertainment was very good and made our visit very pleasant.

Unfortunately the Signature Room that was booked as double had two single beds pushed together. Not something that I would expect for a hotel of such standing. This made for an uncomfortable sleep for my wife and I. The extractor fan in the bathroom ran continuously throughout our entire stay, an on/off switch would be good, or a timer switch.

It seems that some of the extras that we have grown accustomed to at Warner's are slowly being taken away, for example bath robes are still available but at an extra cost. Coffee after dinner was included, now it has a surcharge. Is this Warner's trying to squeeze every last penny out of the guests?

The safari park that was has now become a sheep farm, which was a little disappointing, as it was something we were looking forward to seeing again.

Room Tip: No apparent Wifi was available and most people we spoke to could not get mobile phone signal in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    476
    228
    74
    56
See reviews for
169
935
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The grounds of Cricket Saint Thomas are magnificent and there is a little train that you can take if you have any difficulties walking. The main house was used in 'To the Manor Born' and in the woods you can find the house of Mr Blobby. We had a contempory Royale room in the Garden wing. The room was good and the bed very comfortable.There are 622 rooms in this wing which is nearly twice as much as in the main bolck. The swimming pool and gym are also here. To reach the dining room we had quite a long walk and as it was raining we got wet at times. The food was good but I found the dining room rather crowded with tables too close together.There is a separate dining room for those who book historic rooms. One nights dining at Fennochi was included in our deal and the food was good but the restaurant was rather cold.

Room Tip: Our room (536) was very clean and very big and was quite close to the swimming pool. Also we were ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrostyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just had a wonderful weekend at this hotel, sharing it with our daughter and son-on-law. We couldn't fault it in any way. Staff are so helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a patio room in the walled garden and because the sun shone the whole weekend it was a lovely area. The grounds of the hotel are magnificent and we enjoyed some lovely walks. The food was tremendous and there was something for everyone, even if you had allergies, it was all there and as much as you could possibly want. Service was second to none. We will certainly be going back again.

Room Tip: Walled garden rooms are lovely. We had a signature room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We wanted a few days away, midweek, fairly close to home but the attraction for us was no children We booked a special deal two night break which we considered value for money. Had we paid full price for it, it would be expensive for what was offered in our opinion. Set in beautiful grounds in a wooded valley the weather enriched our stay as we could walk around the grounds and enjoy the scenery, peace and quiet.
RECEPTION-efficient, everything explained re dining times, location of room and facilities.
ROOM- courtyard room on 2nd floor, very clean, plenty of tea coffee & biscuits, replenished daily. Huge bed, spare bedding not needed room was warm,lots of drawer space, there were some rust marks on bathroom tiles but didn't detract from excellent shower, piping hot water, would advise to test before stepping in and basin taps pour hot water instantly!
DINING-table allocated for duration of stay, close together, if you are near the salad bar at the main entrance as we were, be prepared for elderly people using your chair to rest on as they compete with the dining queue and the waiting staff returning to their stations. This area needs a design rethink, perhaps one row of tables and motability/wheelchair users would benefit from the extra space, and proximity to the buffet
FOOD- we cannot agree with some of the complaints. A huge variety at breakfast everything we ate was hot if it needed to be, evening choice of buffet usually fish or roast meat carved and put on your plate, again these were hot and serviette needed to carry them. Large choice of veg, I can understand them cooling quickly as many people are either lazy and don't replace the lids to keep veg warm or are not capable of doing so because of lack of strength in hands or wrists. Choice of meals from waiter service was excellent, we couldn't find fault.
ENTERTAINMENT-good, sometimes excellent would recommend watching the individuals in the Balcony Bar before and after the main show in the Pavilion. Not so keen on the quizzes and early evening dancing too regimented for us, would have been nice to have a mixed tape on covering all dancing styles, rather than be told "Melody Foxtrot" or "St Bernards Waltz" and only those dances on the floor
ACTIVITIES excellent even though the health centre is shared with the public, it was never busy, absolutely lovely to share a swimming pool with only two others in the middle of the day. Lots of activities provided throughout the day, if you want them from dance lessons to talks on the history of the house.
OUR OPINION We would return for a short break or themed weekend, doubt we'd cope with a week here as most of the clientele are too elderly. As a 59 year old couple we felt extremely young in comparison to most of the guests staying there. Perhaps we'll think more carefully about the phrase 'for adults only' in the future

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties, advise the hotel before booking as some rooms (near the leisure ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paisleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel set in a lovely sheltered woodland valley situation - formerly the location for "To the Manor Born". The reception as before on arrival could be improved in that we were only given vague instructions on the whereabouts of our room in a separate building in the walled gardens. The room, a Royale Suite (look out for special offers), was lovely and came with dining every evening in the AA 1 rosette Fenocchi's restaurant. This restaurant is well worth visiting for the superb food and atmosphere. The excellent menu is shortly to be changed by the new chef who assured us it will be even better. A snack and a drink in the main house tea rooms or on the terrace should not be missed. We enjoyed lovely weather and were able to take walks around the gardens and enjoyed the complimentary miniture train ride service. If you ask at the leisure reception they will give details of walks with tremendous views around the wider estate. The evening entertainment was up to the usual Warners high standard and if you are able to join in the dancing to the various bands (it was an 80's weekend) even better, alternatively there is a smaller entertainment venue upstairs which provides more personalised musical entertainment with an entertainer who sings accompanied by his keyboard. There are plenty of activities during the day plus a very good value spa and beauty facility.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STVBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west looe hill uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for our anniversary and what a find.
We were in a historic room in the main house and it is worth every penny more that you pay
from the service to the personal car parking space and the exclusive restaurant dinners.
We have always wondered about these Warner weekends but never tried them until now
and we have booked Holme Lacey already for this years anniversary.
beautiful location, views, rooms, service, and we have stayed in many hotels throughout the world, this is amongst the best !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazWestLooeHillUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I were very impressed with our first visit to a Warners hotel. Dining for her is always difficult due to various allergies, but there was a good choice with a special gluten free menu.

The room was large and comfortable, entertainment good, swimming and spa great, food excellent, grounds beautiful. We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evening_lilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
2.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
662 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
261 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
11.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Property: Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing